We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A short but great stay at 5 Pilmour Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Five Pilmour Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Five Pilmour Place
Ranked #16 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A short but great stay at 5 Pilmour Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My friend and I stayed at Pilmour Place for 1 night this weekend - we had the Master Suite which was beautifully decorated, absolutely huge and the bathroom was stunning! The owners were so friendly and welcoming and seemed to remember personal details about their guests which was really nice. Breakfast was also delicious. I would definitely come back!

Room Tip: Master Suite is great. Peeked into a double room which seemed very small so would definitely choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CityF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. We have worked hard over the winter to improve our facilities and are pleased to see that our guests are delighted with the results. Hope to see you again sometime in St Andrews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
68
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I have just come back from a wee night in St. Andrews and although I don't normally trust him to book hotels, I let him choose this one and I am delighted he did. Gorgeous, spotlessly clean room with lovely bathroom and really nice toiletries. Very handy for everything in St. Andrews and friendly, helpful staff. Tunnocks Teacakes on the hospitality tray went down a treat. Breakfast was very tasty and they kindly allowed us breakfast a little later than normal as we were so excited about a long lie! (we have two small children). Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leolou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. We have worked hard over the winter refreshing our ground floor rooms & replacing some bathrooms, so it is nice to hear that is was all worthwhile. We hope that you will be able to return for another nice night away soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

An absolutely stunning guest house with the most friendliest staff.
A superb location for people visiting the Old Course.
Breakfast was awesome, a great menu that will cater for everyone's needs.
Could not fault the cleanliness of the establishment

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments, we are please to hear you stay with us was enjoyable. Our location is ideal situated for the Old Course and walking into town, perfect for golfer or non-golfer alike. We hope to welcome you back next time you are in St Andrews on business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Simply Superb is the only way I can describe this place. Everything was first class from the excellent bedrooms,to the breakfasts & the friendly/welcoming owners.
No need to look elsewhere - this is the place to go !

Room Tip: top floor rooms have huge,comfortable beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PieeatersWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your comments, they are very much appreciated. We are glad that our guests like our facilities and take the time to let us know how much they enjoyed staying with us. Hope to welcome you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

My title sums it up to be honest. First class hospitality, hostess, food, cleanliness and location.

As soon as you walk in the front door you cannot but be impressed by the decor and the way the owners have decorated the interior of this beautiful building. That sets the tone for the entire experience. The rooms were immaculate and faultless and had all the amenities you require. Location wise .... you are approx. 70 yards from the Old Course 18th Green and a 3 minute walk from the middle of town - so couldn't be better.

Definitely going back there again......if we can get in !!!

Room Tip: Get your booking in early - try and avoid the road side of the house during student term times !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickandClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated. We strive to give our guests the best possible service/facilities and hope that we live up to this mark. We hope that you visit us again and can assure you of a warm welcome plus some exciting changes to our facilities for 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed at Five Pilmour Place for 3 nights in September 2012 for a golfing visit. A warm welcome followed by a very comfortable stay in a huge room with every amenity. Not the cheapest accommodation in town but very well located for golf and overall good value. I particularly enjoyed the breakfast. Parking can be a bit of a trial but that is true of many places in St Andrews.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonearsofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. Glad to hear you found that we were ideally situated for both golf & local attractions. As for breakfast we do try and offer a varied selection for our guests and pleased that you found this to your liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at 5 Pilmour Place for 4 nights and have nothing but fullest praise. Jackie quickly made us very welcome. Her breakfasts offered guests a very wide choice to suit any preferences and her young staff were friendly and very proficient. Our bedroom was spacious, very well appointed and spotlessly clean. A lovely house and "atmosphere". A super base for visitors to a lovely city.

Thank you Jackie

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoSidmouthians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. We try and provide as much up to date facilities for our guests as we can and are delighted when they are appreciated. Hope to welcome you back again to St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#7 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Pilmour Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Pilmour Place

Property: Five Pilmour Place
Address: 5 Pilmour Place, St. Andrews KY16 9HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Pilmour Place 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Pilmour Place enjoys a unique location. The 18th green of the Old Course is a mere eight iron away, while a slow two minute walk will take you into the heart of the magnificent historic University town of St Andrews. The architecture and facilities of Five Pilmour Place are a fusion of tradition with contemporary and convenience. This luxurious boutique privately owned guesthouse comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms with spacious guest lounge and dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Five Pilmour Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Five Pilmour Place Hotel St. Andrews
5 Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing