We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent”
Review of Five Pilmour Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Five Pilmour Place
Ranked #16 of 73 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 22, 2012

My title sums it up to be honest. First class hospitality, hostess, food, cleanliness and location.

As soon as you walk in the front door you cannot but be impressed by the decor and the way the owners have decorated the interior of this beautiful building. That sets the tone for the entire experience. The rooms were immaculate and faultless and had all the amenities you require. Location wise .... you are approx. 70 yards from the Old Course 18th Green and a 3 minute walk from the middle of town - so couldn't be better.

Definitely going back there again......if we can get in !!!

Room Tip: Get your booking in early - try and avoid the road side of the house during student term times !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickandClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for your review, it is very much appreciated. We strive to give our guests the best possible service/facilities and hope that we live up to this mark. We hope that you visit us again and can assure you of a warm welcome plus some exciting changes to our facilities for 2013.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

93 - 99 of 167 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

I stayed at Five Pilmour Place for 3 nights in September 2012 for a golfing visit. A warm welcome followed by a very comfortable stay in a huge room with every amenity. Not the cheapest accommodation in town but very well located for golf and overall good value. I particularly enjoyed the breakfast. Parking can be a bit of a trial but that is true of many places in St Andrews.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank Sonearsofar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. Glad to hear you found that we were ideally situated for both golf & local attractions. As for breakfast we do try and offer a varied selection for our guests and pleased that you found this to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at 5 Pilmour Place for 4 nights and have nothing but fullest praise. Jackie quickly made us very welcome. Her breakfasts offered guests a very wide choice to suit any preferences and her young staff were friendly and very proficient. Our bedroom was spacious, very well appointed and spotlessly clean. A lovely house and "atmosphere". A super base for visitors to a lovely city.

Thank you Jackie

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwoSidmouthians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. We try and provide as much up to date facilities for our guests as we can and are delighted when they are appreciated. Hope to welcome you back again to St Andrews in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed here with our 9 month old daughter for a wedding weekend; the place is very well decorated but it's the communal areas that really made this for us. The lovely living room with soft carpet and comfy chairs; not only could the baby crawl away to her delight but it meant we could go downstairs and watch TV once she was in bed - heaven!

Jackie was amazing, going well above the call of duty and allowing me to use her kitchen to prepare the baby's food as well as helping me clean up! Overall it really felt as though we were staying with friends in a gorgeous house which is really well placed location wise too.

Breakfast was fabulous too of course :-)

Room Tip: Early sunrise this far north and not quite 100% coverage of curtains in the top room meant we were u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alasorous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. We are delighted that you felt our establishment was a home away from home during your visit. We try and accommodate our guest needs & help out where we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed here whilst visiting the uni with my son last year but have only just been able to right the review! I am a cleanliness freak and was delighted to find the cleanest room and en suite I have seen in a long time. Breakfast was amazing and nothing was too much trouble for Jackie. Friendly and with lots of useful information I never felt like anything was too much trouble. Right in the middle of town so everything is a short walk away. Fantastic!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAC162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2012

Thank you for your review. Delighted you enjoyed our facilities. Hope to see you back again when visiting your son.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Five Pilmour Place was a delightful B & B. The decor, staff and breakfast were without fault. A beautiful building in the heart of St Andrew's, superior to many others in the same price range. Our visit to St Andrew's is an annual event and we will most definitely return to Five Pilmour Place!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have a lower ceiling height. The 6ft plus traveller should request the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelDaveGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Thank you for your review. Your tip for taller guests is welcome, we do try to accommodate guests where we can, unfortunately we find that our house does have some restrictions that we cannot overcome due to its build & set up. Hope to welcome you back next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed here over the weekend to attend a wedding. It was fantastic because we had the entire house to ourselves with the wedding party. Jackie and Sid were incredible hosts. Knowing in advance that I was nearly 8 months pregnant, Jackie ensured I had a big enough room with a large bathroom so I could be comfortable. The accommodation is to notch - modern and fresh decoration, large comfortable beds, open and comfy sitting room where we were all able to enjoy the Olympic opening ceremony together vs. being cramped in a bedroom or out in the pub. The location is great and within easy walking distance to the center, but especially close to the golf course and beach. Breakfast is made fresh to order and Jackie was flexible if we arrived a few minutes late.

On check out, I was a bit shocked by the price, £140 per night. I'm used to staying in expensive hotels etc. but less familiar with B&Bs so I felt it was really expensive. But considering the accomodation really was top notch and it was high season in St. Andrews, and we had full breakfast included, I guess it would have been about right. In the end you do get what you pay for, so we were not at all disappointed.

Room Tip: There are several rooms with large bathrooms and tubs. If you are taller/larger, ask for one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirklassie, Owner at Five Pilmour Place, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated. We try to accommodate our guests as best we can and accommodate their specific requirements where & when we can. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and as a group made good use of the Exclusive Use basis that was booked for that weekend.

Our prices are relative to St Andrews for a Guest House with our standards and our location, however our rates are dependent on the season and rate was applicable for your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
537 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,329 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,413 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Pilmour Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Pilmour Place

Address: 5 Pilmour Place, St. Andrews KY16 9HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range: $131 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Five Pilmour Place 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Five Pilmour Place enjoys a unique location. The 18th green of the Old Course is a mere eight iron away, while a slow two minute walk will take you into the heart of the magnificent historic University town of St Andrews. The architecture and facilities of Five Pilmour Place are a fusion of tradition with contemporary and convenience. This luxurious boutique privately owned guesthouse comprises of seven en-suite bedrooms with spacious guest lounge and dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Five Pilmour Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place Hotel St. Andrews
Five Pilmour Place St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing