We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lorimer Guest House
Ranked #21 of 72 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our stay was superb! We were given a very warm welcome, and nothing was any trouble for the owners during our stay. The breakfast's were first class, we needed to leave for work early in the morning and we were still offered our cooked breakfast whatever time we needed it.
Our rooms were clean and tidy, with beds being made and fresh towels each day on our return.
Great location to restaurants, golf course, beach. Just perfect.
I would recommend this guest house to anyone, family or single stay.
Cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charl805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    21
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
32
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were fortunate to be part of the Munro party and agree wholeheartedly with Dave's comments. Mick and Chris were very accommodating to our requests. Their information and advice was most helpful. The rooms were very comfortable and homey. Breakfast was a treat - the pancakes (crepes) and sausage were our favorite.

Room Tip: Lower floors are easiest to access. All are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsjkwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Everything was perfect. Friendly, personable hosts offered great suggestions on everything from golf to sight-seeing. Our room and bath were immaculate. Breakfast was delicious. And, if you are there for the golf, the location is everything you could hope for.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmars0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We recently travelled to St. Andrew's for a week of golf. Our "Home Away From Home was The Lorimer House. Our entire experience there was fantastic, with assistance, and commentary provide by our gracious hosts, the Cordners. We would highly recommend their facility, and look forward to returning soon!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was my second stay at this charming guest house and I would definitely recommend it. The house and rooms were very clean, the breakfast was hearty and the hosts lovely. The house is perfectly located for golfers and tourists alike and is a stones throw from the beach. Chris and Mick made our stay very pleasant and we will certainly be returning in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

This is as good as any hotel at a B and B price. Fantastic hosts for golf and attractions.
Mick helped organised the golf and Chris prepared the great food. This is a great location for golf but there is still a lot more on offer at St Andrews. We found all the establishments friendly and accommodating and can only describe this location as perfect. Thank You see you again


  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miffa9125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Chris and Mick were warm and extremely helpful hosts. We were traveling in Scotland by train and it helped that Lorimer House was so centrally located. The St. Andrews golf shuttle stop is right in front of the House making golf very convenient. The Cordners went out of their way to help us with tee times and even let us borrow a set of clubs! Breakfasts were outstanding. All in all, they went "above and beyond" and we appreciated it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
311 reviews
6.5 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The St Michaels Inn
The St Michaels Inn
#1 of 1 in Leuchars
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St. Andrews
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorimer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorimer Guest House

Property: Lorimer Guest House
Address: 19 Murray Park, St. Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Hotel Class:4 star — Lorimer Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorimer house is an immaculately maintained Victorian terraced town house, combining the original splendour with all the modern comforts. All bedrooms are individually decorated and are well equipped with shower, en-suite plus Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Free secure broadband internet is available throughout the guesthouse and a laptop is also available in the lounge for guests without their own personal laptop. We are within a 2 minute walk of the Old Course, the beaches and town centre. We pride ourselves on first class friendly service and delicious, wholesome breakfasts. Freshly prepared local farm produce is cooked to order from our varied menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lorimer Guest House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing