We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No doubt, absolutely perfect”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lorimer Guest House
Ranked #22 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Helsingborg, Sweden
1 review
“No doubt, absolutely perfect”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Thank You for everything, me and my som had a wonderful experience at some astonishing colf courses, incl Carnoustie, Old course and Kingsbarns, and it was a pleasure to stay at Your Guest House, everything was great, Peter & Oscar

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    20
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
18
30
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyngbys Lyngby, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Perfect location, great rooms, excellent breakfast and great location.
This is the perfect place for golfing and also centrally located for visiting the other great attrctions in St. Andrews.
We received great help and managed to get to play the Old Course with guidance from Mike.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anker Brandt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I Had a really excellent experience in Saint Andrews with the help, reception and advisor of The Lorimer Guest House. For golfers is the perfect location, no more than 3 min walking to the Old Course. The owners are really great persons, very cozy that made our visit an excellent experience, they made everything to made us feel as comfortably.
The room is very beautiful, comfortable, and very clean and they serve a real excellent breakfast. For sure I will recommend the stay in Lorimer to my friends, and if I can back for sure will be a guest again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Felipe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

We recently visited Scotland for 8 straight days of golf and obviously St Andrews was on the list. Lorimer House was recommended by St Andrews Links, and we were fortunate to stay with Mick and Chris for four nights. I am pleased to very highly submit this enthusiastic recommendation.

The location is superb - just about 100 yds from the 1st tee of the Old Course. Breakfast was served from a menu and was thus cooked to order (I recommend scrambled eggs with salmon). Accommodations are listed as 4 stars, which was spot on and represented excellent value for the nightly tariff.

But the highlight, of course, was playing the Old Course with Mick (a 2 handicap), who is a member of a local club and thus was able to arrange tee times on the Old for us! What a treat since this was our first visit to St Andrews. Mick was far superior to a caddie and is a really great guy - what a wonderful day of golf. Can there be any better indication of hospitality?

Thank you so much, Mick and Chris.

A Traveling Professor
Texas, USA

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATravelingProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

This lovely B&B is a great place to stay at when visiting the home of Golf! Less then 10-15 min walking you have Old- New- Jubilee and Eden Course.

Perfectly situated with nice rooms and very close to 19th hole!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pe0D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This was quite simply one of the best bed and breakfast places I have ever stayed in. The room was bright and cheerful, beautifully presented and very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable with an excellent shower. An outstandingly good breakfast. Very friendly and helpful hosts, for whom nothing was too much terrible. Worth going to St Andrews just to stay in the Lorimer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackStraw1381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

As a group of 12 golfers, we have been coming to St Andrews for the past 5 years, one of the main reasons we come back year after year, is Lorimer House. The hosts Christine & Mick are most welcoming and really go out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible, even so far as - booking restaurants, booking extra rooms in nearby guesthouses, arranging tee-times, very early breakfast on departure and even contributing to our "prize giving" ceremony.Mick & Christine continually invest in their property, by upgrading & redocorating the rooms regularily. With the first tee on the Old Course only minutes walking distance away, and restaurants on your doorstep, Lorimer House is the ideal place to stay for golf & leisure. Mick & Christine know their business, and in doing that make ones trip and vacation an enjoyable. For so long as we will be going to St Andrews, we will be staying at Lorimer House!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St. Andrews
326 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 18 in St. Andrews
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
0.1 mi away
Five Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place
#16 of 77 in St. Andrews
156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Montague Guest House
Montague Guest House
#14 of 77 in St. Andrews
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lorimer Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lorimer Guest House

Property: Lorimer Guest House
Address: 19 Murray Park, St. Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorimer house is an immaculately maintained Victorian terraced town house, combining the original splendour with all the modern comforts. All bedrooms are individually decorated and are well equipped with shower, en-suite plus Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Free secure broadband internet is available throughout the guesthouse and a laptop is also available in the lounge for guests without their own personal laptop. We are within a 2 minute walk of the Old Course, the beaches and town centre. We pride ourselves on first class friendly service and delicious, wholesome breakfasts. Freshly prepared local farm produce is cooked to order from our varied menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lorimer Guest House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing