We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience St Andrews West Sands Beach
from $40.80
More Info
from $613.00
More Info
from $48.70
More Info
Reviews (641)
Filter reviews
575 results
Traveler rating
426
129
16
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
426
129
16
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great beach opening scene clean beach can walk for miles kite flying dog walking bracing walk golf course public toilets walk along the beach great walk low tide sunny day chariot sandals dunes cobwebs
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 575 reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago

A long, wide and sandy beach with terrific views of the Old Course, the town of St Andrews as well as over the water. Sea was warm enough to walk in while we were there in September and some unusual shells to be picked up from the sand.

Thank mikeyt53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A very busy beach even in October. However it is so big that there is plenty of space for everyone - dog walkers, children playing, even horse riders. We had a lovely walk along the beach and then just a short stroll into town. Need to pay for parking and toilets.

Thank GillG767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a long and sandy beach which is justifiably very popular with all ages, families and dog walkers.

Thank DavidMay1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Take a walk along the beach when you have time between rounds. Very scenic and a quick walk from town and the Old Course first tee.

Thank TN-Squire-in-ATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

It is some years since we had been to this beach and we were disapponted to see how much it has gone downhill.

Fences have been put up along both edges of the dunes rresticting access to a few dwsignated paths and preventing access to the dunes where you could once relax out of ther wind.
The grass seems to have extended seawards and at high tide there is little sand between the grass and the sea.

Thank 173porterc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018 via mobile

Brilliant beach, have visited many times with our old dog & now with our year old puppy. Both of them would have given it a thumbs up if they had thumbs.

Thank elainebV4534QZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2018

We drove down West Sands Rd, along the Old Course. There are some terrific views of the golf course from here, as well as the beach. Great place for some unique photos of the course if you use your imagination. It gets windy in this area, and you also need to pay attention to the traffic on this road. People pull off the road and park in the grass and then come back on the road.

Thank garbagecollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

We had to visit and walk this famous beach (being a Chariots of Fire fan)…. It was more amazing in person, as the wind swept over it. I was astounded at how long you can walk along the beach. Great place to people watch, see the dogs running, and sometimes some kites.
Very impressive. And, right below the St Andrews Golf Courses!!

Thank pasowine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2018

A must to visit and ideally with the tide someway out. They keep it beautifully clean and well maintained. It is quite level and safe for bathing when it is warm enough

Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

I have never been to St Andrews before but was pleasantly surprised to see how lovely the beach was. We spent two days in this lovely town and each day walked along the beach. It was actually sunny. I know!! Scotland October and sunny.

Thank Cabby_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews