We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“up to fairmont very good standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“up to fairmont very good standard”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Large comfortable room with very good ensuite.Evening meal good but rather overpriced for what it was. Breakfast was fine but tables very close together.Obviously aimed at golfing market and facilities appeared very good

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranmor23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Many thanks for sharing your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews and posting a review of Trip Advisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and found everything to be to your liking and I shall certainly look forward to sharing your comments with the team.

It is important to us to ensure that our prices are in line with other five star establishments within the area and I can confirm that this is closely monitored; however I will certainly pass your comments onto the relevant team.

I would like to thank you for your observations with regards to the layout in Squire; I shall raise this with the Director of Food and Beverage and ask him to discuss with the team allowing them to consider your comments when making any future changes.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,976 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,610
    787
    370
    135
    74
See reviews for
656
1,473
34
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Been to the Fairmont St Andrews bay several times and always enjoyed our stay. Booked 2 nights B&B and was looking forward to another good weekend but was quite disappointed. With an 8 year old we were limited to where we could eat as the main restaurant didn't do children's menus. We had a meal in the bar (Kittoch) which was nice but nothing special. The "games" room, which should come with a map on how to find it, consisted of a rickety table tennis table with a burst table tennis ball, a pool table with ripped fabric & missing balls, an LED TV and dvd player and a games console. OK it probably got abused by children but come on. It's a supposed 5 star hotel! Only spent about 15 minutes there as that was all we could take.

On the 2nd day we arrived back at our hotel around 4pm to find that the room had not been attended by housekeeping (i.e. beds made & toiletries replaced etc). I contacted housekeeping and was told someone would attend straight away so left it at that and went our for the evening to St Andrews (Lego - the film). Thinking that "everything is awesome" we arrived back at the hotel around 8pm. the room had still not been attended to. I had to go to reception as there was no answer from housekeeping. They sent someone to "freshen up" the room as there was no housekeeping available. Definitely not the service we expected. Maybe the Old Course Hotel next time?

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianfaescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night as part of a golf travel booking through your golf travel. We got a great deal for 1 night B&B and 2 games of golf on the Torrance and Kittock. Check in for good at the hotel and the golf was excellent. 2 lovely courses that are both challenging particuarly in the wind but some wonderful views. Our room was great with a lovely bathroom and shower and very comfy beds. Breakfast was outstanding in the morning, so much choice and excellent quality. We both loved the buffet option as you choose what you want. We did not have dinner in the hotel instead going into St Andrews for Drinks and Dinner and the free shuttle bus into town was great and a very accomodating concierge called Tam gave us ideas on bars and places to eat, very nice man. We visited the spa and was only slightly disappointing as the pool and steam room look like they could do with some updating but all good and served a purpose. Overall great stay and will be back for more golf.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time share of your recent experience on Trip Advisor following you recent visit to Fairmont St Andrews.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and we were able to help make and you left with such positive memories! It is without doubt thanks to our staff’s commitment and professionalism that we are able to offer our guests such an experience and I look forward to sharing your comments with them.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

The service was on the whole pretty good and the room was lovely. The courtesy bus which ran last time I stayed into St. Andrews finished at 6pm so we had to pay for a taxi there and back which was a pain. However, whilst that was an inconvenience the reason for my average rating is really the breakfast - 5* it is not. At this level of hotel I do not expect a Disney type hot breakfast where you can't distinguish between the haggis and black pudding and the hot food is stewed and warm as opposed to grilled/fried and hot. I then felt I was inconveniencing the chef when I asked for a poached egg - surly does not describe him and by the time I got it my stewed breakfast was cold. 5* should mean a hot fresh breakfast brought to the table.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Trip Advisor page following your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and I was sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

To allow us to look into your experience further, I would be grateful if you would contact us at the following address standrews.scotland@fairmont.com to ensure we are able to respond appropriately to the issues you have raised on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hove
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My partner and I were gifted our stay at Fairmont and we decided to utilise this for Valentines. We were very much looking forward to having a nice Valentine's day spent in a luxury surroundings in a beautiful historic seaside town. Upon arrival we were greeted by the pleasing aesthetics of the building and its beautiful surroundings which convey that this is a prestigious hotel and atmosphere. However the next morning we checked out at 9am on a Saturday morning, because we could not bare to spend anymore time or money there and we were incredibly disappointed by the whole experience of staying at the Fairmont.

However let me start with some of the positives:

I am wheelchair user and I was able to access the building without any issues. The entrance has level access and assisted doors. There appeared to be lifts which allow access to various levels. The communal areas were very nice and we got check in quickly. The actual room we were given was clean and appropriate, with tea and specialist coffee options. Bath products were really nice. There was free parking facilities - although disabled bays were not clearly marked (I did not see any at the entrance).

The not so positives were:

The room:

The disabled shower in the room, was not appropriately equipped due to high level grab rail and a small shower seat which was unsafe, without having access to a grab rail. The shower seat was attached to the wall with cracked sealing (picture attached) and the floor tiling needed re-grouting. The toilet had very cheap toilet paper. The sink bowl was too high and very small for a wheelchair user and I could not see my face at all in the mirror (see picture).

In terms of comfort - the bed and seats were very comfortable. Although, during the day we were disturbed by a member of staff who knocked on the door and came into the room to place a fluffy toy for sale on the TV stand!

Evening meal:

We decided to stay at the hotel and have a romantic meal in their restaurant which was very busy. We managed to get a table for 9.15pm and we chose our meal from a very limited menu (the vegetarian options were not good - roasted rosemary veg.. Appetising!). The poor waitress was so over worked, that night, she had forgotten our order and had to come back and ask us to repeat the order again. We then started getting bread with oil/vinegar, before our starter and the bread plates and small condiment jugs stayed on our table until we ordered dessert (see picture - main meal with a pile of plates on the side) and we had to ask for it to be taken away...

Lack of sleep and Faulty Air Conditioner

That night my partner and I did not get any sleep due to the faulty air conditioning, which loudly rumbled away, incessantly throughout the night. This was despite having liaised with reception at least 3 times, around midnight. This problem was never resolved, as we kept being told by a man (who sounded very inconvenienced by our calls) that they were switching it off remotely, or blaming the issue on the water boiler system which was going to be turned off. Because of the attitude of the receptionist, I felt too intimidated and exhausted to keep arguing with him.

At 7 the next morning I rang reception again to inform them that considering it was a Saturday morning and we would have preferred a lie in - we were still up and very unhappy about not getting any sleep because of the air con. We then went down for breakfast and we were the 'first' and 'only' people in the hall at around 7.30 and it was clear that food had been sitting there for half an hour and was going dry. I also got coffee which tasted weak and awful and I had to ask for another - the least I wanted to get at that point was decent coffee to keep me functioning after a terrible night! Shortly after this we decided to vote with our feet and just left the place as we had enough of bad customer treatment. We complained again at reception about the previous night and the receptionist only re-iterated what had been said before, that it had been switched off remotely. We did not feel believed - until a duty manager called us later on Saturday and confirmed that he had checked out the room and found we were right all along. He was empathic and related that it was no wonder that we had a difficult and restless night there. He stated that he would have to speak to his manager to get in touch with us. However we have not heard anything since.

In conclusion, we experienced anything but 5 star treatment at the Fairmont. Our little romantic break was ruined through not only the lack of sleep - but also the lack of attention to detail and poor customer care.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank zohra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Trip Advisor page following your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and I was sorry to hear that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

To allow us to look into your experience further, I would be grateful if you would contact us at the following address standrews.scotland@fairmont.com to ensure we are able to respond appropriately to the issues you have raised on this site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Out favourite haunt and we celebrated our 33rd wedding anniversary 2 weeks ago. We stayed 2 nights and as always the service was great. Thank you Martin our waiter at breakfast who was so efficient and friendly. The star was Rhea who served us cocktails and dinner. What a lovely girl and great cocktail maker. I had a Caesar made with Climato which my best friend who is Canadian swears is the best. Not only did Rhea make as fabbie cocktail but was able to tell us where we could source it in St Andrews. Martin and Rhea's Mum's should be so proud of 2 lovely young people.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottiewanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Congratulations of your recent 33rd Wedding Anniversary!

I am delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time with us whilst celebrating such a special occasion. It is without a doubt thanks to the high level of commitment and professionalism that our staff delivers that enables guests to feel so welcome and leave us with such positivity. I shall certainly look forward to sharing your kind words with the team; especially to Rhea and Martin!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was our second visit to the Fairmont St Andrews. We were there for three nights and although we thoroughly enjoyed the break we felt that it didn't quite live up to its' five star rating. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and our room had everything we needed. However, we were told, on booking, that we would get an upgrade if available or a bottle of wine on arrival. Being Valentine's weekend no upgrade was available but I had to phone down to reception twice before a bottle of wine was delivered to our room - an hour and a half after we were promised it! We dined each evening in the main restaurant in the beautiful light and airy atrium. Again, the staff were very friendly but I felt that the service was rather chaotic. One person took the order but others delivered it. Indeed, I think we had four different "servers" during the one meal! I couldn't quite work out what was going on! On the last evening my wife's Perthshire lamb was tough, sinewy and quite inedible. I complained and she was offered another main course which she didn't want. The bill was, however, adjusted accordingly, but one doesn't expect this at a five star hotel. On a more positive note, the buffet breakfast was as good as I've had anywhere. I would also agree with other reviewers that some of the finer points were missing, but I did appreciate the linen napkins at every meal. If this was a school report I would say "good but could do better." Having said all that we definitely be back.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank s3rjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience and found our staff to be so helpful and friendly. I shall certainly look forward to sharing this with the team.

I was however disappointed that the service on this occasion did not meet with your expectations; whist I am pleased that this was addressed at the time, I shall certainly follow the matter up to ensure we resume to our usual high standard of service at all times.

We very much look forward to welcoming you to Fairmont St Andrews in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St. Andrews
1,099 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
447 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
277 reviews
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
654 reviews
9.5 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Property: Fairmont St Andrews
Address: St. Andrews Bay, St. Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Jetsetter, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing