We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Weekend @ St Andrews Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here both in the Winter and Summer Months and have to say it is a really awesome hotel. Never managed to play golf due to the weather conditions however still plenty to do in the hotel and in the St Andrews town. The food service and bedrooms are really top notch. Hopefully back sooner rather than later!!!

Room Tip: Found all rooms good!!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hurr1cane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,273)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont St Andrews
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,157 - 2,163 of 3,273 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013

My husband and I booked into the Fairmont St Andrews from Christmas Eve until Boxing Day, due to the fact that my 92 year old mother lives in a Care Home in St Andrews and we needed somewhere to stay.

There was a real wow factor when we booked in and when we saw our Studio Suite I actually had tears in my eyes. It was perfect.

All of the staff were friendly and most helpful when asked anything, the In Room Dining was prompt and hot and our Christmas lunch was most enjoyable. A very special thank you to the Director of Food and Beverage, Franck Bruyere, who was particularly friendly and most knowledgeable. He really did make us feel very welcome in the hotel.

There was a quiz put on in the early evening on Christmas Day which was just a lovely treat and was very enjoyable (even if we didn't do very well (lol). A lot of people joined in and it really made a lovely end to our Christmas Day Lunch and afternoon festivities.

We will definitely be back to stay at the Fairmont in St Andrews and I would whole-heartedly recommend this hotel. 5 out of 5 definitely.

My most enjoyable Christmas for a very long time. Thank you Fairmont St Andrews.

Room Tip: We booked a Studio Suite which was at the front of the Hotel overlooking the sea and St Andrews - pe...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dee1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Last year we spent Christmas at the Old Course Hotel in St Andrews. We have also visited Rufflets (Room 11) at Christmas and for our Wedding in 2001. We visit St Andrews every 2 weeks to see family, so know the town and hotels well - except (until now) the Fairmont.

So this year we decided to book a Studio Suite over the Christmas period - including Christmas day lunch.

With the hotel decorated for Christmas the Atrium has a real WOW factor. Staff throughout our stay could not have been any more helpful, efficient and attentive - importantly not over attentive like some hotels can be - just the right amount.

Our Room (3058) was clean and the decor fresh. View from the room was spectacular - looking over the bay towards St Andrews. The Studio Suite has all most people would need and expect from a 5 star hotel.

We used both the restaurant, room service and bar menu and food from all was excellent and served by knowledgable, helpful and polite staff.

My wife and I are both in our late 50's and really enjoy hotels that have a large are to socialise and enjoy the ambience of a luxury hotel. The Atrium at the Fairmont St Andrews is just such a place - large area with plenty of different types of seating and tables - a really nice place to sit, enjoy a drink and chat with fellow travellers - something that is missing from many hotels these days.

We are already looking at booking again soon and will certainly be back next Christmas.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the Studio Suite and would recommend it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c53204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

we have not been up to the Fairmont st Andrews for quite some time. we picked a terrible day to drive up it never stopped raining and it was cold and windy. so two and and a half hour later arriving wet and tired. we were met by friendly door men who took our car away to park. great service. nice reception staff/ then we were offered mulled wine and mince pies which was lovely. so set us up for night time.room was lovely and big and very very comfortable. great big bed. we went to the restaurant for our meal. staff very young and friendly and very quick service. the only complaint about the restaurant its a bit like an aircraft carrier. it could do with a bit of ambiance. the meal was lovely and we really enjoyed it. the bar is very nice cosy. so all in all a lovely stay. I must mention davy at the front door. we have seen him quite a few times when we have stayed. and he is a real character. love his glengarry.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daniel28703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Went with friends last week on a Christmas party overnight. I had stayed there before, very nice hotel with lovely staff. However the dinner was disappointing, mainly because there was no choice. Two of us did not want the salmon cocktail, and therefore had no first course. The chicken main course was ok, if a bit uninspired. My main complaint though, is the fact that there is a daily charge for wifi connection - in this day and age!! It surely doesn't cost the hotel much and it's free in any pub and restaurant. The hotel is not particularly cheap, so this charge just appears mean.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a reply after your stay at Fairmont St Andrews and for your kind words with regards to our staff and hotel.

I was sorry to learn of your disappointment with regards to the menu choice that was available for our party night diners and that the standard of our cuisine did not meet your expectations. I shall ensure that this is discussed with the relevant teams. Your comments shall certainly be taken into account when we plan for future party nights.

Should you wish, you can enrol as a Fairmont President Club Member via our website. This is free and entitles you to various complimentary benefits throughout Fairmont, of which you can enjoy complimentary internet usage.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

This was the first time we've stayed at the Fairmont and we loved it. Great location, service and beautiful large room with a bathroom about the same size as the bedroom itself. We had dinner in the hotel and the meal couldn't be faulted. Can't wait for a return visit. Well done.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annecam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thank you so much for posting a reply on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our time with us and found everything to be what you wished for. I shall certainly look forward to sharing your kind words with the team as it is due to their hard work and professionalism that allows our guest to feel so welcome.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas; we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed for two nights at this wonderful hotel, the staff was excellent very friendly and couldn't do enough for you, we only ate for one night and the food was very good. We found the price of Alcohol not to bad and expected it to be more expensive for the standard of hotel. Room was very nice and clean, decorated to a high standard. Breakfast had a fantastic choice. St Andrews village was just quaint with some lovely little shops you can browse at.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise_Bennet, PA to General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thank you so much for posting a reply on Trip Advisor following your recent experience at Fairmont St Andrews.

I am delighted that you enjoyed our time with us and found our staff and surroundings to be so friendly and welcoming! I believe that it is thanks to our colleagues that our guests to enjoy their time with us and want to return and I shall certainly look forward to sharing your kind words with them.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,153 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,299 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St. Andrews
681 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
412 reviews
9.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Address: St. Andrews Bay, St. Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range: $182 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a 520 acre estate with a unique coastal setting, Fairmont St Andrews has something for everyone. From lavish rooms to a luxurious spa, championship golf to exquisite dining, our five star attention to detail is unsurpassed. Enjoy the views overlooking the medieval St Andrews and the North Sea. Play golf on The Torrance and The Kittocks or wind down in our Fairmont Spa with locally themed treatments using the finest Ishga Skin Care products. Indulge in delicate pastries and cakes in our Savoy Afternoon Tea experience served in the Atrium Lounge with a rich colour scheme and nautical elements that reflect the surrounding landscape including a lighting installation by renowned artist George Singer. We guarantee your stay will become a treasured memory! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing