We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Excellent stay.
We have been going to the St. Andrews area for 20 plus years but had not stayed at Fairmont in all that time. We anticipated that it would be a large, non-personal, bland type of hotel. But how wrong we were. The service was first class, rooms were very comfortable, lounge areas were so relaxing, staff were very friendly and helpful. Apart from the excellent breakfasts, we did not eat in the hotel (there are so, so many excellent restaurants in the area).
Very highly recommended. Can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bramble1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,599 - 2,605 of 3,413 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Fairmont on the 16th February as a 30th birthday present. I was very impressed that the receptionist had it noted on our reservation that it was a birthday present.. no free drink though... never mind.

Our room was ready when we arrived, it was large and very spacious. The only thing I would change is to remove the desk as I think the space would be better used for a sofa. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was immaculate.

I had a spa treatment on the day we arrived, the service in the spa was 1st class, although did thing asking for a tip before I received my treatment was a little strange.... It was also a bit pricey.

We did not eat in the restaurants in the hotel as had a prior reservation. We did visit the 2 bars, both of which were reasonably priced and again service 1st class.

I also used the pool, sauna and steam room, all of which was very nice, free towels and shampoo etc, make the experience so much nice.

We went into St Andrews for dinner, the hotel put on a complementary bus, which finishes at 18:30, unfortunately we missed the last bus, but the concierge arranged us a taxi which cost £8.

Now... Breakfast, so many people complaining about waiting for breakfast.... well we had breakfast on a sunday morning, approx 9.30am and walked straight up, no wait whatsoever to be seated. The breakfast was fantastic, in fact my only critism was that there was perhaps too much choice.
Overall I would definitely stay at the Fairmont again, thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Arrive early for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weemina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

How to ruin a 5 year old's holiday. Tell her to get out of the pool because it's 6.10pm and children aren't allowed after 6pm. There were 8 people in the pool and 6 of them (3 parents, 3 children) were told to get out by a very officious spa member because of this new rule. My daughter was distraught as she had been looking forward to swimming all day. She was swimming lengths not splashing around and causing no offence to anyone except the charmless spa woman. I complained to the front desk who said they would pass my message on to the manager and then never heard anything more

We also met people who hadn't been allowed a drink in the bar after 6pm because they dared bring their teenage children with them.

We've stayed at the Fairmont numerous times over the years but won't be back.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glasg0w99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GailDavidson, Executive Assistant at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Fairmont St Andrew.

At Fairmont, we endeavour to satisfy all tastes and meet the needs of individual requirements. However, we are occasionally faced with competing demands. Overwhelming feedback from guests expresses a strong desire to have an ‘adults only’ bar area after 6pm. Other families express the need to have children access the bar without limits. To balance both demands, we make both bar areas open to children until 6pm and in the Kittocks Den throughout the evening thereafter.

Similarly, through overwhelming feedback from guests, children have unrestricted access to the pool during set times which are designated ‘Splash Times’. Outwith these times, other guests have expressed a wish to have the pool available where they can swim without the noise which can accompany children’s time in the pool area. We believe this is a very reasonable arrangement which accommodates all tastes and has continued to prove popular with the majority of guests.

May I take this opportunity to thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St Andrews in the very near future.

Regards

Gail Davidson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Just returned from an overnight stay at the fairmont had a great night would like to thank two members of staff for making the experience brilliant they are Davie and Tam from the concierge team nothing was to much trouble to them and i believe it was Tams first day he will be a great asset to the hotel.

Room Tip: 2090 overlooking front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keeper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Had a 2 night stay here on 16th and 17th February, room was spacious with great sea view. Room was not ready when we arrived but was given complimentary coffee (althouigh that took 20 minutes to make, guess they were grinding the beans by hand!). Evening meals in the Clubhouse and Esperante restaurants were superb. Unfortunately breakfast was a huge let down. Had to queue to be seated and could see several tables, although empty, had not been cleared. Staff seemed to start clearing tables then go off to do something else. We were seated at a table with only one place setting, and had to ask several times for crockery, cutlery. Eventually gave up and took what we needed from another table. Never got toast despite asking 3 times for it. Girl attending the table seemed to spend more time aimlessly walking around carrying an empty tray! Cooked food in buffet was second rate, opted for a cheese omelette as we could see that being freshly made in front of us. When we complained to a manager we were told they had a lot of new staff, this is no excuse. This is meant to be 5 star, it is far from it and I can see from other reviews this is not a one off experience. Would we go back? Absolutely not. Skipped breakfast on second day and went into St Andrews instead to well known high street coffee shop.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DW1284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed in a lovely room on the 2nd floor. Large room with 2 double beds and pleasant bathroom with separate bath and shower. Did appreciate instructions on how to use the shower, as too often in hotels it takes 10 minutes to work out exactly how these things work.
Arrived at 4pm to a lengthy check-in queue and only one member of staff on reception - rather disappointing. Reception did apologise for the wait and were exceptionally friendly after 15 minutes.
Robes in room, staff more than happy to deliver slippers too.
Dinner in the Squire Restaurant was superb - could not fault the service or food.
Beautiful surroundings, had a great walk in the morning before arriving for breakfast. Queues at 9.30am for breakfast were no shorter when we arrived at 10.30. Breakfast served excellent food, however service was a let down. Coffee arrived luke-warm at best, toast cold and no fresh milk - however the waitress did apologise and replaced these when asked.
Overall, wonderful hotel however the service was not quite up to the 5* standard that it should be.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura_2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GailDavidson, Executive Assistant at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share the impressions of your most recent stay with us.

It was very kind of you to remark so favourably about our accommodation and auxiliary facilities. Our staff will appreciate your positive impressions of our Squire Restaurant and the quality of service received.

It is regrettable that you had to endure such a lengthy waiting time before being given access to your room. We expect our trained staff to clarify the reasons for any waiting times and we are particularly pleased that you experienced care and due attention during your check in time.

We are reviewing our breakfast arrangements to ensure guests experience a relaxing and enjoyable start to the day.

Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Fairmont St. Andrews in the very near future.

Regards

Gail Davidson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We've stayed here a few times and it is my girlfriends favourite hotel in the whole world....handy that its in the country we live!

everything about it is geared for an excellent high quality stay (its courses are the main pull for American clientele) The hotel itself has great eateries and bars and the rooms are as expected, huge, sumptuous, well appointed and tastefully furnished.

The staff are excellent and friendly without being invasive.

if you are in this area it is worth going that few minutes out of town to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glasg0wDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,329 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
538 reviews
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
407 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
695 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Address: St. Andrews Bay, St. Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range: $175 - $459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a 520 acre estate with a unique coastal setting, Fairmont St Andrews has something for everyone. From lavish rooms to a luxurious spa, championship golf to exquisite dining, our five star attention to detail is unsurpassed. Enjoy the views overlooking the medieval St Andrews and the North Sea. Play golf on The Torrance and The Kittocks or wind down in our Fairmont Spa with locally themed treatments using the finest Ishga Skin Care products. Indulge in delicate pastries and cakes in our Savoy Afternoon Tea experience served in the Atrium Lounge with a rich colour scheme and nautical elements that reflect the surrounding landscape including a lighting installation by renowned artist George Singer. We guarantee your stay will become a treasured memory! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing