We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont St Andrews
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We have stayed here on a few occasions and this time was just as enjoyable as before. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. Had a couple of treatments at the Spa that were lovely. Good breakfast and had nice lunch at clubhouse where you had good views over the course. Our room was large, well appointed and clean. Saw the hotel dog Smudge returning from a walk with guests. Think its a great idea that you can borrow him to take for a walk! The courtesy bus no longer does runs after 5.25pm. We had an evening meal (which was superb) at The Vine Leaf in St Andrews and It cost £9 for taxi each way. The hotel arranged for a taxi to collect us, but little touches like a bus into St Andrews and also picking up later in evening made guests feel like they were being given excellent 5* service and was much appreciated.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJM2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,270)
There are newer reviews for Fairmont St Andrews
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,838 - 2,844 of 3,270 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

My husband and I visited this hotel as a pre-celebration of our 40th wedding anniversary. We were treated as VIP's and as a result we are returning this September to celebrate our 41st wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Littlebrownjug11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

We originally were going to be booked in Downtown St Andrews right on the old couse. Our Travel/Golf Planning company suggested we stay at the Fairmont instead. Turned out to be a great decision. This place is like a US resort hotel. Very Large rooms, great beds. I wish our other hotels would be as nice at this hotel. It is a small drive to downtown St andrews, but it is so worth it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johncarp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed for a weekend break at start of August with my husband and in-laws. We had only booked the standard rooms but were very pleasantly surprised by the high quality of furnishing, space and wonderful seaview. First class bathroom with spacious walk-in shower, separate bath and lovely Miller Harris toiletries.

Breakfasts should suit all tastes, particularly impressed by the porridge. There is a a wide range of fresh fruit, pastries, yoghurts, cereals, fruit juices, cold meats/cheeses, full Scottish breakfast including great black pudding and haggis.

We only had dinner in Atrium (there are other restaurants) but couldn't fault the service, atmosphere or wide range of choice on the menu. There was a cute desert table with mini sweets and a chocolate fountain. Nice treat at end of meal.

We always had pre and post dinner drinks in Kittocks Den and again, service from all staff was extremely attentive and personable. The drinks are expensive but still believe value for money for the service and very pleasant surroundings.

Don't play golf and ran out of time to try the spa and leisure facilities so can't comment on this part of resort.

Couldn't fault this hotel and will definitely return in the near future. Certainly does the Scottish tourist industry proud.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank TannadiceTerrors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Attended a wedding...the rooms were clean and decently furnished. The food was below average. The best part was golfing and access to the beautiful seaside walk from the golf course. if possible, recommend forgoing the shuttle into town and take this walk at least one way- very picturesque.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed for one night for dinner bed and breakfast. Room was lovely- very spacious. Leisure facilities appeared good- although only used the pool, sauna and steam; which were all on the small side for a hotel this big.

Hotel had a cavernous feel; all our meals served in 'Squires' restaurant' which was basically a lobby, and felt as if sitting in a shopping centre-not what was expecting for a 5 star. General meal choices appeared good, if you're not a vegetarian.

Veggie starters- tomato soup, or salad- very uninspiring. Veggie choices for dinner included the usual risotto, and vegetable tart. This was basically some roasted veg, on a puff pastry base- with no sauce. Completely tasteless and not filling. Accompanying it were two dry breadsticks! Non veg choices also tiny portions- with no accompanying veg. Needless to say, we both felt very hungry after. Furthermore, no bread was offered before which I would have expected for a 5 star hotel.

Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice- although vegetarians not well catered for- only usual scrambled egg, hash browns, beans. Would have expected veggie sausages etc for a supposedly 5 star hotel.

Overall, I would say this is a 4 star hotel- it is very misleading to market it as 5 star. It is definitely not worth the rates- felt very disappointed by it as was expecting a bit of luxury for what we paid. Definitely would not go back- and would not recommend to any friends or family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 53fisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2011

Thank you for choosing to stay with us however it was very disheartening to read that you did not enjoy your stay. I appreciate your feedback and I can advise that we are in the process of making enhancements to our Vegetarian offereing . It would be my pleasure to speak further with you about this. Please contact me directly at the hotel as I would like to have further insight from you regarding our enhancements and what we can do further. We pride ourselves on a high level of service and our goal is to ensure our guests satisfaction.

Regards,

Garrett Turta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Have been to this hotel a couple of times for our works annual conference.
The facilities are first class.
Plenty of meeting areas and a massive conference area.
We also had a Ball in the evening which was a terrific event. The food was excellent and the entertainment superb.
My room at the hotel was beautiful. Very spacious with a massive bathroom.
Didnt get a chance to try out the leisure facilities but would definatley come here for a break with my husband. and would recommend to friends and family aswell.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracestarshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont St Andrews, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2011

It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us at Fairmont St. Andrews. Your feedback is greatly appreciated and I will ensure it is shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
4.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,153 reviews
3.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,298 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St. Andrews
681 reviews
2.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
409 reviews
9.4 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont St Andrews

Address: St. Andrews Bay, St. Andrews KY16 8PN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 On the Beach Hotel in St. Andrews
#3 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#3 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range: $181 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont St Andrews 5*
Number of rooms: 211
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a 520 acre estate with a unique coastal setting, Fairmont St Andrews has something for everyone. From lavish rooms to a luxurious spa, championship golf to exquisite dining, our five star attention to detail is unsurpassed. Enjoy the views overlooking the medieval St Andrews and the North Sea. Play golf on The Torrance and The Kittocks or wind down in our Fairmont Spa with locally themed treatments using the finest Ishga Skin Care products. Indulge in delicate pastries and cakes in our Savoy Afternoon Tea experience served in the Atrium Lounge with a rich colour scheme and nautical elements that reflect the surrounding landscape including a lighting installation by renowned artist George Singer. We guarantee your stay will become a treasured memory! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairmont St Andrews reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont St Andrews Hotel St. Andrews
St Andrews Fairmont
Fairmont St Andrews St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing