We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fish supper!”
Review of Cromars

Cromars
Ranked #17 of 142 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish, Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great fish supper!”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I love the fact you can choose how your fish is cooked. Friendly staff and the sit in area is always clean and comfy not to mention yummy food!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cg455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    159
    56
    49
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Good Quality.”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Can't find fault with the quality of the fish & chips, allied to the pleasant staff, no hesitation in recommending Cromars. Look forward to a return visit, certainly first class.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Far too expensive for poor poor portion sizes.”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Whilst I realise the price of the raw products have increased I am disappointed to report that having recently visited a very reputable Fish and Chip shop on the West Coast in an equally touristy town, where the food was also cooked to order but was vastly better value as regards to portion control.£6.40 bought two pieces of breaded fish and a separate carton of chips. Sufficient for two people to share or for one hungry person. St Andrews prices in general are inflated but as someone else has mentioned locals will vote with there feet and it could be a long winter especially as there are two chip shops in close proximity- wise up.Trained, professional staff would help also.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ajmoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“RIP OFF FISH & CHIPS”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

This by far has to been the worst fish and chip shop ever, there was five members of staff standing behind the counter, but still had to wait ages for our take away fish and chips, when we first went and seen the prices, nearly £7 for a fish supper !!!! we thought ok it must be some thing realy good, boy, was I wrong, there was one small fish, only seem to be battered on one side, you could see the fish on the other side, and small portion of chips, nothing special, just average, so where do they get the £7, they should have robbers masks on, if I had not driven off in the car and eat our fish and chips, outside St Andrews, I would have been striaght back to complain, stay well away, never seen £7 charged for fish and chips anywhere,

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mike6263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Excellent Fish supper, batter crisp & light and an all round perfect experience, efficient staff took our order as we joined the well established queue, Staff pleasant and helpful and served with our tea very quickly. Sitting area, pleasant and whole place spotless clean.....just Perfect, we will definately be back, well done Cromars!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TCWIFE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cromars1, Owner at Cromars, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you for your very complimentary review, we are building a new team here and your comments are very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cromars also viewed

 

Been to Cromars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing