We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay.”
Review of Ardgowan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ardgowan Hotel
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2013

spent 5 nights here. Large room with giant bed , bathroom with bath , central heating on demand.
Staff were very pleasant but for one grumpy young waiter at breakfast. ( Breakfast was great) Perfect location - recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RENSHAWWELSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (542)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

359 - 365 of 542 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night-great location-just around the corner from the 18th on the old course. It is one street over from the main street and a about a 10minute stroll to the castle ruins.

Room was a decent size though bathroom was small but that didn't worry us for one night. Clean and comfortable.

Would stay here again, even if we decided to stay a few more nights.
No lifts-so you wouldn't want to get a room at the top due to the stairs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank qlder_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Thank you very much of our feedback, am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us. We are very lucky with our location, as you point out.

If you are planning another trip to St Andrews, we would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel. Please do not hesitate to contact us to arrange accommodation.

I hope that you had a safe journey home

Kind regards,

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a nice stay at this centrally located hotel. We received an extremely friendly, warm welcome at the hotel reception. Our rooms were small but provided everything we needed. The only minor complaint was that the air conditioning from next door's shower room was pretty noisy and reverberated for a quite a while into our room during the late evening.
The Scottish breakfast was tasty - the smoked salmon was an excellent flavour and quality. There was no dedicated parking but a public car park was located just around the corner.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bauhaus100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate feedback from all our guests as it allows us to improve the experience of our guests in the future.

I am extremely glad to hear that you were so happy with your stay, and that you were made to feel welcome by the staff. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast – I hope that it set you up well for the open day.

Thank you for bringing the fact that the fan next door disturbed you to my attention. I’m sorry that your sleep was disturbed and we will look into the matter.

If you ever make the journey to St Andrews again in the future we would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel.

I hope that you enjoyed your time in St Andrews

Kind regards,

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Older hotel in St Andrews, very close to the old course, food was very good, but rooms over the bar a little noisy. Lots of stairs, try not to get an upper room. Staff tried hard to please. When we had an early tee time, they opened up breakfast for us, very nice.

Room Tip: ask for a room not over the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. I am glad to see that you were so happy with the service you received while you were with us.

I hope that you enjoyed your time in St Andrews and had a safe journey home.

Kind regards,

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable and has well equipped rooms. The breakfast is excellent, as is the restaurant. Friendly, polite and efficient staff. My only criticism is the lack of lifts - if you find stairs difficult, don't stay here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear James F,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It is so nice to see that we managed to 'tick all the boxes' for you during your stay. I will pass your comments on to all the staff in the restaurant as well.

I hope that you enjoyed your time in St Andrews, and if you are ever in the area again, we would be delighted to welcome you back to the hotel.

Kind regards,

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Location of Ardgowan was ideal for old course, beach, as well as university, shops etc We stayed in room number 8, which was on ground level facing back garden. Room was clean, bed comfortable and staff friendly. Only complaint pillows were very uncomfortable. Toilet was basic but it did have good shower. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

I am very glad to hear that you were so satisfied with your time at the Ardgowan. We are incredibly proud of our location which is, as you point out, ideally placed for all the different attractions in the town. Of course the most important thing is that you are comfortable in your room, so I am also glad that you were happy in that regard.

Thank you for mentioning the problem with your pillows – we will certainly take this on board to try and improve the experience of our future guests.

As always, thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, and we would be delighted to hear from you if you wish to plan another trip to St Andrews in the future.

Kind regards,

Mairi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I am used to staying at luxury hotels. This was by far luxury but I will have to say that the staff was friendly, rooms were clean and large and it was rather quaint in a great location. Just lacking the nicer bathrooms and small touches like shampoo and conditioner in the bathrooms. Great hotel for male golfers or travelers on a budget

Room Tip: We were on ground floor and it was loud with tipsy students at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdgowanHotel, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Maura,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate feedback from all our guests.

I am very happy to hear that you were comfortable during your stay. We are a three star hotel, but naturally the comfort of our guests is the most important thing to us. As you say, it is often the little touches which help guests to feel more at home, so I will make sure that your comments are passed on.

I’m sorry that the students disturbed you during the night! Term had just started when you were staying with us, and I can only apologise for their celebrations.

I hope that you enjoyed your trip and had a safe journey home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,500 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,233 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgowan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgowan Hotel

Address: 2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range: $100 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardgowan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 200 yards from the 18th green of the world famous Old Course, and still only 5 minutes from the centre of town The Ardgowan Hotel offers the ideal location whatever the reason for you visit to St Andrews. Our comfortable en suite bedrooms are decorated in a modern Scottish style, perfect for relaxing after a long day’s golfing or sightseeing. Located below the main hotel, our restaurant, Playfair’s, is ever popular with local people as well as with our guests. We serve a wide range of dishes prepared with the fresh local ingredients wherever possible. The Ardgowan hotel does not have its own lift, but staff will be more than happy to assist you with your bags. Free on-street car parking is available close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ardgowan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgowan Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing