We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Does exactly what it says on the tin"”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardgowan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardgowan Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Does exactly what it says on the tin"”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Booked at very short notice for a trip with my daughter to the University Open Day.
The room was exactly as described, compact, clean and functional.
The staff throughout the hotel were helpful and polite and the breakfast was wonderful.
£78 for Bed and Breakfast in such a smashing location in the heart of St Andrews was what I consider something of a bargain.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richardb1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdgowanHotel, General Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
I’m very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Ardgowan. I hope that your daughter enjoyed the Open Day and if she does decides to study at St Andrews we hope to see you at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    189
    67
    11
    6
See reviews for
96
170
30
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I stayed at the Ardgowan hotel for a week last month while on business in St Andrews. My room was great, very clean, spacious and had such a comfortable bed! Rachel on reception was so helpful when I arrived making me feel very welcome which i was a tad worried about as I was there for a week by myself.

The location is perfect only 5minutes away from everything! I even manged to fit in some shopping around my busy schedule as the shops are so close!

Due to early starts and lots of work I ate in the Playfair's restraurant just downstairs every night which I couldn't find a fault with even if i tried! With a range of specials offered everynight and plenty to choose from I was in culinary heaven! I even treated my self to a beautifully cooked buffalo steak one night. Yum!

Over all with such pleasant staff and a great atmosphere i would recommend the hotel to anyone whether it be a family or someone on business like myself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceW91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdgowanHotel, General Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review.
We value guest feedback, and it is always nice to read positive feedback.
I am gald our front of staff helped make your stay a pleasesant one.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Gary
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We recently stayed here for a University visit. Absolutely fabulous location with all the University departments within easy walking distance as well as the town centre amenities and famous golf courses just a few hundred yards from the hotel.

The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable although not hugely spacious, however that was exactly what we were looking for (in a town as amazing as St Andrews you don't want to be stuck in your hotel room). We dined in both the hotel restaurant and separate sports bar area where we had fantastic meals (both very different styles and have been reviewed separately), the breakfast included with the room was equally as enjoyable.

By far and away the best thing about this stay were the staff, they could not have been more helpful and they clearly work hard throughout the various departments in the hotel as you see the same friendly faces working all over the hotel. They were willing to help us with luggage, point us in the right directions about town, recommend where to go and what to see and generally do a super job at running what appears to be an intimate family run business. It's very refreshing to visit an establishment such as this that isn't a chain or part of a larger group of hotels where all the staff appear to really care about what they do.

Hopefully our daughter chooses to go to University in St Andrew's so that we have a great excuse to visit again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdgowanHotel, General Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We value guest feedback, and it is always nice to read positive feedback.
I am glad our front of staff helped make your stay a pleasant one.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Gary
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We booked this for two nights to visit my son who is in the university. Lovely hotel, very clean and beds were comfy. If you have any kind of walking problems or disabilities ring and check if they have a suitable room. We were in 36 and it was several flights of stairs. There are also steps up to the front door. The room was on the small side but it was fine for us. Lovely hot power showers and wifi £2 per stay.
The breakfast was really lovely but i would have liked it to finish at 10am at least at weekends (7.15-9.15). We didn't order room service but we looked at the menu and the drinks were very expensive.
The staff were all pleasant and helpful. I left an expensive memory foam pillow when we checked out and someone rang me within 30 mins to let me know.

It is in an ideal location-very close to everything. I will use this hotel each time I visit.

Room Tip: Try to get a lower floor as the stairs are a killer
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dw1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdgowanHotel, General Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
It is always nice to hear that our efforts are appreciated.
We do hope you will return to The Ardgowan.
Regards
Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

we stayed overnight this week for a visit to the university open day.the hotel position suited us- turn left for 5 min walk to register at the univ quadrangle, turn right for 5 min walk onto the Old course- perfect !! we booked a triple room,which was on the top floor- no lift, but not a surprise in a 200 yr old building.and anyway,am not yet so feeble that cant do a few flights of stairs!! our lovely room- 38- was triple aspect with views across just a few roof tops to the sea and across to the old course. we had tea/ coffee facilities ,a modern bathroom- great shower- and the beds were excellent. must say the inclusive breakfast was so tasty,in the basement restaurant. the staff were all pleasant- would definitely go again. noticed that they arrange golf trips... the room was £132 for 3 people ,including breakfast.not the cheapest,but worth it on this occasion

Room Tip: top floor good for view at back,and no road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobyEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdgowanHotel, General Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review.
We value guest feedback, and it is always nice to read positive feedback.
Hope to welcome you back soon.
Regards
Gary
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley Lancs
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Ardgowan hotel whilst visiting St Andrews for the university open day. We were given room 18 which had a king size bed and a fold up bed for our daughter. The room was perfect, very quiet and suited our needs perfectly. We had booked the dinner, bed and breakfast package and I have to say the food was perfect in every way. We enjoyed the restaurant immensely. The staff were all lovely and friendly and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Good friendly staff and grat service a very nice restaurant but the rooms are in a bit worn and need a touch up. Location is perfect for visiting the University or Golf course........................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRelaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArdgowanHotel, Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel and value your feedback. The hotel will be undergoing renovations in the reception area and some of our bedrooms this winter as we always like to ensure that we are constantly improving

Should you wish to stay at the hotel again please do not hesistate to contact me direct.

Kind Regards,
Rachel McLachlan
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
447 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
654 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St. Andrews
326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
277 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St. Andrews
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardgowan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardgowan Hotel

Property: Ardgowan Hotel
Address: 2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardgowan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 200 yards from the 18th green of the world famous Old Course, and still only 5 minutes from the centre of town The Ardgowan Hotel offers the ideal location whatever the reason for you visit to St Andrews. Our comfortable en suite bedrooms are decorated in a modern Scottish style, perfect for relaxing after a long day’s golfing or sightseeing. Located below the main hotel, our restaurant, Playfair’s, is ever popular with local people as well as with our guests. We serve a wide range of dishes prepared with the fresh local ingredients wherever possible. The Ardgowan hotel does not have its own lift, but staff will be more than happy to assist you with your bags. Free on-street car parking is available close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ardgowan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgowan Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing