We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a great Guesthouse”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glenderran Guest House
Ranked #3 of 73 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Just arrived back in the states after having spent four nights at the Glenderran and two at the Marine Hotel near Royal Troon. Yes the location is perfect as it is a five minute walk from the 1st tee and the Royal and Ancient and a number of good restaurants. But it is the wonderful nature of Maggie and Ray, our hosts and the excellent food coming out of the kitchen that made this special. The rooms are sparkling clean and the bookshelves are filled with golf and Scottish information. Our foursome knew that we wouldn't have this comfortable feeling at our next location.
Every day we were greeted by Ray to a continental buffet followed by coffee served in a French Press (bodum). Then Maggie served up whatever we ordered from their menu. She makes the best poached eggs ever!
I hope they come to visit in the USA as we feel they deserve some of this treatment at our home. Highest rating.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 345 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Glenderran was just a tremendous place to have stayed while in St. Andrews. Maggie and Ray were just wonderful hosts, they made us feel like family and not just guests. They should give seminars on how to run a Bed & Breakfast. The breakfasts were excellently prepared, the rooms were spotless. There was a fresh bottle of water and a mint left on the nightstand daily. Ray went out of his way to help with getting a tee time at the New Course. There was a buffet breakfast on the day that we had a very early tee time at the Old Course. He even came down to watch us tee off.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We were lucky to find this lovely place for the final days of our tour around Scotland and spent the most wonderful and relaxing time at Glenderran Guest House. Maggie and Ray offer excellent accommodation in their beautiful home, with rooms comfortably and thoughtfully equipped for the travellor. They serve the most delicious and variable breakfast to choose from the menue. And with their friendly support and attention they made our stay a great experience of scottish hospitality. Glenderran's perfect location with literally everything in walking distance makes it even more an ideal place to enjoy St Andrews for any visitor.
Nice to know a place like this that we really like to recommend or return some day.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Great accommodation! The location is perfect, rooms were very comfortable and clean, the breakfast was first class, and the host were incredible. Would definitely recommend this lovely guesthouse to anyone visiting St Andrews.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cameronferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Thanks to Ray and Maggie who contributed to my fantastic golf trip to Scotland. The accomodations they provide are excellent, rooms are quiet and very clean and comfortable, location is ideal, within walking distance to golf and resturants, on the shuttle line. Breakfast was great, and so much to chose from..They really know how to provide excellent customer service. They are so friendly and attend to your every need. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

I just returned from a golf trip in Scotland. I was fortunate to spend four days in St. Andrews at the Glenderran Guest House. It is located within easy walking distance of the Old Course starter and also is serviced by the links shuttle service, which made it easy to get to the practice facility for warm-up, prior to our rounds.

The accomodations were very comfortable. The bathrooms are ensuite.

Ray and Maggie are outstanding hosts. The breakfasts were delicious (I was very partial to the smoked salmon). Our clubs were always set out for us prior to leaving for the course.

I can absolutely recommend a stay here and hope that I have the chance to return.

Thank you, Ray and Maggie.

Room Tip: I traveled with one golf buddy and we stayed in room #4, which had two single beds and a bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just returned from great golf trip to St. Andrews, Scotland. Glenderran Guesthouse was very nice. Close to the Old Course and easy walking distance to restaurants and pubs. Owners were friendly and breakfast was fantastic. Also on the St. Andrews Golf Links shuttle. Made getting to all the courses very easy. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vhenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
480 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Eden Mansion
Eden Mansion
#4 of 73 in St. Andrews
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairways of St Andrews
Fairways of St Andrews
#5 of 73 in St. Andrews
260 reviews
0.3 mi away
34 Argyle Street Guesthouse
34 Argyle Street Guesthouse
#1 of 73 in St. Andrews
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenderran Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenderran Guest House

Address: 9 Murray Park, St. Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Glenderran Guest House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing