We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large Family group, catered for excellently”
Review of Forgan's

Forgan's
Ranked #9 of 147 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $58
Cuisines: Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The idea for our restaurant has been a wee while in the making but when it comes to age it's got nothing on the building we will soon be calling home.After conducting a little research turns out our building once housed a 'Cleek Factory' owned by Robert Forgan, a name known to many for making the best golf clubs money can buy/We are proud of our building's history and here's hoping a little bit of their success rubs off on us.So with Mitchell's deli next door, in homage to local butcher and proprietor Murray Mitchell we thought it only right...Forgan's opening spring 2013Opening Spring 2013Craft Beers & Ales, Restaurant, Public Bar, Private Bothy's, Ceilidh Club, Cookery classes, Wine Club, Live Music, Monthly Dining Society, Host Your Own Roast, Local Suppliers & Producers.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you've got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Large Family group, catered for excellently”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We were a party of six adults and eight children, so we would have been a challenge for any Restaurant, but the team at Forgan's dealt with us in a relaxed and apparently effortless way. From the box of toys to the childrens menu, the experience for the kids was great, and the adults all really enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. Would definitely like to go back sometime either with or without the kids to explore the menu further.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidC186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Hi David186534,

Thank you for your 5* review! We appreciate your comments.

The team are pleased to read how much your family group enjoyed their visit to Forgan's. I am happy that your children made good use of the toy box and the adults enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,262
    623
    187
    88
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Goodfantastivo”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Amasing very good we wil be back soon well done food good service fantastic.dgfyghgf bhgfdytvkj kouhgvb bhgfd h

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your 5* review! We appreciate the feedback.

The team are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to Forgan's.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.andrews
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Good evening out”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

This place has a very individual style and would not look out of place in Edinburgh or Glasgow. Been here a couple of times recently. On our first visit the place was really busy, we ended up eating at the bar which was fine.
On both visits we found the staff to be very pleasant and helpful. Food was really tasty and well presented. The portions are not huge but that perhaps says more about me than the restaurant! There are interesting individual bothy areas which can be booked for small parties.
I would happily recommend this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your review! We appreciate your feedback.

The team are pleased to hear that you found them to be pleasant and helpful. The Kitchen team are happy that you enjoyed your meals and liked the presentation.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“so disappointed”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

I had heard rave reviews about food and service.as I entered the restaurant one of the chefs/kitchen staff passed by and I was almost knocked out by his body odour!
Waited a while before anyone took any notice of us.one lovely guy took us to table and told us a grubby guy was our waiter whose apron was disgustingly filthy.he ignored us and lovely guy had to come back to take our drink order. Service was awful.main course had uncooked fish in macaroni and my battered fish was swimming with grease and soggy.in edible ..overcharged just to put the lid on a crap meal ..they did discount but what a waste of my time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MacFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear MacFalkirk,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am glad to hear that you chose Forgan's for your lunch yesterday however am very concerned about your feedback and that we did not live up to your expectations. It was myself who cleared your main courses and discussed with you your concerns about the food. I did immediately action this with the kitchen and removed both of these dishes from your bill. I am sorry that you did not feel comfortable enough to share your concerns about our team and service at that time. I have shared your feedback on our staff facebook group so that everyone is aware of your experience and the things we can do to improve this. Your feedback will also be shared with our management team at our weekly meeting.

Please contact me directly should you wish to share any further feedback with us. You may email me at info@forgansstandrews.co.uk or give me a call on 01334 466 973.

Best Regards,
Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We visited Forgans as part of our weekend away with friends following a recommendation from other friends. The food was excellent, drinks really reasonably priced and the decor and atmosphere is really original. The service was also first class, if you are in St Andrews give it a go you will not be disappointed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ForgansGM, General Manager at Forgan's, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for your 5* review! We appreciate your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere, food and drinks when you dined with us on your weekend to St Andrews.

We look forward to welcoming you the next time you are visiting.

Kind regards,

Michelle Nabal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forgan's also viewed

 
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Forgan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing