We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windy, cold day golfing with the girls.”

The Castle Course at St. Andrews Links
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The newest addition to St Andrews Links, The Castle Course opened in 2008 becoming the seventh course at the Home of Golf and part of the largest public golfing complex in Europe. Set on a rugged cliff-top with spectacular views over St Andrews, The Castle Course offers a memorable golfing experience.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Windy, cold day golfing with the girls.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

It was cold, howling a gale and rain was threatening. I would have been quite happy drinking tea and eating scones in the fabulous clubhouse rather than golfing. The staff were very impressive and far more welcoming than most of the fuddy duddy clubhouses in Scotland. Obviously set up for Americans. The wee bag with strokesaver, tees and a pencil was much appreciated and all quite good value for £50 we paid. Then we had to leave the warmth and tranquility and play golf. The course was quite tight and the greens very slick and punishing. Even if you hit the fairways there are big lumps of raised rough right in the middle. Punishing. It has been a long time since I have putted off the green. Rumour has it that they may make the greens easier???? The views are wonderful and the sun came out and you would never know it was windy from my photos!!!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank jacquibaggaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    29
    19
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Cant put wont put”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Whoever designed the course didn't give enough time to laying out a putting surface which was fair. It could only be described as crazy golf. The club house, the staff and my caddie were world class but the greens were stupid.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank WillJack_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great new course, same great game”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The newest of the St Andrews courses, and one which will mature in due course. A great challenge awaits those who venture out. While being a man made course, it integrates classic links feeling into the rolling land to create a great test. Combined with stunning views towards St Andrews town, the 6th hole in particular, this course will provide a challenge to all standard of players. Raised on a small cliff, when the wind picks up will provide as sterna test for anyone. Particular mention to the 17th hole....170 yard carry over the ravine while looking towards the town provides a sight to behold. Make sure to relax in the clubhouse after, built into the land with sweeping views of the North Sea.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrianPurcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fore!! or did I take a five?”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

If you want to experience golf as played in the good old days, then visit The Castle Course. It looks as if it has been their since the dawn of time. A very clever construction involving whins and dunes makes it a tough but not impossible day of golf.

Oh but then there is the wind! We played on a day when even the gulls were hiding. Huge, rolling breakers pounded the coast and the spray was needle-sharp. It really lets you know what is wrong with your swing!

The clubhouse faces the coast with exceptional views of St Andrews and the Fife Coast - if you can see it that is! An undestated, friendly atmosphere which does not overwhelm you is order of the day. Very friendly staff greet you and this continues throughout your visit. Some so-called superior golf clubs could take a lesson in humility and customer-service from the Castle.

Loved the day, loved the food, laughed at the conditions.

Play it and sample a great old-fashioned course with fantastic views and cleverely constructed sight lines.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank frenchelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revelstoke, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Links Style Golf”
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

My son & I had the luxury of golfing the Castle Course, it is an amazing layout and the scenery along the North Sea was beautiful. The course was a definite bonus, we actually experienced some of the UK wind conditions during our round. We now know how humbling playing in those conditions can be. We were enjoying the fact it was our first time playing golf over in Scotland, the birth place of Golf, and we enjoyed every hole that windy day. It was purely spectacular, the entire experience of links style golf, the sand traps, the rough, (fescue). I'd play there again if I go back for another holiday.

Helpful?
Thank Henry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Castle Course at St. Andrews Links also viewed

 

Been to The Castle Course at St. Andrews Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing