We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely Lovely!!”
other travelers have booked this property
In private secluded walled garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In private secluded walled garden
Decking Lunch
Relax in the secret garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
In private secluded walled garden
Decking Lunch
Relax in the secret garden
Blue sky dreaming
enjoy the view from the lounge
Glass walled lounge
TV only if you get bored
Modern Kitchen and dining area
En-suite Wetroom in each bedroom
Utility Room
A famous place - Swilken Bridge
People have been coming here for a long time
Ancient History - St Andrews Castle 400m
Whins - bright yellow colours
St Andrews Cathedral - just walk to the end of the street
Sunset from garden
Play or spectate it is only 200m away
Some visitors are free of charge
Coming by helicopter land here
West Sands only a few 100m away
East Sands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
St. Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pshark12
Clarkston, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Lovely!!”
Reviewed December 2, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

My husband, son, and I came to visit our daughter who is studying at the University. We were staying for a week so we looked for a place that was a bit more like home than just a bed and breakfast. I found The Whins Cottage online and thought the pictures looked nice so I booked it for our visit. Let me just say, The Whins Cottage exceeded our expectations. It is a beautiful modern home with all the facilities and room that we needed. The kitchen was fully stocked with all the pots, pans, bowels, plates, glasses, cooking utensils, etc, that you could need. The beds and linens were very fresh and comfortable. Plenty of closet and drawer space so we could unpack our suitcases and put them away during our stay. The entire cottage was very clean and inviting. The Whins Cottage is in a perfect location to the town center as well as the Old Course. We loved coming and going from the charming garden gate and the walkway to the street made it feel like the hidden gem that it truly is. The owners, Sheila and Ian were wonderful to work with. They made it very easy to get the keys and made our family feel very welcome and at home. Thank you for going beyond our expectations and making our visit with our daughter a wonderful family memory. We cannot recommend The Whins Cottage highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny H
1 review
“Fabulous garden cottage close to golf course, shops and beaches.”
Reviewed November 23, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Enjoyed our stay at The Whins and loved the fact we could easily walk to the shops, golf course and old harbour. Decor was modern and the house absolutely spotless making it feel a real 'home from home'. Also a big asset having a cinema nearby for the odd rainy winter's day. Looking forward to returning in the summer to sit in the delightful garden.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tsigane99...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Magical, modern cottage in a fairy tale town”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Sometimes you just get lucky! And this was one such time!
Beautiful. clean modern cottage set in a fairy tale setting in a hidden backyard near the sea
The nicest and most accomodating "landlords"- when I decided to make chicken soup for a small armada of my kids' friends attending st. andrew's with my children, sheila ran out to buy me a pot large enough to hold all my chickens- now, that's service!!
Their generosity in supplying the little things you need was so appreciated!
The lounge area could use a comfier couch,but all in all, it's a little jewel

Thank you, Ian and Sheila

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
menorcavi...
north west england
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed November 16, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The Whins Cottage far exceeded our expectations - on arrival we were jumping for joy at our choice of holiday home for our stay in St Andrews.
The cottage is situated in a central, yet secluded, location in the heart of the delightful town, within a few minutes walking distance of the beach, golf course, university, shops, restaurants, castle, museums etc. The cottage itself is modern, spacious and finished to a high standard. Great care and attention to detail in furnishing and equipping the cottage has created a real home from home and provided a relaxing and comfortable stay.
We enjoyed our stay in The Whins Cottage and plan to visit again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Leaving!
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JenandJer...
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nicely appointed with a very short walk to The Old Course and town center!”
Reviewed October 17, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had an absolutely fabulous stay at The Whins Cottage. The location is so convenient to everything. The house is very, very nice and quiet. Lots of room to relax and enjoy. We would definitely stay here again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
101Jude
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great accommodation in a perfect location”
Reviewed September 5, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We received a very warm welcome from Sheila on our arrival. We had no problem getting parked as there is plenty free parking close by. The cottage is in a perfect location and is less than a 5 minute walk to the 18th hole of the old course. The town centre is a 5 minute walk and the beach is less than a 10 minute walk away. The cottage is finished to a really high standard. There is loads of storage space and the house is really bright and airy. There is a lovely private garden which gets the sun most of the day and there is a decked area for sitting out. The cottage was ideal for our holiday with our young baby, so much so that we have booked up to go back again next year. We would definitely recommend if you are looking for a quiet location but central at the same time. Really great holiday.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra D
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding property and location”
Reviewed September 3, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at the Whins and were extremely pleased with the accommodation and hospitality of Sheila. The property has a very high standard of furnishings and fittings and is equipped with everything you would require and spotlessly clean. Sheila is a true professional and on hand should you have any queries. The location is excellent with a 2 minute walk to shops, restaurants, golfing,beaches and the town centre. We would not hesitate to stay here again and look forward to planning a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall standard and location of accommodation and excellent customer service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing