We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small hotel in central area of St Andrews, ideal B&B location for stopover”
Review of Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albany Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Small hotel in central area of St Andrews, ideal B&B location for stopover”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We booked this hotel as we needed overnight accommodation in St Andrews. As the town is quite small the options are few and many were very expensive. As we were there for a wedding and only needed B&B and a shower, it suited us fine. The location on North Street was perfect as it was almost directly across from St Salvator's Chapel (where the wedding was held) and there is a small bar area (seats about 10) by reception where we managed to get a drink and a sandwich before the service (food available was choice of cheese/ham or smoked salmon/cream cheese sandwiches, no other food available, but this was suitable enough for us).
Our room (number 10) was perfect as it was twin room with ensuite and separate room off ours which had another bed (there was 3 of us travelling). The second bedroom area opened out onto a small decked terrace area with table and chairs for outside seating, so ideal for smokers or those who want an area to sit in the fresh air and sunshine overlooking the small but well tended garden.
Breakfast was fairly good with a small menu of cooked items to choose from, and a selection of cereals, yoghurts and fruit.
Total room cost was £180 (between 3 of us) which I still find quite expensive for what is essentially a small B&B type establishment, but with the golf event on the week we went there was little option of better value and overall we were very happy with what we received.
In summary, I'd recommend this, especially for the room we had. There are other establishments closer to the centre, but St Andrews is so small it is fine. Beware also of some establishments who promote themselves as St Andrews but are, in fact, well outside the town as some of our friends found out to their dissatisfaction.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SelkieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    123
    48
    13
    12
See reviews for
93
100
38
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auch, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Took advantage of a weekend break when passing through St Andrews recently, we were across from France and wanted somewhere with traditional Scottish hospitality, the room was perfect, cosy warm and clean, the staff very welcoming and friendly and the breakfast , everything from full Scottish to kippers, we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fenderjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Wasn't arriving in St Andrews until midnight for a 9am meeting so I stayed (I mean crashed out!!) in a small single. Excellent value for a small but perfectly formed room, comfy single bed very clean en- suite and windows that actually open for some fresh air.
Breakfast was very tasty and with a wide choice of buffet style cereals, yoghurt, bread and pastries plus an included hot option really couldn't fault this lovely little find.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowWeddingGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed here for the weekend as taking student daughter back to University after her spring break.
My usual hotel was unfortunately booked up due to Mother's day weekend but glad I stayed here instead. The Hotel has real homely and much loved feel. My single room was spotlessly clean and the bathroom immaculate. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. I was a little concerned at first as I am a tired middle aged woman travelling alone however, Keith, the very capable night porter, put me at ease and brought me a much needed drink in the fabulous hotel lounge. A real fire was burning - all that was missing was a large fluffy cat reclining on the carpet. The Scottish breakfast was outstanding and expertly served by Kevin who immediately brought me extra tea and milk upon request. The hotel is in a fabulous location and I parked at the front. I didn't have to move the car all weekend as the hotel is centrally located and close to everything. All in all a real find. And I shall be staying again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the back terraced garden are quiet and peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

Just back from long weekend staying at albany hotel with family. We had room that slept 3 which was very spacious and spotlessly clean with decked balcony area which would be brill to sit out on in summer time. Breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for all staff and they were so welcoming. We will definitely be back. Hotel very close to shops restaurants n historic sites. Excellent hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed on a Thursday night and stayed in the garden suite as there were 4 adults and one infant. The room couldn't have been more perfect. Tucked away so we didn't get disturbed at all. Perfect for families.
Breakfast and the service was great.
We will definitely return next time we're in St. Andrews.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_thompso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We went to St Andrews as a wedding party of 8, we had four rooms booked and had a fab time, the beds are really comfortable, and the breakfast was great. We had to book out at 10:30 because the wedding was at 11:00 but after the wedding the hotel owners were happy to let us in to change in to our "daily" clothes to kick about a bit in the city before going home. Everyone was very friendly and I wouldn't hesitate to go back.
The location was excellent you could visit the castle, cathedral and the shops on foot, we didn't have to move our car at all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaxter24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
2.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St. Andrews
672 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,271 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,127 reviews
0.2 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Property: Albany Hotel
Address: 56 North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9AH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#5 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly, informal 3 star hotel. The first in St Andrews to be awarded the prestigious title 'Townhouse Hotel' by the Scottish Tourist Board. The quaint old building has a warm personality all of its own. You will love the craftsmanship of the many original features. Built from 1764, the hotel consists of two Georgian terraced houses, both exactly the same layout, built for two brothers by their father, Mr Thomas Low. With only 22 rooms (all en-suite), we are able to maintain very high standards in accommodation and service without losing our warm and caring attitude towards our guests. Special, great value seasonal, weekend and golf breaks are often available, so contact the hotel for details. The hotel will also be delighted to help arrange golf, sightseeing tours and visits to places of interest. We look forward to you spending some time with us at The Albany Hotel and getting a real flavour for everything St Andrews has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing