We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crummy room but nice staff”
Review of Albany Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albany Hotel
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Albany Hotel on Aug. 14, 2013. The room was very small, old, but quite clean.
The best thing about the place was the fellow at the front desk. He had worked for the Albany Hotel for many years and was extremely helpful with suggestions where to eat, travel tips, sightseeing recommendations etc.
Hot in the hotel, but the front desk had a table fan for us.
Expensive, but within walking distance of everything.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us and glad to read the staff were very helpful and assisting. Due to the age and originality of construction of the hotel the rooms in the hotel are all individual by size and design . Sorry on this occasion we appear to have located you in one of the smaller rooms but this may be a reflection on the room type you arranged. Smaller rooms are offered on a lower rate than the standard rooms. We do normally try and upgrade guests to larger accommodations if available. In the height of the season this is not always possible.
I do hope you will stay with us again and perhaps consider reserving a standard room on the next occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 427 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spent a bit more here than at any other place we stayed on the road trip we took in Scotland, and well, it is St. Andrews so we expected that. I didn't mind that the hotel was old and funky, but I did expect the room to be less dusty and the beds to be newer and more supportive. Get on it, people!

Our room had a terrace and it's own bath. The shower was really tiny.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pdx_traveler065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to provide the review following your stay with us. Naturally we are disappointed with the shortcomings you appear to have had during your short stay with us. We would have welcomed the opportunity to correct any areas you felt did not come up to our normally high standards of housekeeping.
The mattress in the room you occupied was replaced temporarily due to an accident caused by a guest. It may have been the older spare mattress at that time.
At present , subject to planning permission being received , we plan extensive refurbishments to the room you occupied and the one adjacent to it. In addition to a change to room sizes and layouts both rooms would have new larger bathrooms.
Your constructive comments are welcome and thank you for taking the time do do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This is possibly the worst "hotel" on the face of the earth.
Don't be fooled into believing this business is suitably named.
It is most definitely NOT a hotel, a guest house or B&B would be more apt.
We were lied to upon booking regarding the room, the noise is more akin to a Youth Hostel rather than a hotel.
You can quite literally hear everything that is happening in the "hotel" from your room.
Expect to be woken by late night revellers, early morning workmen and general noise.
The facilities are awful and if you have a dust allergy I would suggest you bring your own dust buster as well as every room has a horrid musty smell.
If you book here expect to pay 5 star prices for a Guest House that would struggle to be awarded 1 star.
The only plus side is the location isn't too bad.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mr_M_From_Notts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cecilia F, Owner at Albany Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Don't think he missed anything but apart from that there is a strong element of untruths in these unbelievable accusations.
i would be very upset if in any respect we lowered ourselves to provide any logic to this persons review.
No record of a Mr M from Notts staying in August , certainly not one that booked every room ( that he claims to have seen )in the hotel.
For a person to post a review they do not necessarily need to have stayed or even visited the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

After reading the reviews on TripAdvisor and also on the 'hotel's website, my partner and I paid £280 for 2 nights stay in Room 14, a "Double Room". After entering the room we noticed the electric heater had come off the wall, the shower mat was what could only be described as disgusting, the "flat screen tv" was tiny and also at a horrible viewing angle. After paying this amount for our stay we thought we would of experienced a nice, clean hotel.

Very disappointed and will not be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stewart1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

+: Very nice hotel, nicely situated, nice people, good breakfast. Very romantic, ld building. Good bed.

-: Unfortunately the people in the room above me made quite some noise at night and you can hear that all too well because the building is old.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Joanna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Albany is in a good location for St Andrews, but considering the price for a room the 3 nights we stayed there were just an average experience.
Plus points: The staff were friendly, especially the reception staff & the free WiFi worked well. The room was clean & breakfast was OK, although it is telling that we went out for breakfast on the third morning rather than taking it at the hotel. Free parking in front of the hotel was convenient & not difficult to get a space.
Not so good points: The bathroom was poorly fitted out and very cramped. The double bed was small, and the whole room gave the impression of being tired & in need of a substantial renovation. In the past I have stayed at B&Bs in St Andrews that have been of a similar standard (or better), that have cost less.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnjoyTravel200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Before booking we had checked Trip Advisor and things looked positive. The 2012 Trip Advisor certificate of excellence was prominently displayed as well. This together with the £140 price for an overnight stay should have been enough to guarantee a good stay. With a price tag in this range you expect the premises to carry a certain amount of gravitas. Oh how wrong and disappointed were we.
In my opinion this place does not meet the dictionary definition of a hotel. In my opinion this is a guest house or B&B. Not a very good one at that.
First the positives, the staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good, not spectacular as some reviews would have you believe but good.
So what were the problems. The room we had, room 17, was very small. The en suite was tiny. You can not brush your teeth unless you leave the sliding door open. It needs to be a sliding door because the room is so small. The room was unclean and dusty with peeling paint. I am not talking about running a finger over the top of picture frames wearing a white glove. I am talking about the bed frame, bedside lights and bedside tables. The room was next to the stairs and was noisy. You knew when every single person travelled up the stairs outside the room. The television was small and of poor quality, it had a terrible viewing angle. The shower was pathetic I would have been better waiting for a passing rain cloud or using a watering can.
There is a nice sitting area downstairs with bottled beers etc stored in a couple of fridges. No draught beers but that is okay. It would have been if the beer was in date, it was 2 months past its sell by date. When my wife checked her bottle of coke is was 2 months out of date as well. When we pointed this out to the staff we were told they had pointed this out to the management previously but nothing had been done about it.
When somewhere charges £140 for a nights stay it should deliver against a certain level of expectation. The Albany certainly fell short in so many different areas.
This was a hugely disappointing stay. There are better places in St Andrews for considerably less money.

Room Tip: If you have anyone with access difficulties then this may not be the place for you. There are many s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wyrtaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
2.8 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
514 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St. Andrews
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#9 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Address: 56 North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9AH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
#5 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range: $122 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, friendly, informal 3 star hotel. The first in St Andrews to be awarded the prestigious title 'Townhouse Hotel' by the Scottish Tourist Board. The quaint old building has a warm personality all of its own. You will love the craftsmanship of the many original features. Built from 1764, the hotel consists of two Georgian terraced houses, both exactly the same layout, built for two brothers by their father, Mr Thomas Low. With only 22 rooms (all en-suite), we are able to maintain very high standards in accommodation and service without losing our warm and caring attitude towards our guests. Special, great value seasonal, weekend and golf breaks are often available, so contact the hotel for details. The hotel will also be delighted to help arrange golf, sightseeing tours and visits to places of interest. We look forward to you spending some time with us at The Albany Hotel and getting a real flavour for everything St Andrews has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing