We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There's only one Old Course; only one Dunvegan”
Review of The Dunvegan Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Dunvegan Hotel
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I recently traveled to Scotland for the first time, with seven other guys, to play golf at all the top spots: the Old Course, Carnoustie, Kings Barns, among others.

The Dunvegan was our home base for the entire week, and it truly was like "home," given the amazing hospitality shown to us by Sheena, Jack and the entire hotel's staff.

I will always treasure this trip, and the unbelievable spirit and camaraderie of the Dunvegan. The hotel and bar are as much a part of the St. Andrews experience as hearing your knees knock on the first tee of the Old Course.

Thank you, Sheena, Jack and staff. I hope some day I'll get the chance to return, and to return the kindness and hospitality you showered on the Putt and Pint Club.

You can certainly find a fancier hotel, but you won't find finer people--or a more unique golf experience--ANYWHERE in the world. There's only one Old Course; there's only one Dunvegan.

Batto Sphera Recte!

Room Tip: If you're traveling with a large group, or family, ask about the Kinloch Cottage, which is direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrankJOswald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 194 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

I stayed here in summer 2010 on the eve of my wedding. Whilst not luxurious it is steeped in golfing history and packed with character. When my best men and I were dressed up in our morning suits we sat down and had a drink in the bar. Sheena (hostess) took notice of the wedding party and put a few wedding songs on in the bar/ restaurant - and congratulated me in front of all the guests. She also wrote a good luck message on the notice board outside the hotel - which was seen by all the wedding guests as they made there way to St Salvatores. You simply don't get that level of personal service anywhere else. Many thanks to Dunvegan!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank James_Wild81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2011

Nowhere better in all of Scotland. A 9-iron from the 18th green at The Old Course, The Dunvegan is the place to stay when in St. Andrews. I just returned from a golf trip in Scotland and while only scheduled to stay in St. Andrews for 4 days, I ended up there for two weeks. Jack, Sheena and the rest of the crew are the best I have seen and the food is fantastic. The rooms are perfect, and they have the best showers at any place I have ever stayed (very important after a round of links golf). Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joethepro59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Sheena is a great hostess. Very accommodating to large and small groups of golfers. Location is great. Food is good. Nice quiet restaurant or you can eat in the bar which can be crowded and a little noisy, if that is what you prefer. You can meet some interesting local characters, as the establishment has a lot of local history. You can often meet some of the caddies from the old course. A lot of local knowledge that can be used both on and off the course. The only negative is parking. You need to stop in the street to pick up and drop off and find the nearest parking spot that you can.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jce1031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

Great location and atmosphere for golf lovers! My husband was like a kid in a candy store upon arrival to St. Andrews!! Was a little more expensive than what we wanted to spend but was well worth it! The bar attached to the hotel was a perfect spot to either sit outside and people watch or to grab a bite and a beer after an afternoon of golf!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Callijax19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Eight golfing friends from Virginia spent a perfectly wonderful five days at the Dunvegan on our first ever trip to Scotland. The hotel is one block from the first tee on the Old Course at St. Andrews, so it could not be more convenient to golf, restaurants, and pubs; in short, everything eight guys could want on a golf vacation. We stayed in a three bedroom suite, complete with sitting room and kitchen. We did not cook, of course, prefering to have our breakfast in the hotel, along with two dinners. The food was excellent, and the service was superb. We finished our round each day in the Dunvegan's pub, a place for the rich and famous, and us too! (Sam Torrance was in having a drink one night while we were there). The hotel keepers, Sheena and Jack, were most accommodating, including helping to arrange tee times at several courses. Don't know if we will ever get back, but would not stay anywhere else in St. Andrews.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank golfer7481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Jack was out of town during our stay, but Sheena was an absolutely amazing host. The staff in the bar/restaurant were very friendly and most were from the US. It is evident they cater to golfers and are very attentive with their service.

The hotel rooms were decent, but were merely places for sleeping as the majority of the days are spent golfing, walking around town or in the bar.

You could hit a 9-iron from the hotel to the 18th green of the Old Course, making it the hot spot to be in St. Andrews.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enmooss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
532 reviews
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St. Andrews
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,321 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunvegan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunvegan Hotel

Address: 7 Pilmour Place | North Street, St. Andrews KY16 9HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Dunvegan Hotel St Andrews
The Dunvegan Hotel St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing