We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Christian History”

New Course at St. Andrews Links
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1895, the 6,604-yard track of "New" Course has remained virtually unchanged for more than a century.
Centennial
Level Contributor
166 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Christian History”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

If your a Christian and like the history of the church this is worth your time. It is a beautiful building and the famous John Knox preached here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vfec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    29
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Playing history”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Played the new course in April and loved it. There are definitely more spectacular courses elsewhere but you are, after all,at the home of golf!! The course is challenging -pot bunkers, grass either side of fairway that swallowed balls never to be seen again and then there was the thicket. We teed off with only a few balls and lost them rather quickly luckily there were some to be found as well. Enjoyed immensely and would most definitely do it again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ValueLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“New Course at St. Andrews Links”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a very dificult course, more so than the Old Course in my opinion. Still very fun to play, but if you have to make a choice, play Jubilee instead. I found it more fun, and engaging.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent course in great condition”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great course layout and greens in better condition than the Old course (and they were good!). Very friendly staff in the clubhouse - they couldn't have been more helpful.
Superb breakfast for about £10

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monty028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not as exciting as I'd hoped.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Played with two friends. We play off 19, 20, 21. We joined an Aussie who played off 6. It was a calm, mostly sunny afternoon so the course was benign. I had a bad day on the greens but everyone else was par or better (Stableford). It was a lovely experience being on such a historic course but not quite the challenge we had expected.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suffolk_Puds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Course at St. Andrews Links also viewed

 

Been to New Course at St. Andrews Links? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing