We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You;ve got to!”
Review of The Swilcan Bridge

The Swilcan Bridge
Book In Advance
More Info
$718.91*
and up
Private St Andrews Day Tour from Edinburgh
Ranked #2 of 54 things to do in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The famous Swilcan Bridge on the 18th hole of the Old Course at the Home of Golf. The bridge was originally built over 700 years ago so shepherds could move their flock across the Swilcan Burn which meanders through what is now the 1st and 18th fairways. Today the Swilcan Bridge, with the 'Auld Grey Toun' providing the most beautiful of backdrops, is one of the most iconic settings in golf. So much more than a little stone crossing, the Swilcan Bridge is the history of the game, it's the magic moments, it's felt the footsteps of the true greats.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
343 reviews
146 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“You;ve got to!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Even though it was fenced off you've got to walk accross it! Visited on a day when it had just snowed and it was very slippy! Still the old course looked beautiful!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bazerelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    396
    68
    23
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
103 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Iconic Golf Image”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

To a golfer or fan of golf, there is not a more iconic image. My friends and I had tea in the Rusacks Hotel restaurant watching for our husbands to approach the bridge. When they did, we went out to take their pictures. This is one of our favorite memories of our trip to Scotland.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank traveljunkies87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Real character in miniature”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

A real tick one to tick off in the golfing world , just so you can say " I was there" as the golfing greats step over it on tv .
In reality small in size , but large in character .
Part of the Old Course golf links , but open to public every Sunday to walk on as the course is rested .

Helpful?
Thank vincent w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Did you know?”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

That because the golf course is municipal they have a path you can walk on? It was like seeing the pyramids or standing on the Rialto bridge in Venice when I stood on this iconic piece of golfing history!
A must see and do when visiting the home of golf.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brigadoonlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
100 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Have to have picture taken”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Went over the Swilken Birdge as part of my round @ St. Andrews! the 18th is the easiest hole on the course.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Huskerfan8080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swilcan Bridge also viewed

St. Andrews, Fife
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to The Swilcan Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing