We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful first visit to Scotland”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burness House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burness House
Ranked #52 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
McKinney, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful first visit to Scotland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

From the minute we arrived, we felt like one of the family. Hazel got us into our rooms and with a suggestion of a course we headed out. The Old Course is a 5 minute walk and about 15 minutes to walk to the New and Jubilee clubhouse. A breakfast cooked to order everyday including cereal, fruit, juices and eggs with meats. There was also a separate flat across the street for 4 guests that gave our entire group a place to hang out in the evening. Dinner and ATMs were just a 5 or 10 minute walk around the corner. A great location and a wonderful experience. Save us a spot for next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bhogman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    5
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
13
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed here before yet again a wonderfull weekend, beautifull accomodation, Hazel and Laurie were brilliant Hosts and even invited me and my friend to a BBQ's, played the Ladies Open on the Jubliee Course with Hazel, and despite some rain had a great day, would I come back again, absolutely.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alileslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

My wife and I spent a few days in St. Andrews. Being the golfer, I only cared about the golf courses but all my wife talked about was the outstanding service we received from Hazel at her Bed and Breakfast. I of course have to agree. Location to the Old Course, castle ruins, shopping and pubs is fanatastic. Thank you Hazel for making us feel so welcome. Hope to back some day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandman50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Smith, Arkansas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

Spent last week with Hazel and Laurie in the Burness House flat. This was our group of four golfers second time to stay with Hazel and Laurie and they never disappoint. Great location within walking distance to most anything you want to do in the town. On a day trip to Machrihanish, our rain gear, headcovers, towels and all were totally soaked. Hazel took all the saturated clothes home with her and dried them out for us. Accomodations are nice, clean and comfortable. Will stay with Hazel and Laurie again if our travels take us back to St. Andrews.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2011

Laurie and Hazel were fantastic hosts during our 4 day stay. They were flexible with special requests and the rooms and food were excellent. The location is outsanding to golf, restaurants/bars, and the price is very fair. I hope to make many more trips and the first place I'll call for rooms is The Burness House.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hector-Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

Hazel and Laurie were wonderful hosts and the place was great. Clean, quiet, comfortable, great location, great breakfast and the best shower in Scotland. Right down the street from the Old Course, good restaurants and shopping. I will hopefully make many trips to St. Andrews and will stay with Hazel and Laurie every time! Best place we stayed on our golf trip to Scotland.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdannolfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabot,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2011

Fantastic place to stay! Rooms were very nice, bed was very comfortable, service was impeccable. Laurie and Hazel run a first class B & B. Made me not think about home. Highly recommend to anyone travelling to eastern Scotland. Within walking distance to everywhere in St. Andrews. Excellent pubs, restaurants, and golf within a few blocks.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaddyinCabot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.0 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.5 mi away
Braeside House
Braeside House
#39 of 77 in St. Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.9 mi away
No12 Bed & Breakfast, St Andrews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burness House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burness House

Property: Burness House
Address: 1 Murray Park, St. Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hazel & Laurie Crane welcome you to Burness House, an 18th-century building with individual character and charm. Within easy walking distance of the Old Course and the Town Centre, an ideal base for your visit to the historic city of St Andrews, self catering apartment also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burness House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing