We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, quick service, good value”
Review of The Rule Pub Diner

The Rule Pub Diner
Ranked #82 of 146 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, quick service, good value”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Staff are approachable, food served quickly, good value for money. Good variety on the menu. Drink reasonably priced. They also show sports on big screen.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bubblyblondenutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    99
    50
    43
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcaldy
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great for Family Lunch”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is the 2nd time I have visited The Rule. The first time was for a very enjoyable girls lunch and I was more than happy to return this time was with my husband and kids. Very friendy fast service with lovely fresh food. Varied menu to suit all tastes and very reasonably priced for both food and drink. There are large screens showing sport which keeps everyone up to date! I would definitely recommend The Rule to all my friends and family for lunch or just drinks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Apri70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“For lunch, there isn't a better place in St Andrews!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and i frequently travel to St Andrews for days out and The Rule is now the only place we go for lunch!

Great selection, caters for everyone across the board, warm friendly atmosphere. Granted its busier on the weekends but they seem to have the service down to a tee as we always get our food in good time! The food is perfect lunch-time fare and great value for money!

Shows all the football for the boys and wine for us girls haha

Great time, if your out with your family there isn't anywhere else in St Andrews that provides the service or the food standards. I recommend staying away from other 'bar lunches' in St Andrews we have had some bad experiences in the past!

Well-done to The Rule.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, great atmosphere”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Very Good Food, great atmosphere
We have visited The Rule many times and have always had a pleasurable experience.
The service is speedy and friendly. There is plenty of space and if you do not want to watch sport’s on the TV, s there is a quiet area at the back. To order food you find a seat first then go to the bar to order don’t forget like I always do your table number.
Enjoy
wgmac

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank wg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We are regular visitors to St Andrews as we have a caravan sited up in Kinkell. We try to visit as many of the restaurants int he town and The Rule is one of them that we have returned to many times. In the restaurant there are large screens showing tv, football, golf which is good. Food is varied and quite reasonable.

Children are well catered for, crayons and pictures to colour while waiting for food. Busy at the lunch time hours, students local but always managed to get a seat as there is seating up the stairs and also there is a beer garden.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rhona h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rule Pub Diner also viewed

 

Been to The Rule Pub Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing