We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty and cheap!”

Rascals Bar St Andrews
Ranked #31 of 142 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a locally owned and operated bar/restaurant situated on North Street , St Andrews next door to the New Picture house. Our menu has pub classics but we mainly push Comfort Food. Our passion is in our Burgers, 10 hour slow cooked Pulled Pork , chicken wings and a few other tasty treats. Children are welcome when in with guest and dining with us. Walk ins are allowed but booking is always recommended to avoid disappointment. We can cater for groups of all sizes, and we have a function room available for larger groups dining, parties for all occasions. Check out our Facebook page to see our latest offers. Rascals Bar St Andrews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very tasty and cheap!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I always think what gets me back somewhere and it comes down to great food, great service and great value and Rascals ticks all three boxes! The sloppy burger is becoming a real favourite of mine - their (I'm sure it tasted homemade) chilli beef topping works really well with the burger and bun which is already stacked with toppings. Would love to try their desserts but if I'm honest even my pudding stomach is used as an overflow when I've had one of their burgers! Service is always great which means it's now become an expectation. Free wifi is a plus as sometimes I nip in there to do some work over a cuppa. Kevin

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William A, Owner at Rascals Bar St Andrews, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello, Thank you for your review. We intend to update our menu by Mid August so look out for some new products and more Burgers as we intend to use past popular Burgers of the Week. Look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks ,Jamie W Anderson. Rascals Bar Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    97
    32
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Longforgan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great menu, good food and very friendly staff.”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

After hearing people rave about Rascals in St. Andrews I decided to try it out myself for some food and then drinks after.

The menu has tastes and options to suit all and the prices are excellent considering this is freshly cooked and prepared food from local suppliers rather than the ready meals that some establishments throw up! I ordered the pulled pork as my main and was served up with a mammoth plate full of delight to the taste buds washed down with one of a decent selection of beers. The service was quick and all the staff were friendly and cheerful offering the attention to customers that you would normally expect of a high end restaurant.

After the kitchen closed we stayed in Rascals to enjoy the night-life of St. Andrews in a very pleasant atmosphere and judging by the large variation of ages this is obviously a place that appeals to all.

If you are in or around St. Andrews you could do a lot worse than Rascals, but you will struggle to do better unless you are prepared to spend a fortune!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oinkbat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William A, Owner at Rascals Bar St Andrews, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello, Thank you for your review. We intend to update our menu by Mid August so look out for some new products and more Burgers as we intend to use past popular Burgers of the Week. Look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks ,Jamie W Anderson. Rascals Bar Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Awesome taste, Excellent value and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were greeted by very friendly staff when we first walked into the Bar, it was just 30 mins into opening time and the place was already starting to fill up nicely. We only had soft drinks but there was a good choice of lagers and cocktails on the menu, the food menu was also full of great choices and very fairly priced. I went for the burger of the week (wingin it) it came with chips and a side salad with homemade creamy coleslaw. My fiancée had the French burger with sweet potato fries (added extra) and again side salad and coleslaw. She loved it. The portions are a good size and are very very tasty. We liked the burgers here as they weren't the usual burger, a posh burger perhaps. It comes with a brioch bun which is a must for all restaurants. They have 3D TVs which would be great for sports. The music was at a nice level, not to loud. All ages seem to eat here which makes it such a great atmosphere

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank derekd752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William A, Owner at Rascals Bar St Andrews, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello, Thank you for your review. We intend to update our menu by Mid August so look out for some new products and more Burgers as we intend to use past popular Burgers of the Week. Look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks ,Jamie W Anderson. Rascals Bar Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent place to go in the home of golf!!!!!”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great service excellent food that will blow your mind and also your stomach but worth every bite. Best pub in the home of golf if your ever in st.andrews this is the place to go!!!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William A, Owner at Rascals Bar St Andrews, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello, Thank you for your review. We intend to update our menu by Mid August so look out for some new products and more Burgers as we intend to use past popular Burgers of the Week. Look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks ,Jamie W Anderson. Rascals Bar Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Rascals Highly Recommended”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I'm a regular Rascal now. I very much love the attention to my comfort and satisfaction and their pride in doing their best. I am a great fan of their steak and ale pie, I love their 'pulled pork' and on my latest visit my friends and I enjoyed the local fish and chips. Great value and a loyalty card for discounts too. The portions are huge, so that I have been too full to indulge in a sweet on the last 2 visits! I particularly like the ladies loos. There is a full length mirror there that makes even me look tall and thin, so I like to hang about there as well. I am looking forward to a nice warm day so that I can sit outside and watch the world go by. Credit where its due Well done team Rascals at my favourite student/sports bar and eatery. I'll be back soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EDeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William A, Owner at Rascals Bar St Andrews, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello, Thank you for your review. We intend to update our menu by Mid August so look out for some new products and more Burgers as we intend to use past popular Burgers of the Week. Look forward to seeing you soon. Thanks ,Jamie W Anderson. Rascals Bar Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rascals Bar St Andrews also viewed

St. Andrews, Fife
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Rascals Bar St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing