We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great veggie burgers”

Rascals Bar St Andrews
Ranked #31 of 146 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We are a locally owned and operated bar/restaurant situated on North Street , St Andrews next door to the New Picture house. Our menu has pub classics but we mainly push Comfort Food. Our passion is in our Burgers, 10 hour slow cooked Pulled Pork , chicken wings and a few other tasty treats. Children are welcome when in with guest and dining with us. Walk ins are allowed but booking is always recommended to avoid disappointment. We can cater for groups of all sizes, and we have a function room available for larger groups dining, parties for all occasions. Check out our Facebook page to see our latest offers. Rascals Bar St Andrews
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great veggie burgers”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Great value for money. Great burgers. Menu is changed regular. Staff are enthusiastic and helpful. Book a table to avoid disappointment.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank misterBee48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William A, Owner at Rascals Bar St Andrews, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. We look to change the Burger of the Week every week to experiment new ideas so look out for these tasty treats, but would love to hear your thoughts if you have any veggie burger suggestions. If you like please book in via rascals.sta@gmail.com if this helps. We look forward to your return. Thanks JW Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    99
    33
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

First went to rascals for the first time a few weeks ago after being recommended by friends! food was amazing , i had magma wings to start (you have to sign a form before you eat as the are so hot) really really tasty! and a pulled pork burger which was huge! its a real american experience :)
i have been in every week since! and cant wait to go back... best burgers in st Andrews!
would love to see the restaurant bigger though, and decor a little bit more inviting but overall a massive 10/10!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William A, Owner at Rascals Bar St Andrews, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. We look to change the Burger of the Week every week to experiment new ideas so look out for these tasty treats. If you like please book in via rascals.sta@gmail.com if this helps. We look forward to your return. Thanks JW Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good American Style Burgers”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went into Rascals for lunch on a Saturday afternoon after a long drive up from Glasgow. The place was pretty quiet apart from a few groups of teenagers. We both decided to order burgers, i went for the pulled pork burger which was excellent but the sauce that the pulled pork was in was a bit overpowering and tasted a little strange. My Fiancee ordered the Rascals 'Sloppy' burger (chilli, cheese and bacon) which she loved. We also ordered onion rings which were a bit too greasy for my liking. After the burgers and the onion rings were were both completely stuffed, and for grubbers like us thats not easy to do!!! The only negative i could say about the place was that it was pretty cold and could have done with the heating being turned up a notch. We would definately recommend this place to burger lovers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William A, Owner at Rascals Bar St Andrews, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. We look to change the Burger of the Week every week to experiment new ideas so look out for these tasty treats. If you like please book in via rascals.sta@gmail.com if this helps. We look forward to your return. Thanks JW Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AMAZING FOOD, STAFF AND ATMOSPHERE”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went for a leaving Lunch which consisted of 32 People over 6 tables each ordering from the £5 feed me menu and a few from the Normal menu. We where given the back room all to ourselves and had pre-ordered most of are food.

We we arrived drink where laid out for us and we had a table plan and each table was named after a rock band. The food was monstrous in portion and was a bargain.

All the staff where top notch, even with a the normal busy lunch time they managed to find time to check on all the tables keep the drinks filled. Everyone was super friendly, the music was not loud as you find in some places like this. Out of all 32 people that attended not one had a complaint or issue with Rascals. I highly recommend going there, if you need to book anything for this size of party you will find them extremely accommodating and they give great suggestions. the communications from Rascals was spot on leading up to the event .

So over all,
staff: Management and Servers where all 10/10
Food: Price 10/10, Quality 10/10
Atmosphere: 10/10
Seating: 10/10

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Final1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William A, Owner at Rascals Bar St Andrews, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. We look to change the Burger of the Week every week to experiment new ideas so look out for these tasty treats. If you like please book in via rascals.sta@gmail.com if this helps. We look forward to your return. Thanks JW Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Fun, Fresh Food & Friendly”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I have visited Rascals on numerous occasions with both, friends and family; for food, watching sport, playing pool or just enjoying drinks.

I have always found the place to be clean and tidy and staff have always been very friendly, welcoming and competent.

Rascals has a growing reputation for good food around the town and the chefs/manager are always putting on fun new burgers/dishes of the week. They do not seem content to just churn out the same stuff all the time and are always trying to come up with new ideas.

The chicken wings and burgers (especially pulled pork burger) seem to be common favorites of my friends.

Another fun aspect is the food challenges. Anyone who has seen "Man vs Food" on television will have an idea of how they work. There is a wall of fame/shame with photos of the winners and losers of the challenges, although to the best of my knowledge, no one has managed to complete "poppa's revenge" burger which has featured in several national newspapers.

If I was to try and find any criticisms, it would be that my Lager of choice, Heineken is not on the Rascals discount card that gives you 10% of food (IIRC) and money off selected drinks, but I suppose you can't have it all!

I would definitely recommend Rascals.

9/10

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KevinONeill83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William A, Owner at Rascals Bar St Andrews, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. We look to change the Burger of the Week every week to experiment new ideas so look out for these tasty treats. If you like please book in via rascals.sta@gmail.com if this helps. We look forward to your return. Thanks JW Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rascals Bar St Andrews also viewed

St. Andrews, Fife
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Rascals Bar St Andrews? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing