We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“This is a beautiful and very comfortable...”

Review of 8b Hope Street

Front entrance courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front entrance courtyard
Front entrance courtyard Front entrance courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Front entrance courtyard
Front entrance courtyard
Front entrance courtyard
Hall
Kitchen/Dining
Kitchen/Dining
Kitchen/Dining
Lounge
Lounge
The Garden Room (king)
The Garden Room (king)
En suite
The Green Room (twin)
The Red Room (twin)
Bathroom
Rear courtyard from Lounge
Rear courtyard
Rear courtyard
Hope Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St. Andrews, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
cornwall1...
glasgow
1 review
“This is a beautiful and very comfortable apartment with lovely considerate owners.”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Had a lovely stay at this apartment.It is luxurious,beautifully decorated and very comfortable.It is in a very central location for the beach.golf and the town.

The owners are very friendly and easy to deal with.They left a lovely welcome basket for our arrival.We accidentally broke some glass on a unit and they were so understanding and would not even deduct the cost from our security deposit..We cannot praise them and their apartment enough and would highly recommend staying here.

Can`t wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was perfect.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickie636
Flint, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unanimously voted "favorite lodgings"”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The children, parents, and grandparents all agreed that this was by far the best lodgings of the entire trip. The children loved the games, the gift of jelly-beans, and the large living room for spreading out their treasures; their parents loved the unbelievably comfortable beds; the grandparents loved the privacy of having their own bedroom and bathroom at the back of the flat. Our peace was only disturbed by the seagulls who call to one another at night. You will not beat the location of the flat for wandering the wonderful little town of St Andrews, the grocery store is very close-by, and the entire apartment is on one level, so we could really relax without worrying about the toddler or her grandpa on some narrow steep stairs. We loved the luxurious towels and are saddened to see here that other renters would stain them as if 8B Hope Street were a chain hotel. This is someone's home. We took care of it as if it were our own.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Traveling with family is hard work...this flat made it so much easier.
Liked least: The sheets were a little nubby and bothered one of my daughters. She slept on the cozy blanket and was just fine.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suncitytr...
Yakima, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This apartment was wonderful to stay in. The owners were great to work with. The apartment was perfect for three couples. It is close, walking distance, to golf at St. Andrews as well as close driving to other near by courses. There are many places to eat really close. We enjoyed our stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: There was nothing to not like...
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynsey S
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic apartment, great location!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We visited the wonderful St Andrews for a long weekend and found the accomadation to be perfectly placed in the centre of the town. It felt refreshing to be in a such a clean and well decorated place and was fatastic size for our small family.
The owners were clearly happy to accomadate us despite our 2 young children who tend to make a bit of a mess. My husband and I would definitely recommend the apartment to anyone and we will be visiting again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean and classy decor/furniture
Liked least: We have no complaints
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golferBel...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect position, perfect size, home from home.”
Reviewed July 4, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We came to St Andrews to attend graduation. We wanted a property where we could entertain my sons friends and be comfortable for our invited guests.
The apartment was exactly what we needed. The rooms were great and kitchen facilities super. We were able to have a BBQ and be hosts as we would have done at home.
As we are also golfers the storage areas were very useful, a couple of our friends want to return to St Andrews for a golfing holiday and we would certainly consider staying here again. Nikki was great to deal with and the welcome basket was a lovely surprise.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Position and outside space.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZOEC0403
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“left a sour taste”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

I will not comment on the apartment itself as you can see by the other reviews it is very central and we were happy with it when we left however when we got home we were quite frankly shocked by the email that we received. The owner had taken the decision to hold back our damage deposit £150 due to fake tan on towels and sheets. We were advised that the owner would get back to us in due course and she sent us a list of the 'damaged' items. Firstly I would not class dirty laundry as 'damaged items' secondly as a rental property highlighting the fact to us that her towels were brand new is irrelevant. As an owner of a rental property myself you learn to expect a certain degree of wear and tear to product hence why I include this in my pricing and make sure I have basic knowledge of how best to clean the items I have put in my property (a study from the bbc in 2011 reported that 91% of women wear make up and 41% and rising wear fake tan) also I do not put things in my property that I would be upset about if they were 'damaged'. We were provided with one bath towel and one hand towel per person for a Friday to Monday stay, I personally used my towel twice then done a washing on the Saturday afternoon however there were no drying facilities with the exception to hanging them out, no spare towels were provided and on the Sunday we resorted to sharing a towel! The house was constantly cleaned tidied and maintained throughout our stay so to imply that every day usage and marking on this is quite frankly absurd and complete over reaction. Then to make matters worse by the time we received the final invoice there had been other items added onto the list! why then was this not added to the original invoice? The owner is not willing to discuss our take advise on how to clean this products and made us sound through her emails like a pack of animals. Never will I go to her apartment again as apparently its a show home that has items provided that are purely for display only.

Liked least: owners attitude lack of basic cleaning knowledge and patronising and quite frankly RUDE emails
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2013
We are flexible, approachable, friendly and service orientated as made clear by our other reviews. This is our first experience of deliberate damage being caused to our property and has been extremely upsetting. This hen party gathering left us with fake tan, hair dye and make up on the walls, carpets and linen. We did offer to have a conversation with the lead member of the party who unfortunately refused, leaving us with no other recourse than to invoke the damage deposit to cover the cost of replacing 12 items (towels and linen) rendered unusable. To put this in context, dividing the total replacement cost between the 5 in the party was £12.34 per person. No costs with respect to the hours of enforced extra cleaning were added. We have delighted many customers over the past two years and this is the first occasion when a review has been used as a threat to coerce us to quietly accept mistreatment and misuse of our property. We didn’t wish to succumb to such bullying. We are open to constructive feedback and respond proactively to all suggestions in pursuit of improving our property and service. This review is motivated by petty revenge and is in essence a verbal temper tantrum. It is a pity that Trip Advisor doesn’t facilitate a review of the guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sgmm2716
1 review
“Poor treatment”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Our stay in St Andrews itself was great, no complaints about the apartment itself, however it was our treatment upon leaving the apartment that disappointed! 5 girls where there for a hen weekend, we kept on top of cleaning as much as could be expected on a short break away with friends where you have loads planned, we left the apartment as was found apart from a basket of dirty linen that we could not wash as there was no drying facilities. We where shocked to then receive an email from the owner regarding her disatisfaction at the dirty linen. She stated in her email that there was makeup and tan stains on both towels and sheets. I don't dispute the marks on the linen, but for a 3 night stay with no change of sheets or towels and as already mentioned no drying facilities or time to wash them on a daily basis, I think this was really over the top and unecessary. I have stayed at 5* hotels all over the world and have never ever been charged for dirty laundry, surely as a owner who rents out an apartment laundering linen is her duty. Nikki claimed to steep the linen in a bleach bath, I don't know why it all wasnt just put in a boil wash, if this was done I can assure that the marks would have been removed, if a makeup wipe can remove it from our faces a boil wash can certainly remove it from a towel and bed sheet. We where then presented with another email that stated that she was unhappy about the time she spent on cleaning the items and had more items added than what the original email had listed. My only advise here to nikki is to not rent out an apartment if she is not prepared to carry out standard owner cleaning duties. I am incredibly angry at the proportion this has been blown out of and at the price she has charged us for a simple thing like makeup on bed sheets and towels. So if you are a female and thinking of staying here then please be advised to leave your makeup and tan at home and to take your own linen as Nikki's is for show.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 12, 2013
We are flexible, approachable, friendly and service orientated as made clear by our other reviews. This is our first experience of deliberate damage being caused to our property and has been extremely upsetting. This hen party gathering left us with fake tan, hair dye and make up on the walls, carpets and linen. We did offer to have a conversation with the lead member of the party who unfortunately refused, leaving us with no other recourse than to invoke the damage deposit to cover the cost of replacing 12 items (towels and linen) rendered unusable. To put this in context, dividing the total replacement cost between the 5 in the party was £12.34 per person. No costs with respect to the hours of enforced extra cleaning were added. We have delighted many customers over the past two years and this is the first occasion when a review has been used as a threat to coerce us to quietly accept mistreatment and misuse of our property. We didn’t wish to succumb to such bullying. We are open to constructive feedback and respond proactively to all suggestions in pursuit of improving our property and service. This review is a motivated by petty revenge and is in essence a verbal temper tantrum. It is a pity that Trip Advisor doesn’t facilitate a review of the guests!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing