We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great B + B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Failte Bed And Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 72 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great B + B”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Failte. Jean and Campbell are wonderfully warm and helpful. The B & B is spotless and comfortable. And this was the best breakfast we've had in all of our UK travels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julianne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
83
21
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Failte is the best B&B I've ever been to. I only stayed for one night but as soon as I arrived I felt completely comfortable and I was overcome with the warm welcome, the bright and very clean rooms and the very kind owners. Failte played a massive part in contributing to a perfect day in St Andrews. I could not have asked for anything more! Thank you so much!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinaHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in Failte Bed and Breakfast for two nights in July 2013 and enjoyed it greatly. We couldn't but appreciate the room that was comfortable and beautifully decorated and the breakfast that was enormous, substantial and very tasty indeed. We felt at ease there as the atmosphere was very homely and the B&B keepers Jean and Campbell were very friendly. We were touched by their constant care and now, being far away from St Andrews and, generally, from Scotland, we remember them and thank them from the bottom of our hearts.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights whilst attending a conference. This was the perfect B&B for this, it was clean, comfortable and the breakfast awesome! What really made the difference was that we were able to use the breakfast room to work or relax in and this made it a real home from home experience.

Thanks to you both for making us so welcome and I for one will stay again if I find myself that way in the future.

Cat

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 9, 2013

With it being our first trip to St. Andrews, we were worried staying with one of the cheapest B&Bs would lessen our experience - however we were proved utterly wrong! About 15 minutes walk into town (and about 10 minutes to the beach!) the location proved much better than most of other friends who were in St. Andrews as well. Jean and Campbell were extremely welcoming and fantastic hosts. The breakfasts were superb - 2 courses with a multitude of choices! Free wi-fi (+ sky tv) and a living room to sit in was ideal for our lazy day. Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My wife and I visited St. Andrews for attending a conference. During our one week stay in Failte B&B, we felt very comfortable. When you get there you will suddenly realize that it is not a standard B&B. The room and service is very nice. The breakfast is definitely more than what you expect for a B&B. It is not an expensive place by the way. Jean and her husband are very nice and cheerful people. They truly deserve more than 5 stars. It was a very beautiful experience for us. If we go to St Andrews again, we will definitely stay there.

I therefore strongly recommend this beautiful place. You do not need to search for any other B&B. Do not miss the opportunity and make your reservation ASAP. I assure you that you will not regret and you will surely get more than what you expect.

Cheers,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SelcukOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Very tidy, very friendly, very good breakfast - nothing to complain!
Jean and her husband are perfect hosts!
An excellent place to stay in St. Andrews. Although it is a little bit outside of the town centre, it is just a short walk to restaurants, bars etc...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank From_oldchickenhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
341 reviews
2.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,140 reviews
1.0 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
376 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
486 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St. Andrews
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Failte Bed And Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Failte Bed And Breakfast

Property: Failte Bed And Breakfast
Address: 109 Roundhill Road, St. Andrews KY16 8HG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refurbished 2011, Failte has 2 extremely comfortable kingside double/twin bedrooms, one with luxurious en suite shower room with bidet and the other has a luxurious private bath/shower room. Top range Christy towels and Highland Aromatic shower gels/soap etc provided. Both rooms have flat screen televisions and wifi broadband access. Hospitality trays with hot chocolate, tea, coffee, Highland shortbread and bottled Scottish water etc. Superb full Scottish or Continental breakfast. Friendly home from home atmosphere. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Failte Bed And Breakfast St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing