We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed July 27, 2009

We stayed in a Old Course room with a view across the golf course and ate dinner in the Road Hole Grill. Would highly recommend the hotel and the restaurant. Dinner was superb. We also used the spa facilities and these were great also. Every member of staff was incredibly helpful and polite. I really could not fault one thing about this hotel - we were even lucky enough to find that the sun was shining when we ventured up to use the roof top hot tub. We have recently stayed at both the St Andrews Bay Hotel and Gleneages and, overall, I found the Old Course Hotel to be the best of the three.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    211
    95
    23
    17
See reviews for
247
803
30
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Bucks
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

Having brought our son to St Andrews University 4 years ago, we (well me really!) always vowed to stay at the Old Course for his graduation. It has lived up to most of our expectations. We originally booked an Eden Park view room through lastminute.com but were delighted to be allocated a Old Course room on arrival. This room however was directly above the aircon vents for the Jigger Inn. As we were out for most of our stay, the unexpected view made up for this. Had I originallly booked and paid for one of these rooms, I would have been decidedly unpleased.
The room was fine in size and facilities with the exception of a lack of tea and coffee tray and a most extraordinary bath which I struggled to get in and out of ( My height 5'2" ).
The breakfast buffet was delicious but not nearly as extensive as in other 5 star hotels that we have stayed in. Staff were very friendly.
We ate in the Jigger Inn - fish and chips very good - Sands Restaurant for dinner - OK but found the wine list a bit sparse in the lower price range.
To be recomended is the Road Hole Bar where the view is absolutely stunning. I found myself avidly watching the golfers below even though I have no interest in golf. This is definitely where the hotel earns its stars.
On a separate issue, I am very grateful for a 'phone call from the hotel in the week previous to arrival, asking if we wished to reserve a table in the restaurant as they were very busy. I had overlooked this and had they not 'phoned we would have been without a celebratory meal with our son.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haveyougotthemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2009

Stayed here 2 nights for a family wedding. What a fabulous location and property. The staff are exceptional particularly the conceierge (always a smiling face and a word) and the breakfast staff.
However I felt our bedroom was very cramped. We had 2 kids, so the sofa was a pull out bed for my 3 year old and a cot for my 19mth old, there was hardly room to move. As we were getting ready for a wedding it was just too cramped. Was relieved when we moved to the Albany Hotel up the road where we had a much more relaxed stay with a large airy suite.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clewbayhotel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed April 25, 2009

This was our third trip to the hotel,. The location is lovely, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The reason for our return was to once again delight in the Road Hole Grill. The tasting menu is absolutely wonderful, the wines for each of the courses compliment the food perfectly, and the service is friendly and efficient. From the home baked bread to the sumptuous dessert, it really is a dining experience which is worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HendersonsChingford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Fantastic location. Unfortunately that's where it ends. The rooms are tiny and the service lacking. Food was average. Very expensive for what you get. the Spa was great, but we had to sneak in.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JefftheCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We go to St Andrews annually and always go back here. The rooms are very large and comfortable and the staff friendly. The location is great for walks on the beach and if you are a golf enthusiast you will be in heaven. The food isn't as good as it should be for this class of hotel so we would recommend eating in town at the Seafood Restaurant or the Thai restaurant on Market Street. There is only one small sitting room which is quite noisy as it is next to reception. Most people seem to relax in their rooms.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beanpole2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2009

This hotel has a fantastic location. The weather was super while we were there and we enjoyed stunning walks along the beach. As well as great views of the old course, the hotel is a short walk to one of the most gorgeous Scottish beaches.
The rooms are good - very comfortable. Service is hit and miss. Staff in the restuarnt don't know the menus well and need to go into the kitchen to check before giving answers. Turndown was for the bed only - dirty glasses were left, rubbish not cleared. Front Desk staff are programmed to offer the basics only - no efforts to think outside of the box or be proactive.Cushions in the lobby that were squashed and untidy in the morning, remained that way throughout the day. Trays remained in the corridors all day. Spa staff hum and haw when you try to book appointments.
On top of this, the main restuarant and the Jigger Inn were both closed for part of our stay. This meant that we only had one restaurant option for dinner. This was bad planning by the management. Breakfast is okay - the room is very dark and gloomy. The cold buffet choices are poor (something that a more creative management team should address). If you have a cooked breakfast, however, the food is fresh-cooked and delicious. Remember to ask for the full selection of hot breakfast items - some things are listed on the Room Service menu, but not in the restaurant, but you can ask for them.

St Andrews has a great sense of history and the Old Course Hotel has a great resonance in the golfing world. This hotel should be great, but it has a lazy air and is resting on its laurels.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneScottGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St. Andrews
3,067 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 16 in St. Andrews
1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St. Andrews
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St. Andrews
476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St. Andrews
668 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Andrews
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing