We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great intro to a leading hotel of the world”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A great intro to a leading hotel of the world”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Expecting a lot from our first stay at a leading hotel of the world and it certainly delivered.

The room overlooked the 17th hole, I think. Large room. Big bathroom. A little aged here and there.

We travelled with our baby son. The touches to provide us with a baby bathing seat and a little tiger puppet was greatly received. To this day nearly 6 months on my son still plays with the puppet.

Lunch at the restaurant upstairs was simply fantastic for £15 per person for 3 courses. High chairs provided...messy baby food...great view....great service.

Breakfast was not in the same standard. It seemed to be quite a stampede of bodies running everywhere and a little disorganised. Ah well its breakfast and everyone is hungry. who cares if we had to wait a little.

The door men were not in the same league of friendliness as a hotel we visited in Lausanne so marking down on this front.

Upon checking out the lady at the front desk knew our names much to our surprise having not met here before. Nice tough.

All in all a great stay. We will be back and hopefully to a more welcome smile at the door.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 8---AW---LW---8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,172
    206
    93
    23
    17
See reviews for
236
786
30
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Beautiful room. Beautiful view. (And the windows crack for fresh air). All the best in a bathroom: shower, tub, adequate but not ridiculous space. Helpful staff. Amazing concierge. The best of all the breakfasts we had on our Scotland Golf trip. St. Andrews is a lovely place to visit, and it was easy to walk to town, golf, beach from the hotel. Although I thought at first I would rather have stayed in an older place with "charm" - the comfort and staff completely won me over. And, for charm, there is always the Jigger Inn next door or an easy walk to town for plenty! Our husbands were completely happy with the assistance from the "Golf Department" of the hotel too!

Room Tip: I think the rooms with the golf view are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Looking over the 17th and 18th holes of the old course at St. Andrew's in a room that really is a suite. Luxurious sitting area in rich fabric....fabric on some of the walls. King sized bed with the highest quality linens. Beautifully appointed bathroom and the room had a half bath also. Panoramic windows. Truly the highest of quality...we were sad to leave.
The staff, to a person, was incredible.
Wish I could just live there!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hlsgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

We were lucky enough to stay in this hotel as a special treat for my husbands 30th birthday. My husband is a keen golfer, I booked a room with a golf view. It was a stunning room and we found the staff very friendly and could not do more to help us. Complementary champagne and canopies were delivered to our room, we were made to feel most welcome. Breakfast was delicious and we again enjoyed the view of the golf course. Hopefully we will be fortunate enough to visit this amazing hotel again in the future.

Room Tip: I would pay that little extra for a golf view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordonandfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

Great venue and really enjoyable day.
Very well organised and everyone had an excellent time.
Stunning surroundings and special mention to Alan the Barman who looked after a bunch of us with an exceptional level of service!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevecole77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed here for a single night after a wedding. I grew up in the town so this was an indulgence. This is a hotel that oozes quality throughout. The staff are well trained the rooms first class and breakfast as well as being delicious overlooks the most famous golf course in the world. I would love to have stayed longer and enjoyed the rooftop hot tub but the pool and steam rooms were a lovely way to start the day. Needless to say all fitments in the bathrooms etc are by Kohler!

Room Tip: Overlooking the golf course and if money is no object then one of the suites would be lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beaks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Many if not every golfers dream is to stay here with an Old Course view. I could go on and on about what was very good like the food, service, the decor, but one thing would keep me from returning and it was the bed. Dear God what were they thinking!

We were promptly taken to our beautiful fairway suite with a breathtaking view of the 17th fairway. The room was HUGE with 2 rooms and 2 baths. Amazing. Then i walked into the bedroom and was greeted to a seemingly queen bed. Not appropriate for me and my son, but they assured me " no worries" we will make it into two. ??? Well they did, it was actually 2 single bed put together. They were smaller than my college dorm room bed. When I layed on my back a roll onto your side would promptly deposit you on the floor. No joke. I couldn't believe it. This beautiful room and hotel and these jokes of a bed. It ruined it for me. I got maybe 4 hours of sleep a night going from course to course like a zombie. I have a suggestion for the management. Go to a Ritz Carlton and check out their beds, better yet a Holiday inn in the states have 2 queens!,

So if your staying as a couple I suppose the 2 beds together may be all right but 2 singles.. Forget it. Stay elsewhere

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gniconovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay.

I am sorry to learn you did not enjoy a good night’s sleep. The beds in the Fairway Suites are King Size, typical of UK Standards, which can be twinned by separating into two single beds or zipped together to provide a king size bed. I believe US beds may be bigger and I am aware that in the US, double double rooms are quite usual and that some hotel chains in Europe can provide this also. I do apologise if you found the single bed to be too small but unfortunately most of the beds in our hotel are configured this way and our rooms do not have the square footage to hold two doubles.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your positive comments and please contact me directly if you are staying in St Andrews and we can look at customising a room for your comfort.

With kind regards,
David Scott
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,981 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing