We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Lovely sanwiches with delicate flavours but a tad too much read - thinner sliced would be better. Tasty scones and pancake with cream and strawberry jam and then the cakes! A nice mixture - all very light and a good variety of flavours. Good selection of teas and coffees. Very attentive staff. Afternoon Tea was in the Sands Grill which I found a tad lacking in atmosphere. Probably great in winter but on a lovely summer day it would have been nice looking over the beach or gardens - especially in their location. Very good value for money at £20 but Gleneagles still gets 5 stars even if it is £30! All in all well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homebaker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    206
    93
    23
    17
See reviews for
235
784
30
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 4 night stay at The Old Course Hotel and we are already planning our next trip. From the moment we arrived we knew this was going to be a trip to remember. The staff was incredible, each and every member was so friendly and helpful, they could not do enough for us. Special mention to the bar supervisor in the Road Hole Bar, so efficient and went above and beyond to ensure that every guests needs were met. I drank a particular cocktail each night and on our our last night he gave me the recipe and explained the process to me. The rooms were amazing, we had an Old Course Suite overlooking the 17th hole of the golf course and looking out onto the sea. My husband played golf on 3 of the 4 days but i never felt bored....i visited the spa on 2 occasions and had amazing treatments but you could also just use the facilities which were part of the package. The hotel is 5 star and it most definitely deserves this rating. Our stay was flawless. The hotel however still manages to remain relaxed, and homely. I cannot wait to return to again in the near future. Keep up the great great work and treasure your amazing staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElaineMagnerMoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Attended a pair of friend's wedding here and was in awe of the attention they give to their guests. The room was immaculate and bed was comfortable and large. The bar next door, The Jigger Inn, was also incredibly welcoming and service all round was of a high standard. My partner and myself enjoyed every moment of the stay and would willing stay there again without a question.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Fabulous two day stay. Treated so well by all members of staff, whether in reception or dining room or in bar. Loved the bedroom> could have stayed there for the full two days.
Bathroom - heaven. Food was delicious and particularly enjoyed breakfast.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Wow, back to work with a bang after marrying my beautiful bride Mary at the Old Course Hotel. The support from Dianna and her team in the build up to our big day was professional and very attentive, leaving no detail out. The day itself was exemplary, the food, service, the whole package. I would not hesitate to trust them with your big day. Everyone, from the concierge team (Cheers lads), the Starter at the Dukes course and of course Antoinette and her team at the Jigger were amazing. The old course suite was luxurious with a lovely view up to the R&A, and the spa was also fab...can't wait to return for our first anniversary.
Thanks to all those that helped make our wedding an unforgettable day

Room Tip: If you can go for an Old Course Suite...other rooms are good though
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Located right on the Old Course in St.Andrews this hotel offers world class comfort, exceptional food , stunning views and personal service,. The best place to stay by far in this Mecca of golf. We paid $480 per night, double occupancy breakfast included. Our biggest surprise the food in the restaurant. This was quite exceptional . $100 a head - pricey - but you'd pay two or three times as much for comparable quality in NY or LA. Free WiFi and parking.

Pros : Modern luxury hotel situated on the Old Course. The building faces the Royal and Ancient Club House and the medieval spires of this small charming university town . Rooms large, well equipped, comfortable and bright. Bed superb, air conditioning works to US standards. Deep tubs and power showers to help you recuperate after a day on the links or sightseeing. Food and service at the top floor restaurant bordering on Chez Panisse excellence. View from the bar to die for. A golf lovers heaven. Kohler spa for partners. Manhattan standards in Scotland.

Cons : Check in person seemed more interested in her computer than greeting guests. A rare negative in this well managed hotel. Hotel a bit of an architectural monstrosity but that doesn't bother you if you're a guest looking out.

Conclusion : By far the best in St.Andrews, possibly the best golf hotel in Scotland or Europe. New entrants such as the Hotel du Vin charge the same but don't come near the Old Couse in terms of quality and comfort. The top floor restaurant is a must for foodies. Go for the five course tasting menu - good value and better than Gleneagles or Troon. Staff ( check in excepted ) charming in that slightly diffident Scottish way. A huge surprise and a delight.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Old Course. The sun setting over the dreamy medieval spires of the univers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Another great overnight stay at the old course staff were excellent especially at the jigga inn we had great food and drink and rounded the night of up on the fourth floor having a few nice malts breakfast was again outstanding and always a great choice to be had

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DW02ROB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
2,975 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St. Andrews
1,099 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
1,230 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
654 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing