We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt Like a VIP - what an experience :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My wife and I stayed here a part of a wee Valentine's weekend away. We were so excited to spend one night here and had been looking forward to it for ages. We were not disappointed - every aspect of the hotel is 5 star - from the rooms to the excellent service. We checked in at 1pm and our room was ready 2 hours early, which was nice little bonus as the normal check in is 3pm. We were greeted by the female duty manager who was superb - we were given a free glass of Prosecco and were shown to our room. The room was amazing - huge bed and luxury fixtures and fittings. The view was good - we only paid for an Eden room - I would love to see their really posh rooms. The spa facilities in the hotel are outstanding - robes, hot towels, wee slippers are all included. They have lovely comfy loungers around the pool. In the spa area there is a good sized pool, a thermal spa area and a roof tub hot tub - even in Feb this hot tub was ace. Overall, the spa facilities are a must - we spent over 5 hours over the weekend. We had a great nights sleep in the comfy bed. Sorry, I can't comment on the breakfast as we were room only.

One final thing - visit the Jigger Inn - lovely old master's lodge with great food and service. I was served the best steak baguette I have ever tasted.

Overall, the Old Course Hotel fully deserves it's 5 star status - you are made to feel so welcome and the staff, doormen etc make you feel welcome and special.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stufleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,717)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,067 - 1,073 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Old Course Hotel for 4 nights .
It was a gift to my partner who loves golf .
We could not have had a better experience , if at all anyone tried .
We were welcomed at reception with a glass of bubbly , . The concierge , the room... Lovely .
The view at breakfast overlooking the 17 th hole , . The food and service from all waiters/ waitresses , truly made us feel like only we mattered .
The golf was brilliant ( as a novice myself ) . We were booked on the Dukes but unfortunately it had been snowed shut , but were allocated another links course very quickly .
The Road Hole bar was a delight , ore dinner cocktails .
The Spa is exquisite, if a little too cold in the pool but we quickly realised that going into the Thermal baths and then swimming was not the best idea .
We had a full body massage , was amazing , but they do add 10% on for a gratuity tip, so just know your final bill will be a little extra .
Over all , one if the best weeks away we have ever had .
Service , hotel, food , hospitality , ambience . Absolutely worth the money and worthy of 5 star status .
We will return .

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kelly k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We are just back from a fabulously relaxing 2 night stay at the Old Course. As mentioned previously, the spa facilities are great and so are the breakfasts. It is a great place to chill and yet only a short walk into St. Andrews with its fantastic cafés and bars. Special mention goes to Kat in housekeeping who called back promptly to say she had found the iPad charger that I left and that she would pop in it the post for me. Kat you are a star!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SGF69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Bags were whisked off to our room upon arrival, it was a beautiful room with a view of the old course (a must room feature for golf lovers). Enjoyed afternoon tea at the Road Hole bar (make a reservation) and they even packed up our left over treats for us to enjoy later in our room. We then moved on to the spa/swimming pool facilities where we loved the hot/cold pools and rooftop hot tub (we returned the next morning before breakfast and had the place to ourselves). We had a casual dinner at the "Jigger Inn" pub, which was very reasonably priced and served top notch pub fair (fish and chips are a must have along with the house brewed draft "Jigger Ale"). The next morning we had a wonderful continental breakfast (included in the room price) with a view over the Old Course and St. Andrews, the food was well presented and once again staff very attentive. We would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a first class experience in a beautiful and romantic setting.

Room Tip: Request a high floor with an Old Course view a must for golf lovers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Having stayed in St Andrews frequently I had always thought this hotel would not be worth the extra money compared to some of the other hotels in the town. I was wrong! This hotel was fabulous with nothing too much trouble for the staff. Although the hotel is big it still retains a personal touch and I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMac50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My boyfriend treated me to a night at The Old course and we absolutely loved it, we used a voucher from Itison and even though it was very quiet in the hotel we took full advantage of the facilities. From checking in to checking out we were treated like royalty, our room was a Eden view room and was spotless,very well equipt . A big shout goes out to all the staff at the hotel especially the 2 concierge on nights Scotty and Terry whom we nicknamed little and large for obvious reasons (if you visit you will know why) even room service was a joy,order was taken and delivered within 15 mins and delivered with a smile. Also thank you for letting me raid the Quality st dish for soft centres. Can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Try and upgrade to a course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Was lucky to be treated to an overnight stay at this wonderful hotel. From the moment you arrive it feels special. The staff are exceptional everyone we meet were very friendly. The facilities are fantastic in particular The Spa. Not only do you have the indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and indoor jacuzzis. There is a plunge pool and on the rooftop you have an outdoor hot tub superb ! If you are feeling flush you can also buy a £25k rolex from the inhouse Mappin and Webb easy. There are no negatives to report, if you can afford to go here or as we did managed to get a great deal then you will enjoy.

Room Tip: Room 318 looks onto the 1st, 18th holes and you can access the roof through the window although don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,544 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#9 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,373 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,241 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
700 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#5 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range: $181 - $644 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing