We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what the doctor ordered!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Just what the doctor ordered!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

4 girls, school reunion, needed pampering and the Old Course delivered. We have the 2 night special spa break and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone needing to recharge. The rooms were magnificent - think we must have been lucky. Arrived to an amazing welcome and glass of fizz, quickly settled inand were shown all the facilities. I was here many years ago and whilst some things remained the same the SPA is outstanding. There was something magical about being in the outdoor tub looking at the starts on a clear night. Food was first class, breakfast meant you could have just about anything you wanted and the dinner in the SANDS restaurant was also very good.

Looking already to rebook - thanks to all the staff ( and Fiona who made our stay so enjoyable)

Room Tip: First floor has the refurbished rooms which are amazing - (the bathrooms are beatuficul and decor ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Netherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    213
    97
    23
    17
See reviews for
253
821
30
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We booked the Old Course Hotel to celebrate my husband's birthday. On arrival, we were Greek by a very friendly Concierge and were then offered a complimentary drink, by the very friendly and efficient young man at reception, before heading get to our room. The room was well equipped and beautifully decorated. It had absolutely everything through we would want or expect from a hotel room. In the morning we had a delicious breakfast and we're attended to by efficient, friendly staff, whose mission, it seemed was to make sure that you had everything you wanted. In short, the Old Course Hotel is expensive, but worth every penny. I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We only booked a standard double room amenities had absolutely everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken58_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

9th visit to the Old Course Resort, spent many holidays in St Andrews as a child, love the fact the town has never changed, in fact same town, same beach, same people, the most beautiful place to visit, biased Scot I may be, but this is one place everyone should visit, the Old Course Hotel is the icing on St Andrews Cake, it is expensive - but a very special treat if you can get there! Lovely places to eat and drink but need to book very busy uni town at weekends, cathedral and beaches including elie a few miles up the coast fab to visit, don't miss Ruby Bay or the Ship Inn, Elie for lunch, best place in Scotland, love it!

Room Tip: Eden Room facing the ocean and the first tee!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsPPGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We have just arrived back from an overnight stay at this hotel, after recently taking advantage of the Itison deal for one night for £129 for bed and breakfast.

The hotel is beautiful, make no mistakes , this could be one of the finest stays you will have in Scotland but here is my advice, don't eat in the Sands Grill restaurant, very over priced, small portions and not worth the money at all! If the Road Hole restaurant is open eat in there, it is leagues about the Sands Grill , which is very confusing, if they can produce exquisite food on the 4th floor , why can't they on the ground floor?

My other gripe is when they offer a beautiful double bed on their brochure it's a different story when you actually get into your room, it's two singles shoved together with a large concave ridge down the middle, a double bed is a double bed, two singles aren't the same!

All in all choose wisely, we felt robbed by the meal we had at the Sands and should have gone into the town, but if you get a deal don't let this put you off, it is a great place it's just a same not everything at the hotel lives up to expectation!

On another note the previous year we got the deal via itison we were able to pay £50 to eat at the Road Hole for two, this year this wasn't possible, sadly they moved the goalposts!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottishAL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Had an exceptionial night staying here and extra bonus we got upgraded from a "normal" room to an old course suite - amazing! Could not fault anything. Was met at the door by friendly door man who ushered is to reception only to be met with glass of proseco whilst we awaited our rooms. Receptionist was extremely helpful and personally showed us to our suites. Suites were amazing very spacious and had everything that you could possibly need. Will definiately be back for a small treat not so sure if we can afford the suite though!

Room Tip: We have stayed before in a normal room both overlooking the golf course and the main reception. Muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kensbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Friendly welcome from the door staff and pointed in the direction of the lifts for the fourth floor. Again a friendly face at the bar area and shown quickly to our table but we were offered a slightly better table closer to the window by our quick-witted waitress.
I'd like to be very enthusiastic about the whole experience but I felt it just fell a little flat, mainly due to the slightly disappointing sandwiches and pastries. The salmon and cheese worked well but the cucumber and cream cheese didn't. Similarly some of the pastries worked and others didn't. On a brighter note the spicy chai tea was superb, as was the coffee. The staff were great too and perfectly attentive and responsive to the couple of additional requests we made. At £19 per head I would say it was good value for the whole experience but it wasn't as special as it could have been.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigdug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel. It's beautifully appointed and the staff can't do enough for you. We spent one night here in the most amazing suite. It had a separate living room with little kitcheny bit (no cookers of course). The bedroom was enormous and well kitted out. The bathroom was the best bit, a huge tub even Mr. FF could fit into, a walk-in shower, double sinks and nice magnifying mirror to help you put your makeup on. The view was out over the golf course towards the sea and you could see the waves crashing into the shore. Just magic... We had 2 meals dinner and breakfast, both were very good. I will definitely come back. Oh, almost forgot the spa, I had a wonderful aroma therapy massage while Mr FF was working!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Fantafelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,201 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,286 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
496 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St. Andrews
676 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing