We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True luxury hotel, fabulous breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We truly enjoyed our stay at this classy luxury hotel. Our room was quite large and had a seating area with comfortable chairs. We overlooked the golf course and the water. Soon after our arrival, we ate in the hotel pub, "The Jigger". They accommodated our last minute reservation and found a small nook for us. Before our food arrived, they moved us to another larger table that had been vacated. The food was very tasty. It was great to see all of the golfing memorabilia in the halls. There were large photos of the early founders and players of golf and plaques of the previous winners of the British Open on that course. The golf shop had wonderful souvenirs with the St Andrews logo on them. The breakfast in the upstairs dining room was particularly good. The buffet had lox and wonderful croissants and cheeses, but you could also order waffles and porridge and other selections from the menu. The servers were very attentive. You could watch the golfers on the course from the dining room windows. We would be happy to return for another visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,603)
There are newer reviews for Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,045 - 1,051 of 1,603 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night with itison voucher. Excellent value for money and great experience. Check was very effecient - staff very helpful and enjoyed glass of bubbly after check in. Room wasn't ready when we arrived but this wasn't a problem as we could use facilities in the hotel until room was available. We stayed in a standard room which was lovely. Very comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. The Kohl Spa was great with a huge hot bath! Great fun! Breakfast was lovely with excellent choices, and what a view!! Overlooking the golf course. Fantastic. Dinner in Sands restaurant was excellent too. (See Restaurant review) Have to comment on the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. The receptionist Diane who escorted us to our room was so helpful and kind. This hotel was everything we thought it would be and cannot fault it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mentalmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Fantastic hotel and spa facilities in mostly stunning surroundings (try ignore outside the front). Ground floor room was both spacious and elegant, and the bed was up there with the most comfortable I have slept in.

All good so far, and well on course for 5* rating. The morning after kind of ruined things though. We got to breakfast at 10.15 (finishes at 11.00) and were greeted with a "with you shortly sir, it's kind of late for breakfast". Restaurant wasn't even busy. Got seated, tea and coffee came a good 10 minutes after this and after we had reminded them. Scrambled eggs had run out and took a further 10 mins to reproduce. Staff on the whole seemed a little stressed which was surprising given how quiet it was. All of this aside though, the food was very good.

Expressed disappointment on check out. Staff were helpful.

Oh and morning paper was requested but not delivered.

Room Tip: Request a golf course view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

There are many hotels in St. Andrews and we have stayed in many of them but the best is the old course. Great location. Old style values. Very clean. Very well organised. Helpful and friendly staff. Breakfast and dinner were equally good with attentive (mostly Scottish) staff. The spa is probably one of the best we have ever visited - the hot bath is so large, you can swim in it. Additional steam baths in the locker rooms. The only downside is the cost - but worth it in my opinion.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BettySwallocks69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I've just returned from an overnight stay at the Old Course Hotel and Spa and what can I say, it's everything you'd expect it to be - perhaps I was expecting more!

Our room was located on the first floor and overlooked the spa and rooftop hot tub. It was tastefully decorated and had a huge comfy bed. The bathroom had the largest bath tub I have ever seen in my life - our room felt 5*, unlike other parts of the hotel.

It's a beautiful hotel however, personally speaking there were areas which felt dated and tired even the carpet on the guest stairs from the spa to the rooms was badly worm. Something which wouldn't have expected given the reputation of the hotel!

Breakfast was superb and served on the forth floor restaurant, overlooking the golf courses. There was a hot and cold buffet selection as well as a la carte options available from the menu.

The spa is smaller than I expected it to be but had a good sized swimming pool, thermal suite, sauna and Japanese steam room and rooftop hot tub. It's very clean and tidy and there's plenty of bathrobes and towels available.

The staff were all extremely helpful and and the doorman was very cheerful!

Would I stay here again? Yes,

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proceed_to_departure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed at the Old Course Hotel in August 2013. The staff were great and couldn't have been more helpful. We were staying for a wedding and the food was unbelieveable (even when catering for over 150). We had breakfast in the Road Hole Restaurant both mornings and the selection was great - as was the view over the golf course. Our room was lovely - huge - and with a great bathroom - really deep bath and brilliant drench shower. We used the spa facilities and loved it - lovely robes and slippers provided by reception.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MrsNMEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Surprisingly I arranged to visit St Andrews as part of our holiday from Australia for its history - not the golf. My husband when told of where we had booked was more than happy. On arrival we were met by the pleasant Allister in his kilt, who told us our bags would be looked after and took us straight to reception. We were greated by Alison, who we later found out was the head of guest relations. She took us to our room, which I thought would be our fairway room. As we walked into the room Alison said welcome to your suite - what a surprise we were upgraded without asking. We walked inside and all my husband could see out the balcony window was the 17th fairway and new clubhouse. Once outside we could look up the 18th. The service and treatment we received was exceptional and when we returned from dinner there was a bottle of champagne and 2 cards (1 for my husbands birthday and the other for our anniversary). We stayed for 2 nights and the smiling and chatty conceirge Mike was always full of advice and a chat.

Room Tip: We were fortunate enough to be upgraded. Stayed in room 232 views of the 17th exceptional. Seperate...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewolf20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,299 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
506 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#13 of 17 in St. Andrews
681 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range: $242 - $539 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing