We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Every Way”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
388 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Perfect in Every Way”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Amazing fairway suites with opening floor to ceiling doors overlooking The Old Course, historic Jigger Inn, great Road Hole Bar with hundreds of Scotch selections and great golf course views, friendly staff, welcome drink and one of the best water spa's you will ever find with coed sauna and steam rooms, cold plunge pool, hot pool and lap pool. If you can't play, walk The Old Course on Sunday or after hours to get an appreciation of why this course is so difficult.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a fairway view. Fairway suites are truly amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoKidsWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,205
    211
    95
    23
    17
See reviews for
247
803
30
80
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A super 5 star experience! From the moment we arrived and were given a glass of champagne, we were well looked after. The rooms were lovely and spacious, with a nice view. I've marked the room down just very slightly because they were very hot and I couldn't get the room cooled down and because i didnt like the monsoon shower with pulsating hand held thing. We were staying as part of a wedding - the meal was outstanding, one of the best wedding meals I've ever had. And the view from the bar on the fourth floor was out of this world. We will definitely be going back again and definitely worth the money for the stay

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
246 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

If you took location alone, you must stay at this hotel; but the hotel itself is an absolutely fantastic experience and service is perfect. From the moment you arrive and are greeted by a Scotsman in kilt and coat, you just feel that this is going to be a wonderful experience. The rooms are spacious and have every known amenity. The fourth floor has great restaurants, bars and a view to die for. There is also a wonderful pub with outdoor seating overlooking the famous 17th hole. I just can't say enough good things about this hotel. Don't consider staying elsewhere in St Andrews. This hotel is worth every pence and an experience in its own right.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a36redbaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My 2 friends and myself had lunch yesterday in the Road Hole Restaurant. Wonderful. !
We had the best view in town and the bonus was the the Ladies Open was on
The service was second to none All young waiters who couldn't do enough for us "Old Dears". The food was delicious and very reasonable We'll be back Can't wait

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We enjoyed many things about our stay. The rooms have everything you need and an array of pillows. The bed was very comfortable. It was great to sit in the hot tub for a few minutes and relax. The breakfast was delicious and the view is terrific. We had very nice exchanges with all the Scots who work there. The Americans who work there are not as friendly and that was disappointing. We had some trouble getting our dinner served in a timely manner (at least an hour late). All in all we are happy to have stayed there because of the location and the history associated with the Old Course.

Room Tip: We liked our rooms on the south end of the building looking towards Swilken Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbcmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Have stayed here several times now and its a great place for a special occasion. Upgrade to a Fairway Suite and you wont be disappointed. This is a 5 star hotel and they have demonstrated that high level of service on a consistent basis. Well done to the team and keep up the good work, as we are already looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Fairway Suites are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayDeeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I visited the hotel on the off chance for lunch with a friend, and i must say the lunch in the Road Hole Restaurant was phenomenal value for money! We each had 3 courses at only £16.50!
The food and the service were outstanding, second to none, and the views over st andrews and the golf course are simply breath taking! I cannot wait until for my next visit!!!!

Room Tip: Views are spectacular, go for a table by the window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank V46Rossi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 16 in St. Andrews
3,067 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 16 in St. Andrews
1,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 16 in St. Andrews
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#3 of 16 in St. Andrews
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 16 in St. Andrews
668 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 16 in St. Andrews
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing