We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girls 40th birthday weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Girls 40th birthday weekend”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Stayed here on 23 March 2013 for 40th birthday treat with 5 friends on dinner, bed & breakfast deal. Great value. We had 'cheaper' Eden View rooms but they were still luxurious in every way. Manager left a 40th birthday card & bottle of prosecco for the birthday girl in our room. Also received complimentary birthday cake after dinner in the restaurant. Hotel is beautiful, staff & service superb and food was amazing. Breakfast buffet is probably the best I have ever had. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: If you can afford £3000 per night I am sure the big suites are amazing. However, on our budget we ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    206
    93
    23
    17
See reviews for
235
784
30
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Old Course this weekend on one of their spa packages and were not disappointed in any way. In particular I have to mention the outstanding service we received from every member of staff who were all welcoming and left us with a fantastic opinion of the hotel. This hotel is expensive but worth every penny and we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KipperScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed in The Old course Hotel in February this year, and for the first time in a long time I was wowed. On entering the hotel, we were greeted by lovely staff, both at the door and reception. I instantly felt at ease and noticing the immaculate appearance of the reception area, I had a feeling that the hotel would be second to none. I was right. The room, all be it facing onto the car park, was perfect. Spacious, clean and the bathroom was amazing.

We were very lucky to have freakishly great weather for this time of year, so our visit to the outstanding SPA was made even more extraordinary, by being able to use the roof hot tub (in FEBRUARY????) so surreal, but amazing. The SPA area, was by far the most impressive I have ever used. It was clean and luxurious. Everything was in working order.

We ate in the Jigger Inn, as it seemed appealing and quirky. My husband is fanatical about golf and it's history, and St Andrews has always been a very special place to us. So, with all the memorabilia around he was in his element. The Jigger Inn is such a charming little place. To look at it from the outside you wonder how it can possibly house tables and a bar, but it does, and very well. The service was great, and the food lovely. The fact that it's attached to the hotel through a link corridore is great. Again, loads of interesting golf facts and display cabinets for you to look at. We booked a table to be sure not to miss out, and I would probably recommend this as it was busy.

The bedroom was very comfortable. Nice temperature, quiet and very comfy bed. There was a safe which was easy to operate and robes should you want one. I am allergic to feathers and had asked for hypo allergenic bedding. Unfortuanately this had been accidentally overlooked, but one trip to reception and it was sorted without a problem by the very proffessional staff. The bath was huge, and the shower very modern.

In the morning, we went for breakfast. It was my husbands birthday, and despite loving the hotel, he had been a little dissappointed that our room didn't over look the golf course. By chance, our table at breakfst couldn't have been more special. We were right at the far window corner with beautiful panoramic views of the beach and the Old Course. It made his day. The breakfast was buffet style, with certain orders ie eggs cooked to your liking, brought to the table. The food was lovely again, and seemed well stocked.

After breakfast, we took a walk to the rooftop decking,and watched some golfers. Again, views stunning.

Overall, the hotel was clean, immaculately kept and the staff were very friendly and proffesional. I would have absolutely no reservations about returning or recommending it to a friend. In fact, I think that once you have stayed here you would find it a challenge to enjoy anywhere as much. We will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lillie82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minstrelbhoy
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We bought this deal with an itison voucher, paying £129 for bed and breakfast. This was apparently half price so seemed like a good deal.
On arrival, after parking in their huge car park we were met at the foyer by the concierge who carried our bags to the reception and later to our room.
We were greeted by the very professional staff, who offered us a glass of prosecco as we waited to be checked in, which took no time at all. Our room was an ‘Eden’ room which faced towards Fife and the car park, which didn’t bother us as it was a particularly unpleasant day so the view was not something we bothered about.
The room was a decent size, with a king size bed, a large flat screen tv, which offered all the sky channels and many more, it also offered complementary movies. The room also had a quality Bose cd/radio and a minibar. The bathroom was compact, but offered a very deep bath and a fantastic power shower. This was complemented with the numerous toiletries and fluffy dressing gowns and slippers.
The spa is very good indeed, it has lovely changing rooms which provide you with dressing gowns, towels and slippers. The spa has a swimming pool, steam room, sauna, indoor and outdoor hot tub and plunge pool. There is also a gym, which looks well equipped but we did not try this.
The breakfast was served in the fourth floor restaurant which overlooks the iconic 17th road hole, the views of the course and the west sands really are amazing. The breakfast was superb, with everything you could have wished for including an a la carte menu as well as a help yourself buffet, definitely something for everyone.
Negatives: the hotel is in my opinion getting a bit ‘dated’ the décor is a little drab and doesn’t look to have been updated for a long time. However, it certainly was worth the money we payed for it, but I don’t know if I would be prepared pay the full asking price.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, upgrade to the golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minstrelbhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed in a bog standard Eden View. Room was a decent size, giant bath and terrific shower. bed was big and comfy. Breakfast was really excellent, with terrific views over the 17th hole and the beach.

Food for the reception was really excellent, service was always attentive and helpful. Generally tried to accommodate any and all requests.

Ate in the Jigger - great bar food, good beers.

Room Tip: Even the most basic room was lovely, but looking out over the old course and the beach must be lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

My wife and I had a three day stay here in March. We have regular visits to St Andrews but on this occasion our No 1 choice (The Fairmont) was full so this was a second choice.

On the whole it lived up to its 5* reputation. Reception service on arrival was good – with free drink much appreciated – and with our luggage in our room when we got there.

We had an Eden double (not the sea view side) and it was large with a very comfortable king size bed. Everything worked as it was supposed to. The bathroom was a bit on the small side for us, and the bath/shower combination takes a bit of getting used to with complex controls. We’re tall, so getting into the deep tub was not a problem, but this might pose a problem for shorter people.

Breakfast on the fourth floor restaurant overlooking the golf course and sea was good, with a wide choice of fresh and cooked food, and attentive service.

We prefer dinner in independent restaurants rather than hotels so we ate dinner in several of the very good restaurants up town. There’s such a great selection in St Andrews that you don’t need to put up with the more expensive food, wine and service in the big hotels. Thus we can’t comment on dining at this hotel.

So, how does this hotel compare to the Fairmont? Pretty much on a par we thought. The Old Course wins on location and view – the town is easily within walking distance whereas the Fairmont is several miles out of town – but we thought that the rooms and particularly the bathrooms in the Fairmont are better.

Food, service, comfort and facilities were on a par also but the Fairmont is generally cheaper (with deals). On the whole a tough choice but we think the Fairmont just shades it for overall value for money. But there’s not much in it and we would certainly stay at the Old Course again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimmcc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Everything about this hotel is top class. Very warm welcome at check in with complimentary fizz, fantastic views over one of the best locations in Scotland and excellent staff. If I could afford to come back here, I would but unfortunately I think this will be my one and only night at the old course.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
2,975 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St. Andrews
1,099 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
1,230 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
654 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing