We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2013

A classic hotel and the best in the area. Expensive but worth it if you can afford it. Get the afternoon tea experience, probably not the champagne one as this is too expensive, unless you are set on making a statement. Tea is held on th 4th floor with fabulous views over the links and the beach.

Stayed: February 2013
Thank BettySwallocks69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,210 - 1,216 of 1,621 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a most enjoyable stay over Christmas at this wonderful hotel where our every wish was catered for. The room, Eden Suite, was very spacious and the bathroom had a wonderfully deep spa bath and three showers in total. For my husband who was in wheelchair the shower had had a special chair placed in it and a grab handle attached to the wall. The bed was extremely comfortable and everything we required was there. My husband fell out of his wheelchair (no, he wasn't over imbibing!) and two stalwart gentlemen appeared almost immediately to help him back into it.
Dinner on out first evening was excellent with delightful staff in the restaurant and Christmas lunch was well served although it may be that we chose badly by sticking to a traditional Christmas lunch.
It was a delight to come across a well trained staff who were very friendly without being familiar. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We now have an annual visit to the Old Course Hotel for my husbands birthday but we were lucky enough to have another cheeky overnight stay with friends through a fantastic itison offer.
First time we have stayed in an Eden room and although you don't have the same views as you do with an Old Course room our suite they are still very luxurious and nice to look over towards the practice ranges and of course out of the front of the hotel.
Meal in "Sands" was once again exceptional and once we retired to the Road Hole Bar we had a lovely relaxing drink in wonderful surroundings.
Can't wait to return in April.....

Room Tip: If you are planning on spending time in your room then go for an Old Course room our Suite, if not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cocoben2306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I would like to thank all the staff for the excellent service during our recent Internet deal short break.The hotel was busy with couples like us who perhaps wouldn't patronise expensive establishments and all of the staff we met were extremely helpful, saying they were glad to see the hotel busy in the low season.Those hotels whom I have read have not treated budget break guests well need to follow the example set by the Old Course; special offers benefit visitors and businesses; The Old Course sold 1000 special breaks via Itison. From this everyone benefited , including other businesses in St Andrews and Fife.

Room Tip: For a standard room with a good bit of sea view pick 318. From there you can get down the back stair...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday at the end of January. We were in an Eden room which had nice views, a comfy superking bed and loads of storage space. The luxurious bathroom had a huge deep bath complete with waterfall tap and two showers.

You can tell it's a cut above your average hotel. The staff can't do enough to help. We asked for a dvd player (which isn't standard in the rooms) and that was no problem at 9pm. We brought our 8 month old son and the hotel were extremely accomodating. He was given a complimentary "Old Course Hotel" teddy (complete with mini robe!), as well as his own special toiletries - baby oil, shampoo and top-to-toe wash. When we took him to the pool the staff, without being asked, brought out a little inflatable to help him enjoy the water. I didn't expect it to be just so child-friendly so I was very impressed.

The health club is amazing - lovely big pool, huge jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and even an outdoor hot-tub. The restaurants are great too. We ate in the Road Hole and Sands restaurant and both were excellent and, again, very accomadating re highchairs, heating up baby milk etc.

I would, without a doubt, recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to St Andrews but I would particularly say that there is no need to worry about bringing a young child to the hotel. They go out of their way to make things as easy and relaxing as possible.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoanneMcDowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

We returned to this wonderful hotel at New Year for a short relaxing stay. In our opinion it is simply the best hotel in Scotland. From the moment you drive up to the main door and are greeted by the Commissionaire in his Scottish attire you feel that you have arrived at a special place and that you are going to be looked after in style. You alight from your car, it is 'valet parked', your luggage is taken care of and as you walk in to the hotel you are handed a glass of sparkling wine as you check in.

The staff are so courteous and professional, your every wish is their command.

The hotel is luxurious, rooms are very spacious with wonderful views out over the Old Course.
Room service is excellent, food brought in on a special table and delightfully served.
The dining room also has superb views and food, wine and service are all of a very high quality.
The spa is wonderful , both relaxing and invigorating depending on your wish, and the outdoor jacuzzi is worth a visit.

Even a short stay here leaves you feeling relaxed and pampered.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking out over the Old Course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The Old Course is an icon in St Andrews and you pay a premium for this but it's worth a stay for the views over the Old Course. I was surprised to learn this is a 5 star, I would have said 4 star myself. A table booking in the restaurant hadn't been passed on and the beds are super soft but otherwise a solid quality hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laup B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
514 reviews
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#9 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 17 in St. Andrews
1,171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#12 of 17 in St. Andrews
687 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range: $213 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing