We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel and Scottish Weather Was Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hotel and Scottish Weather Was Fabulous!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here with other couples for golf, spa and fun. In combination with The Old Course Experience (a great company itself) we had a fantastic visit……and the weather even cooperated. The hotel has a marvelous location adjacent to the Old Course 17th tee/fairway and also overlooks the New Course, Jubilee Course and the wide beach. We had a front room with view on opposite side from the North Sea and golf courses, but were still very happy looking over the driving range and countryside. Wife loved the spa, we had a great breakfast in the dining room every day and we joined friends in the bar on the top floor overlooking the Old Course most evenings. The staff was extremely professional and personable. The hotel is very well appointed and clean. A very short walk takes you into the very charming town of St. Andrews – which has great shopping, restaurants, pubs and architecture. Will stay here again on next visit (hopefully soon). Planned for chilly, rain and wind……got mild, sunny and some wind. How does St. Andrews and the Old Course Hotel do it?

Room Tip: Spend the money for a room on the highest floor you can get overlooking the North Sea - you will get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    206
    93
    23
    17
See reviews for
235
784
30
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
iowa
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

2nd time in 15 months i have stayed here. maginificent in all respects- location, staff, food, cleanliness, facilities. a world class experience. we had a suite which had a full sized living room, and huge bedroom and bathroom. ocean view, course view, of course. The breakfast buffet is lavish beyond words and the international staff is first rate.

Room Tip: face the course
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Relative to all hotels, it is much better than average, but relative to first class hotels, it was not exceptional. That said, I suspect it is by far the best in St. Andrews. A very nice, newish hotel in a sort of classic, homogenized style with spectacular views over the Old Course and the sea beyond. Pretty common areas and spectacular setting. Our room was not ready by check-in time but was available by 3:30. We were upgraded into a modern and very spacious suite which looked over a large, abysmally tacky metal roof. If you looked beyond the roof, the view was grand. The air conditioning did not work in our sitting room and was not corrected after a request. However, the management made an adjustment accordingly. Our room was directly over a banquet room; we could hear the band's words when they sang for a Friday night event. Thankfully, the music stopped at midnight. The room was comfortable (notwithstanding the heat issue) and very clean. I personally prefer a more classic style when travelling to classic destinations but still it was nicely done. Staff was very friendly and made an effort to be so. The people were probably the hotel's high point. Breakfasts in the 4th floor dining room were delightful. Best surprise: the Old Course is closed to golfers on Sundays so we were able to walk the entire course without dodging players and it was wonderful fun to share the course with other walkers and lots of cute, happy dogs chasing balls.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel P, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Old Course Hotel.

I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your visit to St. Andrews and The Old Course Hotel. I would like to take this opportunity to apologise for your late check-in and for the failure of the air conditioning unit in your room, whilst we were unable to rectify the problem during your stay this has now been fixed. I am delighted that you recognised the high quality of our staff, which we are very proud of.

I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Resort and demonstrate the high levels of service for which we are known.

Kind regards,

Daniel Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

From the moment we arrived(started with complimentary glass of fizz),we were looked after by extremely professional and friendly staff.Hotel is just fabulous,rooms and beds are so good.Food in the Sands restaurant was excellent as was breakfast.We played golf at the Dukes course which is a top class course but enjoyable for all levels of golfer.Hotel staff transported us to the course and sorted us out with a buggy,then after our round and a few drinks,they picked us up again and took us back to the hotel,we felt like real golfers!!The hotel has excellent bars,a fantastic spa and a magnificent rooftop terrace where you can watch golfers on the Old Course teeing off from the 17th tee,quite a few shots end up going over or into the roof,it's great fun to watch.The hotel also has it's own pub,the 'Jigger Inn' where you can quench your thirst with a pint or two after your round.Easy walk into St Andrews from hotel so no need to drive so everyone can relax.Can't wait for next visit to this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finavon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Just spent 3 lovely days at Old Course.Luxury,value for money,comfort and relaxation.
The hotel and staff just improve with each visit. I had a birthday this visit and everyone made an extra effort.
The food was exceptional this time and I notice a real improvement in all areas since my last visit.Kohler spa was a superb experience and my husband and I loved the open air tub...bracing east coast air tho!!
Looking forward to the next wee break!!

Room Tip: Views over the course
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

we booked a special deal for £300 that included 2 nights B&B with dinner in the Sands restaurant on one night. it was our anniversary weekend and the hotel made it very special for us. on arrival we were offered a glass of bubbly, we got to our room and there was a welcome back card (we had stayed once before - about 3 years ago!) and strawberries with chocolate dipping sauce! then we were brought champagne, canapes and an anniversary card, and our bed was made up with rose petals! the room was beautiful, service was expemplary, meal in the Sands was excellent, spa so relaxing, and even the weather held out for us! on the 2nd day we had breakfast later on (11am) in the room for only £3 pp extra. we would highly recommend. St Andrews is a beautiful town, and the Old Course Hotel is just fantastic!

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely, of course if you can afford the extra then go for a golf view, but even the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Yvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
halifax
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2012

stayed at St. Andrews old course hotel with my family in late August.Can only describe my stay as fantastic-great food, lovely room and a bed to die for!! The breakfast was amazing with great selection,something for everyone.I think where they really shine, is their service to their guests.From the wait staff at the restaurants,housekeeping,check in desk etc,they go above and beyond to assure you are totally satisfied with your stay there.Well done management for putting together a great team that strives for excellence!!

Room Tip: Great town to walk about,lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilyHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.5 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
2,975 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St. Andrews
1,099 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
1,230 reviews
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
654 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Jetsetter, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing