We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury! Beautiful views and wonderful service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Luxury! Beautiful views and wonderful service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Our stay here was lovely. The staff are great, the food tasty and the rooms luxurious and comfortable.

The views from all around the hotel are gorgeous.

My only criticism is the cost of the spa treatments. Although the facilities are excellent - great pool, gym etc, the treatments aren't great value. Maybe better to wander into the town to a nearby salon.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_bay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,163
    206
    93
    23
    16
See reviews for
233
782
31
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We never stated at the hotel but did go for Christmas lunch. The food was fantastic and excellent value for money. The staff were friendly and had a great Christmas atomosphere. Would definately eat there again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neecie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed here for two nights over Christmas with our two young children. The first thing to be aware of is this is a five star hotel with five star prices. There's no avoiding that. That said, if you have the means, I'd heartily recommend a stay here.

It's fair to note that most five star properties tend to tolerate children. The Old Course Hotel welcomed our two tiny terrors with open arms (our boys are busy, busy, busy). Santa piped us into reception on arrival the afternoon of Christmas Eve. The doorman was at our vehicle in seconds to assist with our (many) bags which were whisked to our room. While checking in a manager came out to greet us and toured us around the entire hotel before taking us to our beautiful, large room.

The rooms are large and elegantly decorated. The bathrooms are gorgeous with a huge soaker/whirlpool tub and glassed in shower. The bed was very comfortable with top quality linens, as you would expect. Our older (toddler) son slept on a pull out sofa (the most comfortable one I've ever encountered) while our youngest slept in a cot. There was lots of room for everybody, plus all the luggage and gifts, without ever feeling cramped at all.

The hotel had set up a games/play room for children in their conservatory. This was fantastic for kids of all ages (I'd guilty of a bit of bowling on the Wii they'd arranged) and was just another reason that the hotel was hitting all the marks.

The food was over the top. The quality of the breakfast was the best I've encountered in a fair bit of global travel. The Christmas lunch was a nap inducing indulgence. It was wonderful. The dinners were also fantastic both nights. Lots of little extras were included (Champagne, Christmas crackers, Santa with presents for the kiddies at Christmas lunch).

The small touches were what really topped it all off. Santa came by on Christmas morning with presents for each of the kids. Two treat bags were dropped off on Christmas Eve for the reindeer (each containing a carrot and sugar cubes for the reindeer and mince pie and a bottle of whisky for Santa) as well as a glass of wine for Mom and Dad.

The location of the hotel is quite special, particularly for golfers (think, 16th fairway, Old Course). It's a hop across the golf course to the beach and a 5 minute walk to the village. We walked the village on a blustery Christmas Eve and it was the most quaint place you can imagine.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdnmojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

What a view, great service and fantastic facilities, which made our Christmas experience very special. The hotel has an amazing location with great views over the golf course and beach and yet only a five minute walk to the town centre. The Road Hole bar situated on the fourth floor was just perfect with roaring log fires and spectacular views. The jigger Inn was a real gem, oozing in character and warmth. The staff however make this hotel quite unique. In every department of the hotel the staff where outstanding and very friendly and helpful which is frequently lacking in hotels today. Breakfast is not to be missed, you must must!!! eat of the A la carte menu, YUM.

Room Tip: The views overlooking the golf course and the beach are not to be missed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

Me and the other half have endured each other for 30 years so we thought we deserved some kind of prize and awarded ourselves a stay in- a never could normally afford to stay here- hotel. When we stepped into the old traditional large reception area i thought gosh wish i had brought better luggage and married a smarter dressed man. That was my one and only negative thought of the whole two night stay which included dinner on one evening, breakfast on both days. a massage for us both and full use of the spa. The staff attented to our evey wish and their approach was always warm. Right from the start they made you feel you belonged there. They managed to always be available and never imposing. The room was huge and had a bath which was like a mini jacuzzi. The food in the restaurant overlooking the golf course was a real treat for the taste buds. The massage was great once my hubby (who muttered about he would be happier with a pint and a read at the paper) got over the experience of being put in a white robe and slippers with other similarly clad people awaiting in pleasant surroundings their individual treatments in private rooms he was eventually much more relaxed. Remaining chilled throughout the whole use of luxurious spa facilities. We where two minutes from a beautiful beach which we never saw because we had all that we wanted at the hotel and someone wanted to get their monies worth. The only thing that we did have to think about was tipping. Not having stayed places where someone helped you with your bags and came sraight away when the remote control needed new batteries and delivered food to the room. We had the task of guessing should we tip,and how much not to be silly or tight. This was down to us as there appeared no expectation. So we decided after evening meal we tipped as we would when eating out at other times 3 pounds semmed adequate. We did not tip breakfast or room cleaning staff. It was i know entirely up to guests but for us that can be a bit of a pain trying not to cause offence. Even after adding lunch and drinks on to the room service in total we paid juas over 700 pounds. Maybe you could think its all covered by the cost but it was the thoughtful extras at no billed cost that was most impressive, the complimentary wine in our room when we mentioned the occassion. The room being tidied when we stepped out to eat, petals on the pillow, srawberries dipped in chocolate and a card with best wishes. Attention to detail and thoughtful first calss service makes me want to think of a good reason for us to stay there all over again. We were both so delighted with the experience that the joy of the occasion lasted all the way home. Only another 10 years to go to have reason to go again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sankennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Spent three nights at the Old Course Hotel between Christmas & New Year with husband and two teenage daughter's. Our overall experience was fantastic, we could not find fault with anything, staff were very friendly and helpful, room was clean, beds comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. Spa is very good with well equipt gym, good size pool also steam room, rooftop hot tub etc. This hotel is in a good location, easy access to town and beach. We would recommend this hotel, and hope to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Potter4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Booked two rooms for a three night Christmas package to give both our mums a Christmas treat, sadly one was unable to join us after undergoing a hip replacement operation. We arrived on Christmas eve, piped into the hotel by Santa, efficient friendly reception check in. A choir was singing Christmas carols in the bar so headed straight to this with our welcome drink of mulled wine, the bar was warmed with log fires burning and the voices of the choir really made a festive start to our break. One room was an Old Course room with views towards the R & A with a small balcony, but high winds made it impossible to even contemplate opening the doors, the other an Eden Room on the entrance side of the hotel, both rooms being on level 3, all as requested in our booking.
The rooms are all as described by others, I would agree with comments in some reviews on the size of the bathrooms, the bathroom sizes are small for a hotel of this stature.
Dinner on first night was enjoyed in the Sands. Christmas breakfast and all our breakfasts were enjoyed in the Road Hole Grill, service at all times exceptional.
Christmas lunch was again in the fine Road Hole Grill and was a highlight of our break, retiring to the bar to relax with views over North Sea a truly exceptional location. A buffet meal was provided on Christmas evening again within the Road Hole Grill.
The Spa is a must to visit, again eceptionally friendly welcoming staff, great facilities and well maintained.
Throughout the hotel staff are out to please and it's this attitude that really delivers a five star service. Yes, we will return for another Christmas at the Old Course Hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the Old Course Rooms in preference to the Eden Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank postcard13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
28.9 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,936 reviews
29.3 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
29.4 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
29.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
28.5 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
Address: Old Station Road, St. Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St. Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsClick, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotel.de, Jetsetter, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing