We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Sunday brunch!”
Review of Hotel Du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Du Vin
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Sunday brunch!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Went to the hotel for Sunday brunch, 4courses for £22.95! Plenty of choice and fantastic customer service! They had a French market table with fresh fish, breads and meats. Such a lovely meal and will definitely be back. Niamh and Zoe were great.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmaalkirwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDVST , General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed having Sunday brunch with us at Hotel du Vin St Andrews.

We strive to exceed our customers' expectations by providing exceptional service and fantastic food and I am glad to hear that your experience was nothing less than you would expect from Hotel du Vin.

I hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Niall Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    133
    47
    19
    13
See reviews for
98
251
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Had an excellent 4 course Sunday lunch with family today there were 10 of us in party and the food, service were all excellent. Understand only opened this month but could not tell service very slick with excellent friendly staff and food was extremely good will defo be going back

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyPerth_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDVST , General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your delightful feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your lunch with us. We hope to welcome you back to Hotel du Vin St Andrews in the near future.

Kind Regards, Niall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NI
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Loved everything about this hotel. Beautiful interior, rooms lovely. Facilities fabulous. Breakfast so good and rounded off by the perfect view out to sea. One issue was heat in room overnight and as our room was technically reachable from outside I didn't want to open the sash window. Will definitely return!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brookville50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDVST , General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback; I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards, Niall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Decided to book a couple of nights at the new Hotel du Vin in St. Andrews following a fantastic recent trip to the HDV in York. I wish we hadn't bothered. Booked to stay 2 nights DBB in the Old Tom Morris room. On arrival it was clear the hotel was experiencing some teething problems, having just opened a few weeks previously - workmen coming and going, less than confident service and further decorating required. Disappointingly some of the basics didn't seem to be in place, for instance carpets needing to be hoovered and lots of cigarette ends outside the hotel's main steps. Room itself was okay, large and with a nice bed and bathroom, albeit bathroom fan was extremely loud and always on when light was on. Nice coffee from machine in room but no milk provided, plus one of the cans in the mini bar had been opened then hidden at back. Dinner in evening was decent enough - tasty food and friendly service. Sadly, on returning to room we realised the sound-proofing in room was non-existent, with music from downstairs continuing until 1am making for a shocking night's sleep. Room also very warm - surprised that, in this day and age, there was no air-con in room. Hotel offered to move us to another room the next morning, which we agreed to. Two problems... First off, they told us they couldn't move us for a few hours as maintenance work on the wooden floor in the room was required and it needed to dry. They then agreed to cancel this work. When we did get to the room, the Young Tom Morris room on 3rd floor (via stairs as lift was out, being "maintained"), we decided it wasn't acceptable - not a great room, with hairs on the toilet seat not giving a good sense of cleanliness. So, for the first time ever, we left midway through a hotel stay and headed home. All in all, a truly dreadful experience. It is clear this hotel opened its doors way too early and, as a consequence, it is now playing catch-up, to the detriment of the guests' experience. No way I would ever return to this hotel, and would think twice about returning to another HDV. For anyone wanting to visit this hotel I'd suggest waiting a few months until the teething problems are resolved.

Room Tip: Higher floors will be quieter from noise / music in public areas of hotel; parking at front of hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NB-Traveller1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDVST , General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your stay with us.

I was disappointed to read that your experience did not match your expectations on this occasion, and would be keen to discuss this in further detail with you.

Please contact me on niall.thompson@hotelduvin.com or on 01334 472611. I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards

Niall Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We've just returned from a one night stay at the newly opened Hotel du Vin & Bistro in St Andrews. We were visiting the Uni as a family so had two rooms between us. Although the hotel had only been open for two weeks (they are still painting and decorating a bit) we were really impressed by the friendly and efficient service of the staff there. The rooms were excellent, very modern with super comfy beds. We had rooms over-looking West Sands so the views were stunning. The breakfast was excellent as was our evening meal. We liked it so much we stopped by for lunch before leaving St Andrews and enjoyed a great bar meal of fish & chips and croque monsieur - delicious! The hotel probably isn't the best for small children as it feels quite 'grown up' but it is opposite the beach... Overall I'd highly recommend this hotel and imagine that the other hotels nearby will need to up their game. The only downside...the food is a little pricey.

Room Tip: Superior sea view rooms are good and the Young Tom Morris suite on the third floor is roomy, has a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suequ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDVST , General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful feedback; I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards, Niall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We love St.Andrews, where I was born many years ago,so when we received a flyer about this new Hotel we decided to give it a try...we like Hotel du Vin brand. The booking process was a battle , probably because St. Andrews was not yet functioning but we persevered and eventually also managed to book dinner too. The location is magnificent and the decor is typical of the Group....strikingly attractive if a little dark. Our room faced the sea and was very pleasant, although a dripping shower, no receptacles for soap etc. in the shower,two failed light bulbs,and no dressing table or mirror for my wife to apply make-up and so on was rather irritating. Dinner Menu looked great and although my wife's Scallops and the lobster were good, alas my mussels were stewed to tasteless and the steak which followed was inedible. There were problems with the wine too....being told,in error by a waiter that the wine we had ordered was not good enough to be allowed to breathe,and would not benefit from a decanter is inexcusable. His later apologies were profuse and his offer to waive the £82 charge was generous, if a bit late in the day. The gen. Managerwas also very apologetic and said there would be no charge for the unacceptable food.
Alas the next day the wine had been charged, apparently on the instruction of the GM, without reference to me! Our omelettes At breakfast were a bit leathery and the plastic attitude of the receptionist disappointing to say the least. In fact the only saving grace for our stay was the smile and TLC of a delightful waitress called Zoe.
Much snagging to be corrected and a mountain to climb in terms of food and service/attitude.

Room Tip: Sea facing is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DJM-JBM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDVST , General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback of your experience with us.

I was disappointed to read that your experience did not match to your expectations on this occasion, and would be keen to discuss this in further detail with you.

Please contact me on niall.thompson@hotelduvin.com or on 01334 472611. I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind Regards

Niall Thompson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We decided to try the newly opened Hotel du Vin in St Andrews, as we are regular users of this group of hotels, and we love to visit St Andrews. We are really glad we did, the room we had (jr suite, Highland park) had a truly stunning view of St Andrews Bay and Beach and was appointed to the usual standards and style one expects from boutique hotels. The Bistro served good food, with an excellent wine list, and again views across St andrews bay are available.

I will save my highest praise for the staff, they were still coming to terms with the ropes, but they were universally a wonderfully friendly and welcoming lot. I hesitate to single anyone out, but Paul who worked front of house was great.

Room Tip: Any room at the front affords great views across the spectacular Bay, we had highland Park and is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Osker17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HDVST , General Manager at Hotel Du Vin, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for your lovely feedback; I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future to enjoy our views and hospitality.

Kind Regards, Niall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
3.1 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,011 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#10 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Du Vin

Property: Hotel Du Vin
Address: 40 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9AS, Scotland (Formerly St. Andrews Golf Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in St. Andrews
#9 Romantic Hotel in St. Andrews
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Andrews Hotel
Hotel Du Vin St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing