We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bell Craig Guest House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in St. Andrews
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Greyfriars Inn(St. Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kinnettles Hotel(St. Andrews)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Vardon House(St. Andrews)
View Hotel
Hazelbank Hotel(St. Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Russell Hotel(St. Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Du Vin(St. Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ardgowan Hotel(St. Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Dunvegan Hotel(St. Andrews)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
40
22
11
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
22
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbreakfast was freshly cookedfamily roomcommon roomuniversityandrews
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 78 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed in several B & B's in Scotland, England and Spain and Bell Craig was not among the best. The rooms were clean, but cramped and we couldn't close the toilet/bathroom sliding door at all, which was embarrassing if someone came to the door of the room. Breakfast gave the impression that food was rationed, with very little laid out in the way of fruit and cereal ( one day there were 2 bananas and 3 prunes in the bowl). The staff were not unfriendly but one would have had to have been a brave soul to complain. I believe the location, close to St Andrews golf course, is the reason continues to charge the rates it does, as its hard to see how it is 4 star.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylanne_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipeter1, Owner at Bell Craig Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2011

I am very sorry you were not happy with your stay at the Bellcraig
I Have spoken with Hazel who was working when you were there.Sorry you felt the room was cramped but you must remember they are old houses snd they don't have huge rooms?????
as for breakfast we always have four cereals,cheeses fresh and dried fruits.segments and prunes you also have a menu to choose a cooked breakfast from (we do not ration our food)guests can have as much as they want.I do not understand what you mean by you would have to be a brave person to complain if you had a complaint you should have spoke to a member of staff who would have dealt with it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We found pros and cons with Bell Craig. The biggest pro was the location (good to visit St Andrews on foot). The room we were in was a bit cramped (room 7), with strange sliding doors - e.g. bathroom door that was sliding and didn't lock.

The welcome pack was sparse - one page from the website and some contact numbers.

The breakfast was okay, but the selection from the breakfast "buffet" was very limited and the staff a bit glum (not rude, but not particularly friendly).

On arrival, we were greeted with a rather unusual "you're cutting it fine" (we struggled to park with the roadworks outside and had a wedding to get to), but the same lady was much more friendly on our departure.

We were given 2 sets of keys, which could have been useful, although chuckled when she said "in case you come back separately"!

All in all, we had a reasonable stay, but this is definitely a 3 star experience, not a 4 star. They say location is everything, which keeps this place in the "good value" category, but we wouldn't go there for a romantic mini-break!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Two night stay in order to visit our son. Location very good for the town, golf and beach. Staff friendly and very accommodating, food good and well presented, room clean and comfortable. Happy to recommend and hope to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Great Location. Walking distance to everything in St. Andrews. Hazel allowed us to store my daughter's bags downstairs prior to her moving into her dorm. The room's are very nice and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast's are generous and tasty!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmplunkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This was our second stay at the Bell Craig and even nicer than last year. Hazel organised early breakfast for us on the days we needed it , good choice on the menu. The larger of the family rooms is great although the bathroom is tiny but in this period of house I would not expect anything else. Fantastic location right in the heart of things. All round great time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kollbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews