We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hazel Looked after us very well lovely stay”

Bell Craig Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bell Craig Guest House
Ranked #54 of 73 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This was our second stay at the Bell Craig and even nicer than last year. Hazel organised early breakfast for us on the days we needed it , good choice on the menu. The larger of the family rooms is great although the bathroom is tiny but in this period of house I would not expect anything else. Fantastic location right in the heart of things. All round great time.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kollbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 76 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2011

Stayed here to play golf at the Old Course, very convenient location, only 400 yards from the first tee, the room was very clean and the landlady was very helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hudders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

The Bell Craig House was perfect for the golf trip my son and I took to Scotland. Hazel, who keeps the home, was especially gracious, making sure we had a breakfast available to us, even though we had tee times before the regular breakfast time. The normal breakfast was always good -- and was served in an attractive room.

The room we had was small, but clean, and the beds were very comfortable. Additionally, they had a locked room for our clubs. It was really perfect for what we needed. Plus, it was affordable and just a three minute walk to the Old Course.

I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickey4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2011

Helpful host. Room comfortable and well decorated. Wifi reception poor but able to connect. Breakfast average. Free parking available in nearby carpark. Walk to St Andrews.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunlight21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

We stayed for one night and had two rooms recently. The rooms were very small - as if the normal size bedrooms had been divided into two. We asked to move rooms as there was no hot water to wash/shower. Eventually were allowed to move and it was the same in the second room. Our hostess didn't seem happy we'd complained! Breakfast was fine. Glad we were just there the one night. Really don't think it is a 4*.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronatmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheila40, Owner at Bell Craig Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2011

I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at BELLCRAIG
Feed back i got from my assistant Hazel was that you had no hot water
all our showers are electric so you get instant hot water
Hazel changed your room for you she then had to go and service the first room you were in as you had used the shower.toiletries and towels????
The second room you were given you were still not happy
again you said there was no hot water and kept asking for a discount.i believe Hazel gave you a £10 discount
The water in that room was also hot i believe you did not pull the switch for hot water
Breakfast you have a menu for that and you can choose whatever you want of it
i do not think it is fair to say we are a not a four star i have spent a lot of money and time
upgrading the property
As for the rooms they are not one room divided into two it is an old victorian building
so the rooms are not massive but adequate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Joan and I stayed at bell Craig for a full week. We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone travelling in Fife/Scotland from anywhere in the world. The decor was fabulous. Hazel was an excellent 'host' and the other staff could not be more helpful and courteous. The breakfasts were delicious and filling.

Room Tip: All of the rooms is equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernardandJoan86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

My husband, son and I just got back from a wonderful week's stay at the Bell Craig Guest House in St. Andrews, Scotland. We stayed on the second floor in Room #2, one of the family rooms. The room. like the rest of the Guest House, is tastefully decorated and spotless. I loved the fact that it smelled as clean as it looked. Both of the beds, a queen and a single, are very comfortable and for my part, I slept like a babe. Breakfast is served in a sun-lit dining room. The menu is varied and delicious.

As for its location, the Bell Craig is situated half a block from North Street, one of St. Andrews three principal streets. This means that we were spared any noise of heavy traffic but were nevertheless only a ten-minute or less walk away from the beaches, golf courses, university buildings and downtown restaurants or shopping. The owners, Sheila and Sandy, are warm and pleasant and Hazel is simply great . Whenever we asked for her help, she went the extra mile, whether to map out for us how to get somewhere, give my husband and me access to a phone to get hold of our son or furnish us with an extra umbrella in a downpour. In fact, the friendliness of everyone at the Bell Craig is such that the day our son graduated from the University of St. Andrews, they surprised him with a congratulatory card. What a lovely gesture! This was our first stay at the Bell Craig but we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Estrellita90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
688 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hoppity House
Hoppity House
#15 of 73 in St. Andrews
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kinburn Guest House
Kinburn Guest House
#28 of 73 in St. Andrews
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Five Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place
#17 of 73 in St. Andrews
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairways of St Andrews
Fairways of St Andrews
#7 of 73 in St. Andrews
253 reviews
0.5 mi away
Braeside House
Braeside House
#41 of 73 in St. Andrews
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Craig Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Craig Guest House

Address: 8 Murray Park, St. Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Price Range: $53 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Bell Craig Guest House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing