We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for exploration”
Review of West Park House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Park House
Ranked #69 of 73 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 30, 2013

St Andrews is a relatively small place but there's lots to see round about it. Therefore, since your guest house or hotel is only going to be somewhere to sleep it makes sense to try out the cheapest option available. West Park House fits the bill –– although nothing in St Andrews is "cheap" it's relatively low-priced. We were only able to book a twin room with no en-suite, which I think is the first time in 20 years of travelling I've stayed in a room without a bathroom. It wasn't a terrible hardship but I'd certainly avoid it if possible in the future. The room was well-decorated, the owners were very welcoming and full of suggestions, and it's in a great location. They don't offer any breakfast or meal options, but they gave us a list of places to try (all within a few minutes' walk) and we weren't disappointed. We'd certainly consider staying again –– but we'd book an en-suite room next time.

Room Tip: It's worth getting an en-suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 37 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed here is September 2013 and it was very clean, very nice room. There are lots of breakfast choices close by. We were extremely comfortable here; the beds were very big and excellent mattress, the best on our stay. The host’s recommendations were excellent and we followed on the food choices which were just great. This had a Great warm feel. Parking was not an issue and easy to access. Thanks for everything Rick and Denise :)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickandDenise9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A very nice and friendly place to stay. The owners were very nice and accommodating to us. The room was large with a comfortable bed and nice ensuite bathroom. we had a wonderful time just walking around the town with the famous golf course, abbey and university. We got to talk to the locals in the local pub and it was very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Stay in the top of the house with the larger rooms, its worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesyoung2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I will be heading to Saint Andrews again in the next few months and I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. This will be my fifth trip to SA. For those that are coming for the first time, you should know that accommodation largely falls into two groups: luxury hotels and B&B / Guest Houses. There are a few places that fall outside those categories - but not many. I have stayed at a few and my regular 'go to' choice now is West Park.

West Park House location is near perfect. Located in town, its walking distance to the Uni, the castle, shopping, cafes and the golf museum / old course. Rooms are exceedingly clean and well appointed. Several folks have mentioned no breakfast is offered. Com'on! Coffee is available in room and there are lots of restaurants and coffee shops within a block. I would rather eat somewhere different each morning - like starting the day at Mitchell's gourmet a block away! The owners are exceedingly accommodating, friendly and helpful. It would take a great deal of effort to have me stay anywhere else. I highly recommend WPH.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Arrived to this cosy little house late in the afternoon and was greeted by friendly staff. The room was nice and had a good standard, both with the room it self and the bathroom as it was new and modern. The location is great but unfortunately the didn't offer breakfast. Never the less, the staff recommended a very nice places to eat, both for dinner and breakfast. The only down side of this accommodation was that we found somebody else's hair on the duvet. I'm not sensitive to that but still, it does not represent a perfect stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evelina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

West Park House is a really nice guesthouse located in the center of St. Andrews with really lovely decorated rooms (we had a twin room). Also, Joseph, our host, was very friendly and helpful - we had a really nice stay in St. Andrews. It's a pitty they don`t serve breakfast, because I`m sure it would be great judging by the quality of all the rest, but the main streets of St. Andrews are just around the corner, so you can easily grab a bite after your first coffee in bed.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunny_on_a_mission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Place is very small with only 6 rooms but they are very nice and uniquelly decorated. We had four rooms which were all very different but very nice. Rooms are recently renovated and everything works well.

There is no restaurant or reception. Atmosphere is warm and welcoming. Hosting couple arevery nice and down-to-earth people.

Location is very good in the end of market street. It is merely three minutes walk to The Old Course and shops start from next block.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tapi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
6.6 mi away
Drumoig Golf Hotel
Drumoig Golf Hotel
#1 of 1 in Drumoig
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
5.3 mi away
The Inn at Lathones
The Inn at Lathones
#1 of 1 in Lathones
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
3,411 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Inn at Kingsbarns
The Inn at Kingsbarns
#1 of 3 in Kingsbarns
205 reviews
5.7 mi away
Vicarsford Lodge
Vicarsford Lodge
#3 of 3 in Leuchars
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Park House

Address: 5 St. Marys Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 73 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Park House offers its guests a luxurious experience in the heart of St Andrews. As the only guest house located on the main street of St Andrews historic town centre, the house is within easy access to all of the town's shops and boutiques and wonderful selection of restaurants and cafes.The University, the Old Course, the Cathedral, St Andrews' beautiful, beaches and its many other attractions are all within a short walking distance. The town`s bus station is only 2 minutes away from the house. The house has an attractive guest lounge with 46 inch sky TV, and free wi-fi throughout. Rooms come with flat screen TV and facilities for making tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Park House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing