We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”
Review of West Park House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Park House
Ranked #68 of 72 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Place is very small with only 6 rooms but they are very nice and uniquelly decorated. We had four rooms which were all very different but very nice. Rooms are recently renovated and everything works well.

There is no restaurant or reception. Atmosphere is warm and welcoming. Hosting couple arevery nice and down-to-earth people.

Location is very good in the end of market street. It is merely three minutes walk to The Old Course and shops start from next block.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tapi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    17
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I stayed here for one night in May to attend a friend's weddings.  I've never stayed in a guest house before, so wasn't really sure what to expect.  The owner was very friendly and helpful.  Overall the guest house was well decorated, there was a couple of small things that could do with updating, but in general was happy that we stayed here.  We stayed in room 6 (on the top floor) and I've got to say that the bed was very comfortable.    

From reading the other reviews, we knew there would be no breakfast served.  For us that wasn't a problem as there are lots of little cafés to have something to eat.  There is a kettle in each room and a couple of packs of little biscuits.  

It was quite expensive, but from looking at other places in S Andrews, I think that's the norm.  I would recommend it and would stay here when we visit again.              

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotland1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

On arrival at this easy to find guest house with parking outside, if you are lucky, which we were, we were greeted by the owner who was very nice indeed, she showed us to our twinned bedded front room which was very nicely furnished, it overlooked the students union which she informed us could be noisy as it had been the night before apparently. (ear plugs) It was very quite for us and we had a great sleep on the very comfortably beds. Sitting looking out the window (plenty to observe) you can see the accommodation that William & Kate resided in. ...Photo shoot..especially as my sister just loves the Royals. we knew that there was no breakfast included in the £85 price tag (cheap for St. Andrews) tea and coffee is provided in the room, there are plenty of eating places round about as West Park House is very central, The large guest lounge has a big TV in it with a comfortable sofas in it but we opted for the bedroom, the TV in the bedroom has to be at a certain place to get a good signal but that would not deter us from staying here again. St. Andrews is a lovely place and we were sad that we did not see Hamish (the famous cat). ...maybe next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed for a single night in West Park House and would certainly stay there again.
West Park house is a guest house, not a bed and breakfast. They don't offer breakfast. Maybe that fact could be made clearer on the various websites. Having said that, the location is right in the centre of town and there are lots of coffee shops and restaurants nearby There was also an excellent selection of tea and coffee in my room. West Park is an old house but has been re-furbished to a very high standard, better than many hotels. Debbie and Joseph are very welcoming and have retained something you don't often see nowadays...a guest lounge.There is free wi-fi. I was there on my own but I guess it would also be a great option for couples, families or groups. Accommodation is St Andrews is not cheap, but in that context West Park House offers good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerdunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I cannot comment on the rooms as our room was cancelled because of flooding. But the lady who phoned was incredibly polite and apologetic and had upgraded us to another hotel with no extra charge. If the service is anything to go by then the rooms are prob very nice to.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank chazibabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Beautifully appointed rooms, clean and comfortable. Definitely a cut above the usual guest house experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Downthepub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

The guest house was lovely. Stayed as part of a group of 10 and the owners were really hospitable. The rooms are beautifully decorated in their own individual theme and cosy. Although parking outside was minimal there was plenty free parking on a street a couple of minutes walk away. Would definitely stay there again when visiting St Andrews.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.1 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#11 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#10 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
St Andrews Tourist Hostel
St Andrews Tourist Hostel
#17 of 17 in St. Andrews
3.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Park House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Park House

Property: West Park House
Address: 5 St. Marys Place, St. Andrews KY16 9UY, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Park House offers its guests a luxurious experience in the heart of St Andrews. As the only guest house located on the main street of St Andrews historic town centre, the house is within easy access to all of the town's shops and boutiques and wonderful selection of restaurants and cafes.The University, the Old Course, the Cathedral, St Andrews' beautiful, beaches and its many other attractions are all within a short walking distance. The town`s bus station is only 2 minutes away from the house. The house has an attractive guest lounge with 46 inch sky TV, and free wi-fi throughout. Rooms come with flat screen TV and facilities for making tea and coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Park House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing