We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Traditional Pub”

Criterion Public House
Ranked #25 of 146 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Outdoor Seating
Description: We are a family run traditional scottish pub in the centre of St Andrews, offering a range of traditional pub favourites from the kitchen and have over 130 Malt Whiskies and 6 Cask Ales. Open from 10am every day and licensed, we have FREE WIFI, Barista Coffee, Live Sports shown, outside seating and are Dog Friendly. Pop in for a true taste of St Andrews.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Traditional Pub”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

A nice change to see a pub with a bit of history that's over a hundred and fifty years old. Good beer and service. Will come here again.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank slind1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    45
    9
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing pie”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Popped in for lunch other half decided on the steak and ale pie and myself had club sandwich both arrived without much wait other half loved his pie which was full of meat and veg with a lovely pastry topping he said it was amazing and the meat was very tender My club sandwich was full of filling and very enjoyable Can really recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyscotDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Cairngorms, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very good fast snack”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We dropped in for a quick snack late lunch as the first pub we came across and enjoyed the quick service, our favourite draught cider and the toastie (a classic cheese and onion) and a goats cheese panini, which both came with fresh salad and corn chips too. All very good and we appreciated the decor too.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian_Denton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Eat it if you're brave enough!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Before we went to St. Andrews my husband did his homework on the local pubs. The Criterion was top his list and not just for the real ale. The Cri Pie is an absolute must have! Make sure you don't have too much for breakfast though. I had the Chicken and Ham pie and my husband had the Steak and Ale - no surprises there then! When it's put in front of you, you won't be able to prevent your jaw from dropping! It's a WOW on a plate. Thank goodness the pastry is flaky and not shortcrust. Once you've battled your way in you will find the most delicious filling. It doesn't come with potatoes or veg. Why not? Because it's all inside the pie! Take your time and have a pint to help wash it down. Then go for a walk along the beach - you'll need it. A very welcoming pub. Great atmosphere and fabulous booths to sit in and enjoy your dinner. Great choice of other pub classics if you fancy something else and watch other punters struggle with their pies. Take a camera!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CoopsBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, great pies”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I had the Cri Lamb Pie which was magnificent, everything baked together under the pastry crust. Very moist, very tasty and good value. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Criterion Public House also viewed

St. Andrews, Fife
St. Andrews, Fife
 

Been to Criterion Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing