We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Gorgeous landscape and Butterflies

Well worth the visit. The gardens are rich and varied, from greenhouses to country, shade, pond... read more

Reviewed yesterday
Kathryn F
,
Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Oasis of calm

Despite having visited St Andrews on many occasions this is the first time we have visited the... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
ianmI3527JN
,
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Read all 322 reviews
  
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
312 results
Traveler rating
184
99
20
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
184
99
20
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews butterfly house rock garden herb garden beautiful butterflies butterfly exhibition gardens are lovely couple of hours town centre pleasant afternoon entry fee full bloom few hours lovely place to visit cakes worth a visit lovely walk wander around
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 312 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Well worth the visit. The gardens are rich and varied, from greenhouses to country, shade, pond, rock and wildflower. My favourites were the ponds, water lilies and the wild flower garden. Then, as if plants, trees and flowers aren't enough there is a greenhouse full of butterflies.

Thank Kathryn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Despite having visited St Andrews on many occasions this is the first time we have visited the botanic gardens. What a wonderful place of calm, wonderful examples of so many plants and trees. Particularly liked the herb gardens where you can recognize names of plants used in both cooking and for medicinal purposes. The glass houses were as good as the ones in The botanic Gardens in Edinburgh. Lovely spots for picnics and clean toilets. There was also a small cafe which although we didn't use was an added bonus if you were there for a longer period. Apart from one gardener we only saw one other member of staff who was manning the gatehouse. Extremely pleasant young lady who gave us a leaflet and explained one or two things to us. We didn't have a lot of time but now we have found this gem of a place we will definitely be back and bring our grandchildren.

Thank ianmI3527JN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Botanic Garden in St.Andrews has a lot to offer as it has an amazing rock garden and wonderful butterfly house

Thank DavidMay1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieH621, Public Relations Manager at St Andrews Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're glad you think so, we do too! Thanks for coming and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018

Worth a visit to meander around the gardens, perhaps not as pristine as some botanical gardens but has its own charm and tranquillity. A particular highlight was the butterfly house where you can see butterflies of all colours and shapes from around the world flying around your head and landing on your clothes (particularly if you were white or bright colours). This was evidently enjoyable to young and old alike.

Thank Jetter500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieH621, Public Relations Manager at St Andrews Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Garden. We're delighted you had a lovely time and we hope you can return again - perhaps for another visit to the Butterfly House, re-opening Easter 2019.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

Came upon by accident when walking around St Andrews, we booked the Butterfly House and it was beautiful, sun was shining and it made for a lovely afternoon out

Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieH621, Public Relations Manager at St Andrews Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're so glad you had a great time at the Garden and Butterfly House! You just caught the Butterfly House in time - it's closed now for the winter but look out for it around Easter 2019!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

This lovely garden was under threat of closure four years ago, which would have been a great loss. I'm happy to say that it's been taken over by a dedicated group of volunteers with help from some professional botanists to retain the status of botanic garden.
A tropical butterfly house has been added, which we didn't have time to visit because we were too busy exploring other parts. It's a good mix of outdoor garden and large greenhouses with various climates.
The café has snacks and drinks, and there are some tables available outside in addition to those in the café.
I always find it hard to believe that it's so near to a quite busy town, because it's so peaceful.
An unexpected highlight was discovering a labyrinth cut into s small meadow near the orchard. If you don't know the difference between a labyrinth and a maze, a labyrinth will always leads you to the centre as you follow it round, whereas a maze will try to confuse you. It's a very calming experience to quietly walk a labyrinth.

Thank helenez_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Our visit to the Butterfly House was a good opportunity for us to capture images of a great variety of butterflies. All shapes, sizes and colours. They tend to land on your head and clothes and you have to be very careful where you are putting your feet to avoid standing on them, so keep this in mind if you are visiting. The lighting is good as no flash photography is allowed. A warm welcome was given by the staff member on duty who also shared lots of interesting information with us. A great place to visit but remember it closes at the end of September for the season. Obviously it is very warm and humid inside and recommended visits last about 20 mins although you can take longer when the house is quiet. When they are very busy a one-way system is used as the house is quite small. Not sure it would be suitable for wheelchairs.

Thank BuzzRV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieH621, Public Relations Manager at St Andrews Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review and you sound like you had a great time! We love it when we receive guest's photographs, so do feel free to send any to info@standrewsbotanic.org!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2018

During a stay in St Andrews we visited these lovely gardens and had a lovely day out. So lovely to see

Thank millier1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieH621, Public Relations Manager at St Andrews Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

That's great to hear that you had a lovely day in the Garden and we hope you'll be able to come back sometime if you stay in St Andrews again. Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

A really lovely botanic garden.
Full of wonderful plants.
The temporary butterfly exhibition is fantastic.
Very friendly staff.
The cafe is very good.

Thank tom7p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieH621, Public Relations Manager at St Andrews Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review and we're delighted you had such a great time! We have lots of activities throughout the year, so we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2018

We took grandson to try and entertain him on last day of school holidays. The weather was overcast and showers imminent so we didn't take a picnic, but this would be an excellent place for a picnic on a good day. The cafe has very little in sustenance to offer, only tea, juice, cakes and crisps. The entrance fee was quite high for us oldies, although children go free into gardens, we all had to pay extra for Butterfly House. The gardens were very well kept thankfully and really nice. Grandson mumped about being bored of course but The Butterfly House saved the day as he loved it. Over 80 species of butterfly and grandson loved that they landed on him and he could see them at close quarters. The greenhouses were filled with interesting plants and even grandson seemed to like them, asking what they were in some cases. He was most impressed by the carnivores but stood well back. The really disappointing part for us was the No Dogs policy. I fail to see why we can't take a dog into a park on a lead.

Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SusieH621, Public Relations Manager at St Andrews Botanic Garden, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback on your visit. We're delighted to hear that the Butterfly House was a success and we'll be sure to pass on your feedback to the horticultural team who work so hard to maintain the Garden. We don't allow dogs into the Botanic Garden as we have many plant species which could be very harmful to pets if consumed, so we have to enforce this rule to protect them. We hope you'll come for a return visit sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews