We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kept 3 teenagers amused- can't be all bad!”

St Andrews Aquarium
Ranked #15 of 54 things to do in St. Andrews
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Step through our doors and be transported into an underwater world of adventure and discovery. Come face to face with some of the most beautiful, fascinating and dangerous creatures of the watery worlds. From British sharks to spiders, lobsters to lionfish, poison dart frogs to piranhas, loveable seals...... and not to forget our fabulous meerkats. Get up close and personal with our daily interactive demonstrations which include Seal feeding at 12 noon and 3pm, Penguin feeding at 2pm, reptile and snake handling sessions at 11.20am and 2.20pm and an informative talk and feeding sessions with our family of Meerkats at 12.20pm and 3.20pm.
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kept 3 teenagers amused- can't be all bad!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Not a cheap place to visit as it won't fill more than a couple of hours but the kids loved it. we saw the seal and meerkat feeding which was informative and entertaining. We went in towards the end of the day and had the whole place almost to ourselves, no problem seeing the exhibits and spending time watching all the different creatures.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ehj74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    102
    99
    50
    31
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liversedge, West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ignore the last comment!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had a great time here. Its not a full day out, but fun non the less.

In response to the last reviewer: If you have a wheelchair then the Aquarium say 50% is wheelchair accessible. Also, wheelchair users go FREE! so, to only give it 1* is a bit mean given the facts.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank S5MAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Aquarium access was terrible for wheelchair users.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

The Aquarium was built on the side of a cliff many years ago!

I was warned that it was poor but it was even worse than I'd imagined!

Even the Wheelchair Toilet was tiny and barely useable...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheila343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Really Lovely and the staff are great”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We paid £27 for the three of us and we thought it was good value. The fish and animals are all set out nicely, the place is clean and the staff talks are really informative. We loved the seals, the meerkats and sharks.
Overall, it was a lovely afternoon out and my 4 year old thought it was fab.
Worth a visit if you're in the area.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigposhlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rather expensive”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We paid £27 for 2 adults and our 3 year old. Our 1 year old was free!! But a family ticket for 2 adults and 2 children was £29. There was no one manning the desk when we arrived as the girl seemed to be serving in the gift shop downstairs too and was on her own. A map of the aquarium would have been helpful but didn't get one. Also was not informed when arrived of the times the animals were being fed. Would have thought this should Be an essential piece of info to tell you or could be included with a map!! Managed to see the penguins being fed by chance which was good and then see the rock pool talk. These were the highlights of the visit and was sad to have missed the meerkats being fed but our 1 year old had lost interest by this stage. Enjoyed our visit but just felt it was too expensive.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Niknakinoo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Andrews Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to St Andrews Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing