We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meerkats”

St Andrews Aquarium
Ranked #15 of 54 things to do in St. Andrews
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Step through our doors and be transported into an underwater world of adventure and discovery. Come face to face with some of the most beautiful, fascinating and dangerous creatures of the watery worlds. From British sharks to spiders, lobsters to lionfish, poison dart frogs to piranhas, loveable seals...... and not to forget our fabulous meerkats. Get up close and personal with our daily interactive demonstrations which include Seal feeding at 12 noon and 3pm, Penguin feeding at 2pm, reptile and snake handling sessions at 11.20am and 2.20pm and an informative talk and feeding sessions with our family of Meerkats at 12.20pm and 3.20pm.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meerkats”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Good fun and educational, though maybe a little tired. Meerkats were an extra bonus and staff very friendly.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DanielleMc_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    101
    98
    49
    29
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not a high "seal"of approval”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The venue is easily found in a poplar area of St. Andrews. Parking is easily accessible close to the location. We bought the groupon winter offer, which meant we could visit as often as we liked within a 3 month period. The offer proved cheaper than would be for 1 visit without applicable discounts for a family of 6. Our kids enjoyed the visit and were excited throughout. the layout of venue across 3 underground floors would not be considered accessible for those with with mobility issues. We found ourselves through the attraction within 1 hour, and that included watching a tutor led session at the meerkat stall and gift shop. Not worth the full price but would recommend a visit if vouchers are secured for discounted admission.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daddymo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely Disappointing”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My granddaughter requested we take her to this aquarium when asked where would she like to go for the day. Bad choice as far as I'm concerned & she left disappointed as well. The seals were not on show due to some damage to their enclosure. The ticket girl did tell us about this and the entrance fee was reduced by £1 each. As noted by other reviewers, the stench hit us when reached the bottom of the stairs. Some of the displays could do with a good clean as the glass was dirty and the view of the exhibits was clouded. The meercats - also could not see the connection to aquatic life. They are lovable creatures but hate to see them in that environment - best to see them on the TV in their natural habitat. Took 45 minutes from entering and leaving. Overall, I would not waste my time going back again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fife1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good value family attraction.”
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We spent an afternoon in this aquarium and really enjoyed it.
In fact we've been here three times in six months.
The staff are pretty much low key but that's fine and the animals are all clean and seem to be well looked after.
Your ticket is a day ticket so if you don't arrive to catch any of the animals being fed you cam leave and come back later.
Unlike deep sea world in north queensferry you don't have to drag the visit out to feel you are getting value for money.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mollydrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east kilbride
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very, very poor”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

As aquariums go, this is bad. We entered and were met by a girl that took our money (£8 instead of the usual £13, off season) and we headed down stair, the first thing that hits you is the smell, gag inducing, it just stinks of a dirty fish tank. the information boards are old and faded and incoherent, info about things that aren't even in the place.
The whole place looks run down, railings held together by rope, exposed pipes, the stench.
And if someone can tell me the link between Meerkats and an aquarium I would be delighted to hear it.
I honestly felt sorry for the seals and other animals, this place needs investment and some TLC.
We left through the gift shop, the same girl that took our money at reception, not another worker in sight to give info or chat.
Don't waste your money

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank lordchaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St Andrews Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to St Andrews Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing