We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“craigtoun disappointment”

Craigtoun Country Park
Ranked #5 of 54 things to do in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Craigtoun Park is a 47 acre park only 2 miles from St Andrews. The park itself is open 24/7 and it's a great day out for the whole family. During the season try the Rio Grande railway, Crazy Golf, Putting and Puffin,Billy - the road train that takes you round the whole Park. There are boats and pedaloes, a Bouncy castle and pedal cars for the little uns all open 10 - 5 weather permitting. The cafe is open every Saturday throughout the year and every day from April 1st to the end of October. It serves hot and cold food, teas and coffees and has a huge selection of ice creams. The paid for attractions open on 1st April this year and are then open every weekend and all Fife School holidays until the end of October 2017. More detail on our own website.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“craigtoun disappointment”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

disappointed with this park now, used to b egreat to take the kids for a full day, you'll be ;ucky to stay an hour now, pity that the council don't run this the way they used to. Pond is terrible, no boats, no bowling, help yourself putting

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rhona h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    100
    27
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
x
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“new hope for Craigtoun Country Park”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I took my son with me on our first visit to Craigtoun Country Park today. I didn't know what to expect on a freezing November day - I knew that attractions, cafe and toilets would be closed for the season and planting displays never look good in the winter. However, I was very impressed with the intact nature of this recognised designed landscape: it dates back to the 18th century and is in the Picturesque style. Although, it has seen better days, the main elements are still recognisable and includes follies, Italian garden, water courses, ponds with islands, avenue and specimen trees. Even without the attractions its a great diverse landscape to explore. I'm looking forward to taking my wee boy back when he's a little older so that he can run around the open spaces, play hide and seek behind the formal hedges, be king of the castle for the day and take to the path network on his trike.

Although it was a bit cold for playing and the sand was like concrete the adventure play area looks good, big tower with slides, sand pits with diggers, climbing nets, and trampolines. Never mind my son; I'm looking forward to playing on it!

I admit that the park has seen better days and that Fife Council can no longer afford to look after it, but help is hopefully on its way in the form of a voluntary group called the Friends of Craigtoun Country Park. I was talking to one of the members today and they are planning to have a Santa Grotto and have the Santa express runing on the 15th Dec this year with the intention to start raising funds for the survival of the park. The group also plans to run the bouncy castle, boating pond and train this coming summer with all proceeds going to the upkeep of the park. If you want to help the friends group save the park Google 'Friends of Craigtoun' and sign up.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank d c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sad to see this Once great park go to waste”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I remember going to craigtoun park when I was younger I remember riding on the train and boating in the lake, and how busy it was. It's such a shame that this park has become run down and has no funding or staff to keep it open, we got speaking to a lovely lady in the cafeteria and she said that it was really struggling as they have had to shut down most of the park due to no staff or funding, we still had a lovely stroll around the park watching the ducks and birds in the pond but it was so sad to see the boating lake and the lovely fort going to ruin and the little steamtrain was under repair and a few of the carriages where for sale. Someone invest and get this back to a great park and venue build a big summerhouse or construct marquees for weddings work with local theatres and do performances in the park music gigs or even a camping site don't let it go. X

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Truleescrumptious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a shame”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I know it was October and didn't expect the train, boats or cafe to be open but where has the Fort gone? On the plus side had a great walk round with our previously banned dog. Car park was extremely busy on a beautiful crisp Autumnal Day-BTW Muddy Boots was packed with families!!Missed opportunity-

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ajmoScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarleton
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fife council are running this park into the grave!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This park has a tremendous sense of space and used to have lots of activities however it seems to be run down ;no train or cafe or boats the last time we went and the grounds were scruffier than usual .Needs investment and fast.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris4julia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Craigtoun Country Park also viewed

 

Been to Craigtoun Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing