We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Provisions”
Review of Balgove Larder

Balgove Larder
Ranked #11 of 146 Restaurants in St. Andrews
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $39
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Christmas Provisions”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We've visited this well provisioned farm shop several times over the past few months, starting with a coffee and trying more as time allowed. We now make diversions to buy their meat (all from their farm) and put in our Christmas order which was just perfect. Opting for beef this year as a change to turkey - our rib was outstanding and pleased many a hungry mouth. Highly recommend it and their breakfasts are great too if you can get a table!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 263j_dav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    304
    88
    33
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Walk followed by great Soup”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

A great place with atmosphere, shop at one end and a "bistro"style restaurant at the other. Young front of house team, mainly students, friendly and fun loving. Wonderful hot soup with home made roll. Order taken with a smile and served with a smile.
A great "gap" filler. Downed with a glass of their own home made ginger beer, now that was something special.
You can buy their own soups and many other delightful foods in the shop.
Get thereearly for a seat at the weekends. Hope they can keep up the good standard when it is really busy. Outdoor seating in the summer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank VikingScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife , Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Raw sausage served to my toddler”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had family visiting so decided to take them to the Balgove as it has a great shop and have been happy with the food before . We decided to eat in the barn area and went for steaks and a sausage for our 1.5 year old . When the food came it was lucky that I cut into the sausage as it was raw and cold inside . When I took this back to the chef he simply took the plate from me , no apology and prepared another. I was so angry at his reaction I decided to explain to him the dangers in serving raw food to anyone let alone an child. He was really not bothered and brushed my comments off . By this time my steak was cold, the wee man was full of chips and we left without even a thought of compensation from the management . Beware of this place, what's looks good on the outside may not be so good on the inside, literally .

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank electricians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A good venue spoilt by bad mannered staff”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have been to this place outside St. Andrews on three or four occasions; on at least two the experience was entirely spoilt by a bad mannered waitress who seemed to think that customers were an interference with something far more important. Some of the staff,especially the younger ones, were polite, friendly and eager to please but that was not enough to counter the impression made by those that were not.
The food is good and plentiful. The dining area next to a shop is cramped and can be uncomfortable. Much of the produce seems fresh and local. All commendable but once one has been treated like a second class citizen by a bad tempered waitress and discovers that she is a fixture of the place that is the end.
Being concerned not to be harsh I asked others of their experience and found several who will not go to the place for the same reason including very senior local academics and a very elderly but spry lady who does not take nonsense from anyone.
So a shame really that this is off the list for meals at any rate. The shop is OK. The butchery department has a charming and informative senior butcher who has seriously good recipes up his sleeve as well as knowing his trade inside out. That is the highpoint of the place; if they want to keep their customers they ought to ensure more of their staff show the same commitment to service as he does.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank cl101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Breakfast”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Had Sunday breakfast here, very busy even though only just opened!
Very large portion of scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, excellent quality, atmosphere great too with polite helpful staff.
Definately worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Balgove Larder also viewed

 

Been to Balgove Larder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing