We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY Mediocre only if everything else fails” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arran House

Arran House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. Andrews
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arran House
Ranked #76 of 77 St. Andrews B&B and Inns
AMSTERDAM
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“VERY Mediocre only if everything else fails”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

If you are not overpricing your accomodation, you might get better reviews. We stay in Craigmore house next door, really good, paid 100 Gbp, we paid 85 GBP here but what a difference. Lousy bed, toilet very average, Tv with one channel from the seventies Now for 65-70 this might be bearable, but not for 85 GBP. And if the internet doesn`t work in the rooms (which is vital for me) you don`t say That is courtsey of us , so don`t complain, be glad you have it, because that is really very DUMB.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KingofswingAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    11
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
9
15
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glenwood Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

We arrived late with no reservations. Friendly hostess, substandard accommodation. You could hear everything through the walls. The bed was lousy but bathroom good, they built ridiculous tacky pre-fab closets in the bedroom, the room better without. The breakfast in the morning was handled by only one person, but satisfactory. Certainly overpriced for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krischad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these St. Andrews hotels

Sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

We had a hard time finding accommodation in St Andrews. Spent the whole day on the phone ringing places. So many were full (& it was a Mon night). They are clearly used to golfers who are prepared to pay a bit. We found a room at Arran House. The host asked for 85 pounds & put us in a room through the staff area out the back which was clearly a store-room or something earlier. It was like being in a cupboard, very claustrophobic atlhough the bathroom was large. Definitely NOT worth the 85 quid she was charging for it. We asked if she had another room. She hesitated & 1st said no, then said ok & we had a room upstairs which was much nicer (#7). Had a lovely little window looking out over the historic rooftops. Bathroom was a squeeze but manageable for 1 night. But they only provided 1 towel. Bed was comfy. Had a nice little table with chairs to have a cup of tea. TV small but not a problem for us. Wireless only worked in the dining room downstairs. Breakfast ok but didn't get a lot as in some places in Scotland & England. Although everything was clean, we felt it was quite expensive for what you get, particularly if we had stayed in that first room downstairs. If it were cheaper, yes, might stay here again but not for the price we ended up paying. There are plenty of other better places in St Andrews but you just need to book a little ahead.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room & check before you settle for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaLosang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Good location in the center of St Andrews, close to the golf course restaurants and bars plays to go with the boys on a golf trip not much more

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Spent a night here and really appreciated the location and even managed to park car on the street outside at no cost which was a bonus.Very friendly staff and good sized room.Quiet even being on a street.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEORGE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

A three star B&B awarded by the Scottish tourism board, convienently located in the city centre. It is walking distant to the restaurants, shops & cathedral.

We stayed on night in a double room with attached bathroom. The room had a double bed (firm) with two bedside tables, two cane chairs & a small round table, tv & wardrobe, dressing table. Bathroom was small but adequate. Ironing board & iron were also provided in the cupboard.

The options for breakfast are continental or cooked breakfast.

Overall, a clean & centrally located B&B.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highgater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
440 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I was attracted by the price of the Arran House and by its central location (although nowhere in St Andrew's is far from anywhere else). I was arriving late in the evening and was promised an entrance code by email before I arrived. It never came but there was a mobile number on the door and an invitation (by name) for me to ring. I did so and a pleasant lady told me the code to the key box. She had to repeat it a couple of times as reception was poor. I don't know if it was her phone or mine.

Arran is a classic British B&B - a converted house, a bit rough round the edges but usually that's ok. Arran is just a shade too rough. The bed was comfortable and the shared bathroom easily accessible. There were tea and coffee facilities but the kettle had not been used or cleaned for quite a while. I'm not a stickler for cleanliness but a good once-over with a duster would really have helped the window sills (I must be getting old, in my younger days I wouldn't have noticed a thing like that!)

Breakfast was fine - decent porridge and a grill that was very hot but only barely on the right side of greasy. The lady serving breakfast was surly and it took quite a few of my best winning smiles and compliments to get a smile in return but, she did her job efficiently.

Would I stay here again? I would look for somewhere else at the same price and, If I couldn't find anywhere, I'd certainly stay here rather than pay an extra £20.

Room Tip: All seem much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UlsterFryNo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Andrews hotels
0.0 mi away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#10 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#6 of 18 in St. Andrews
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Montague Guest House
Montague Guest House
#22 of 77 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kinburn Guest House
Kinburn Guest House
#29 of 77 in St. Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Five Pilmour Place
Five Pilmour Place
#14 of 77 in St. Andrews
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arran House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arran House

Property: Arran House
Address: 5 Murray Park, St. Andrews, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St. Andrews
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in St. Andrews
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Arran House St. Andrews, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing